Blades Hotel - London
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

Customer Reviews For The Blades Hotel


Address: 122 Belgrave Road, London, England, UK, SW1V 2BL
This hotel has averaged a score of 4 out of 5 by 824 past guests
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 210 of 1134 for Hotels in London and rated 4 out of 5 from 825 reviews)

11/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I stayed two nights at Blades and had the small single. I had been advised in advanced that this room was small, and it was, but it had everything I needed; comfortable bed, bathroom, tea making facilities and a window that opened providing a nice breeze over the hot couple of nights.\n\nI only met one member of staff, Antonella (sp?) as I was mostly 'out and about' and she was so helpful, giving me directions to where I wanted to go and showing just what customer service really is. As well as the check in process she looked after the breakfast requirements, stopping to have a word with all guests. The breakfast was typical continental and enough to start the day off. \n\nI would stay here again - probably in a bigger room if it was available - in the small single again if not. There is a 24 hour bus no. 24 that stops a few metres from the property and passes right through central London and on to Hampstead. Pimlico station is just around the corner and stops at Victoria (as does the bus), although VIctoria itself is only a 10 minutes or so walk.\n\nFinally, I left a Kindle behind and the hotel sent it on to me when I realised. I can't praise them enough.
06/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
The hotel is in the perfect location and very close to the \
01/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
UNBElIEVABlE!!!!AMAZING!!!! The space and staff at the Blades was excellent. Thank you Magdalena and Juliet for making our stay in London fun and enjoyable. The location was close to everything. I am definitely staying at Blades again for my next London Adventure. :)
25/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
My stay at Blades was a bit nicer than other similarly priced hotels in the area. \n\nCommunication with reception was excellent. They gave me a free upgrade upon arrival. Of course, you can never expect this but it was very thoughtful and much appreciated.\n\nThe room was pleasant and very clean. I wish it was a little closer to Victoria station, but the location is very central. I would recommend staying here!
21/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights. It\u2019s in a perfect location. many of the attractions you can walk to but there is also an underground a few minutes walk away. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. We chose not to have breakfast both mornings because service stopped at 9.15am and we chose a bit more sleep instead! There are a few nice restaurants and bars near by and the second night we went to the more lively Leicester Square and got a taxi back which cost \u00A312. The hotel is also very clean and pleasant. In fact the only down side I can think of is the water from the shower was as hot as lava!
21/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We were really struggling to find somewhere affordable, comfortable and located in a good area of London. Luckily we stumbled across Blades Hotel and it was perfect! Located in Pimlico, we walked to all the main sights we needed to see and also had easy access to the tube at night! The hotel is located in a beautiful, traditional London street that felt right out of Mary Poppins! The people who worked at the hotel were extremely hospitable and provided excellent service. We had a gorgeous room with a comfortable, very pretty bed. We were completely surprised to find such a great place for a fair price! If we come back to London we will stay again!
10/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We stayed one night at Blades. It was perfect for what we needed. The girls that work there were so nice, friendly and accommodating! When we arrived before check in Martina let us leave our luggage and then took it to our room. They also serve a breakfast which was nice. We will definitely stay here on our next visit!
09/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Five minutes walk from Pimlico Station. Staff were very helpful. We arrived in the morning and we were invited to have the continental breakfast including a variety of cheese, yoghurt and cereals, with served tea and coffee. After a slightly further wait we were fortunate to be able to check in early as previous guests have left early. The family room for five on the ground floor was well cleaned. It was a comfortable budget for us in a prime location, as otherwise we would have required 2 rooms. Perhaps one negative is the absence of air conditioner in the summer.
07/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights and they staff was so welcoming, friendly, and eager to assist with anything. We were upgraded upon arrival and the room and bathroom were clean, updated, and cosy. Would recommend to couples and friends looking for a great located b&b 20-30 minutes walk from all the highlights of London.
28/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I stayed in the small single room for two nights. I had been warned that it was indeed very small (and so was the bathroom), but that was fine with me. I am used to the small rooms in central London hotels by now. Nobody warned me, however, that the room would be so stuffy. Despite an open window and a fan, the room was extremely warm. But this was indeed the only downside. The room was spotlessly clean, the staff extremely pleasant and helpful, continental breakfast was fresh and good, and the location is excellent. I am sure I will be staying there again - but maybe in spring or autumn when the room will possibly be less stuffy!
28/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We are extremely disappointed to read this review as we never \u201Cwaive away\u201D any guest, and we take every complaint very seriously, infact the member of staff on duty managed to give this lady an upgrade straight away and she was allocated in a nice triple room, of which she had the keys immediately and the staff on duty moved the guests suitcase into the new room. This guest booked a double room and she thought it was too small, as perhaps she is not familiar with London prices and sizes, and we did our very best to accommodate her.
23/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Super friendly staff. Great European style breakfast. Clean, simple room. Warm welcome. I will return happily. Could walk to many attractions and to the Tube. Comfortable bed with breezy open window and fresh air.
21/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
The place has the best location, lovely staff and good price. Breakfast could be better, acoustics isolation is not good and many stairs could be challenging for some people. Pimlico is a great district to stay.
18/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We stayed 2 nights at the Blades hotel and were very pleased with our stay. The lady who checked us in could not have been nicer. She was so friendly and helpful.She saw we had heavy luggage ( I need to work on packing lighter !!) and said she could offer us a room on the bottom floor instead of the one they reserved for us on the top floor. After going to check out the room on the top floor without bringing our luggage, we gladly accepted the main floor room. It would have required a lot of effort to get the luggage up all the stairs !!The room on the main floor did not have a bathroom in it which was slightly inconvenient but it does have its own bathroom just down the hallway which was fine. The room was a good size and would be nice for a family. It was nice having the complimentary breakfast and the staff working there were pleasant as well.Its quite a small hotel, in a good location, near transit. They sent us a map on how to get there from the airport which was helpful. The staff checking us out was also very kind. I really can\u2019t say enough about the great staff working there. We very much enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we ever visit London again.
18/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I stayed for one night in May (room 17) with a lovely view of battersea power station, I was late for my check but was given instructions on what to do when I arrived. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The staff were amazing and very helpful, especially Magda and Antonella.\n\nI will definitely book here again, when I am next in town.
18/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I\u2019ve slept in Blades Hotel for a few days last week: it is a very nice hotel, in a very quite, yet central area, very close to subway Pimlico. All you need is very close (little shops, supermarkets, etc)\n\nNote: I would also like to remark the kindness of all the staff: I had some problems with the check-in the first night I got in, it was very late at night and... well, I couldn\u2019t get into my room. The morning after the whole staff was so sorry about it, that at the end they refunded me everything I had paid.\n\nIf I come back to London I will certainly check availbilities in this hotel and book there: kindness is the most important thing in hospitality, despite the mistake they made for my check-in.\n\nEverybody makes mistake: it\u2019s up to you to demonstrate you\u2019re wrong and sorry, and these people certainly fully demonstrated it to me.\nMichele.
08/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I have stayed at many hotels in the past but have to say this place was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. After booking the hotel through a 3rd party site, the hotel contacted us by e-mail and detailed us about the room, asking if any needs need to be met prior to our visit. Check-in was smooth and Antonella went above and beyond, explaining transportation, dining, and events in the area. She spent a significant amount of time helping us with an airline issue for the next leg of our trip. The breakfast was tasty and the rooms were tidy. The location was excellent and only a 4 minute walk to the Pimlico Tube station and a 12 minute walk to Buckingham Palace. The walk to the London Eye was only about 22 minutes and through very pretty neighborhoods.
06/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
What a lovely hotel in a perfect location! The nicest staff I could\u2019ve imagined! so accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was a highlight for the kids and the rooms were clean and able to sleep\nOur very large party! Looking forward to the next time we can get to The Blades Hotel!
02/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Absolutely friendly and warm staff, perfect service, clean rooms, nice cont. breakfast, perfect address for a few-night-stay, only a few minutes from Victoria Station and from Westminster. Nice pubs and restaurants in the neighbourhood, Bus-Line 24 from Pimlico is a great tour along the most popular tourist-hotspots.
28/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We were really happy with the hospitality provided by everyone ay Blades Hotel. Everyone was incredibly nice and attentive to the guests and their needs. They offered preparing breakfat the night before if you couldn\u2019t stay until breakfast. Super informative with where to go for what, and more than happy to show you. All in all, incredible hospitality with wonderful information.
28/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I had a great experience even before arriving at Blades. It started by me having to adjust my time of arrival several times, but they were incredibly accommodating. Then when I arrived, I was promptly shown to my room. While the decor is a bit outdated, the hospitality of the hotel more than makes up for that. The hotel team was extremely helpful every time we had a question or special request. After coming back home, we realized that we had left our cell phone behind. They helped us find it in the room and are working with us to get it back to NY. For the location, it has a lot of little restaurants and coffee spots nearby. There is also a tube station and bus station within a really short walking distance. I didn't take advantage of this, but it's great for anyone who wants to take public transport. Overall, it was a great experience.
26/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
We stayed 3 nights in this 3 star hotel in this lovely old London Street. The staff are the hotels main asset, all are very helpful and friendly and Antonella provided so much information on how to get around. We arrived early but our room was ready for us. The rooms are compact due to the type of building but they are clean, have a kettle and hairdryer and the double bed was comfortable. The shower was big enough for us and pressure was good. We stayed in room 4 which had a balcony overlooking the street and as the weather was good we were able to sit out with a coffee. Breakfast was in the bright basement and we were welcomed every morning with tea and coffee quickly supplied. There was a choice of cereal, yoghurt, prunes, tinned grapefruit, bread and muffins for toasting, cheese, ham and cherry tomatoes. There was always one of the girls on duty day and night and guests are given a key to the front door and to their room. After checking out we were able to leave our cases until late afternoon. The hotel is close to Pimlico underground and the no. 24 bus stop which goes into the City on a regular basis. It is easy to walk to many sites including Chelsea Flower show, the Embankment etc. There is an excellent Italian restaurant close by named O'sole Mio which we went to twice.
23/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
My opinion about this hotel is excellent. It is a comfortable place to move to any point in the city, few steps from Victoria Train Station and Victoria Coach Station.\nThe highlight of this Victorian hotel is the friendly attention and always available staff, its abundant breakfast in the mornings with a lovely classic music to listen and the tranquility that can be enjoyed just a few streets from the very heart of the city in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods of London.\nYou have everything in this Hotel, several restaurants nearby, buses to get to any point and the incredible sympathy of Antonella, Martina and Magdalena to whom I thank for their constant support in everything I needed. Also, if you make your reservation in advance you can have an interesting discount for your stay. \nIn short, it is a beautiful place for your accommodation, comfortable and with the warmth of a home environment, a few steps from the most important museums, parks and other important landmarks all along this great city. \nSpecial greetings to the kind staff who received me for the second time in less than 2 years. Thank you very much for your attitude! \nI will be back :) - Marta Pierre -
19/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
The room for 4 people is not very large but functional and the metro at a few tens of meters from the possibility to reach the centre of London in a few minutes. Excellent staff courtesy. Recommended.
07/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
The staff is very nice, the breakfast quite good, the bed comfortable and the hotel is very close to the subway and the train station. I probably would book a room again if I come back to London some other time.
29/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
The Blades Hotel took good care of our family of 6 during a recent trip to London. We were first put in a room with 4 beds near the front of the hotel. Though the room didn\u2019t have a bathroom attached to it, we had a private bathroom down the hall. \n\nThe decor of the hotel has a ton of character. Located in converted row houses in the Pimlico neighbourhood, the interior of the hotel reminds one of a well-kept 1950\u2019s hotel. The room was plain but well maintained and clean. The breakfast was intimate in a converted basement and the daily fare included the best English muffins I have ever had. \n\nThe staff was exceedingly friendly. Upon arrival after breakfast hours, Antonella ensured that a breakfast plate was sent up for my family. She also took the time to walk through the local attractions and how to get to each one and even when to visit for minimal crowds. Her local restaurant recommendations were spot on as well.\n\nIt\u2019s hard to find hotels in London that will accommodate a family of six. It\u2019s even harder to find one that can do it at a very reasonable price. Blades Hotel was that hotel and we will stay there in future visits!
27/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
I booked a room for three nights with my best friend and her two daugthers to see Harry Potter's exhibition and visit London. We have our own bathroom, the bedroom was clean and the beds were comfortable. The location of the hotel is really great : near the subway Pimlico and at 8 minutes by feet from Victoria Station. Breakfast was very good and I confirm the staff was very kind and helpful. The quality/price ratio is excellent and make us have a great moment.
24/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
A lovely friendly privately owned hotel in the heart of London.\nI liked the extra plump pillows, I wonder where they get them!\n Superb restaurants nearby, I went to the Goya Tapas bar which I recommend, nice taste of Spain.
20/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
This lady wanted a room with a balcony and was very upset that she couldn't have one. We were fully booked and she and her elderly mother checked-in late in the day. \nWe are a small private Budget Hotel \u201Cexactly\u201D as seen on our website \u2013 in an expensive area of London where we have the same post code as the Queen, Cardinal and the Prime Minister. \nWe get many, many returning guests who are delighted to holiday with us and know the area well. \nThere certainly was no mould and our rooms are spotless! This lady was exceedingly arrogant and difficult and should have booked a 4 or 5 star hotel.
17/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
I stayed at Blades for three nights in April 2019 to attend a conference. I booked a small room with private bathroom and I found it very clean and comfortable, despite the size. The location of Blades is really great, it is in a elegant area within walking distance from Westminster (10-15 minutes). The continental breakfast was tasty and with good selection and the staff was very kind and helpful. Overall I had a great experience and the quality/price ratio is excellent.
15/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
I stayed at Blades for three nights in February 2019 and absolutely loved my stay! Blades is located in Pimlico, a wonderfully central, interesting and relatively quiet residential neighbourhood. Walking distance to the tube (Victoria Station), coffee, museums, and some great restaurants!\n\nBlades is a very well-run, clean no-frills boutique hotel. As a smaller hotel property it had limited amenities but excels in charm, with incredibly warm, friendly, attentive and helpful staff. \n\nI was travelling solo and stayed in their smallest room, but it was well-equipped for its size, including. wall-mounted television, desk, coffee maker, and en-suite bathroom with standing shower. Very small but just fine for one person. Bed and linens were very comfortable! I asked for extra linens after my first night as I found the window next to the bed a little drafty and was pleased to find them waiting in my room when I returned that evening. Check-in and check-out was very easy and staff gave me some great neighbourhood recommendations for coffee and shopping. The complimentary breakfast options in the morning was also delightful. I would definitely stay here again and recommend - great value! \n\nThanks for everything Antonella and Magdalena! :)
05/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
A really pleasant short break in a lovely little hotel so close to all amenities.\nA very clean, spacious room with a continental breakfast which helps to set you up for the rest of the day.\nVery friendly, helpful staff.\nI would highly recommend this hotel.
01/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
My wife and I both really enjoyed staying at Blades Hotel in Pimlico. The room was clean, the breakfast was more than satisfying, and the staff were wonderfully accommodating and full of great advice. We felt lucky to have found this hotel, well worth the money. \n\nHighly recommended!
27/03/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
The room was always nice and clean. The location is excellent, near Victoria stations (train, underground and coach) and many other points of interest. But the best of all is the people: everyone working in the hotel is very kind and attentive. They put their hearts on what they do. Thank you very much!
27/03/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
This hotel, though not luxurious, did the trick for a family of 5 in one room. We got the big room that can accommodate 5. Note that this room has a dedicated bathroom/shower only to be used by this room, but it's 25 feet down the hall. We knew this going in so it was fine. There are many reviews of people mad abt this but they might not have read listing fully. A bit loud directly out the window, but it's London - expected. Convenient to a tube. Bfast was nice also. Staff friendly and helpful with recommendations.
24/03/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
My husband and son enjoyed their stay very much. Wonderful attentive staff. Great location for walking to many attractions. Hard to find similar in this area and price range. Would love to return. Thanks for a great stay!
19/03/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
The rooms are quite small but the staff has such big hearts. They go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. The stairs were a great work out! The place is in a perfect location too, great food and attractions are all walking distance. Next time I go back I\u2019ll make sure I stay here!
19/03/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Very friendly service, it was worth every penny.\nlocated in the middle of London and it was very easy to reach all the main spots of London by bus or tube. We would love to come back in future. Big thanks to the team.
18/03/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
We stayed for a Long weekend and had one of the best trips to London ever!\nThe nice and very helpful staff gave us lots of good advices about where to go and what to see. The hotel is situatet very close to Pimlico you-tube station and not more than a short walk from Victoria you-tube station. Close to pubs, caffees and local restaurants. Away from \
13/03/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Great central location but at the quiet end of the street. Not far from Pimlico underground. Very friendly staff. We would recommend this hotel highly. Delighted to have breakfast included in the price of the room.
09/03/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
I stayed here for a few nights on business. I usually use business type hotels but they were all full. This was a nice change. Well located in Westminster with helpful staff. One note of caution... I had a room at the top of the hotel... 89 stairs from the pavement to my room. It helped get me fit!! Those travelling with luggage or less mobile may want to request a low floor.
29/01/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We chose Blades Hotel for its nearness to Victoria Station.\n\nCommunication was excellent. As we were arriving late in the night from Gatwick, we had clear instructions on where and how to find our keys.\n\nThere was a box of chocolates awaiting me plus a room upgrade because the hotel mistook me for a regular guest of theirs (same name).\n\nsoundproofing was good, both interior and exterior.\n\nBreakfast was slightly above expectation. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 
Date stayed:
review:
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved