Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

Customer Reviews For The Copthorne Gatwick Hotel


Address: Copthorne Way, Copthorne, Crawley, England, UK, RH10 3PG
This hotel has averaged a score of 3.6 out of 5 by 2946 past guests
>>>Booking.com (average customer rating 3.8 out of 5 from 935 reviews)
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 1 of 1 for at TripAdvisor and rated 3.5 out of 5 from 2016 reviews)

16/09/2019
Rated 4.0 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
09/09/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
03/09/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you so much for taking the time to submit this fantastic 5* review, which is greatly appreciated. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the food specifically. We hope to welcome you again son.\n\nWarm regards,\nAlex McNamara\nPA to the Hotel Manager.
01/09/2019
Rated 3.8 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
31/08/2019
Rated 4.2 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
28/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you so much for this excellent 5* review, and for the admirable feedback regarding our staff members. I shall make sure your congratulations are passed on. We are so glad that you were so pleased with the service provided, and hope to welcome you again son.\n\nWarm regards,\nAlex McNamara\nPA to the Hotel Manager.
26/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
My wife and I booked the hotel for one night, with car parking for our week's holiday recently (August 2019). \nThe staff were very courteous and the room good, although very warm.\nThe car parking, with associated taxi service was excellent.\nWe paid \u00A351, when we booked, for a 3 course meal. However when we went to eat we were told the restaurant was closed and that we would have to have a bar meal in either the attached pub or the 'Library'. This was nothing like what we expected and we were very disappointed. \nIf you book this service do make sure when you book that the restaurant will be open!
25/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
in my over 35 years of airline crew, this is probably the sh iest place I have stayed at. actually, I was staying here 30 years ago (not on my choice) and it was already a rat hole. the hotel has barely been renovated since then. it stinks everywhere. beds are horrible. bathrooms are my grandma\u2019s era. service is just non existent. staff sometimes speaks minimal English. shuttles are AlWAYS late even when you call them very early. actually, contrary to advertised, they only come when and if you call. airco does not work. people at reception lie when they pretend they will send someone to fix. it\u2019s a fake. they take advantage people have no choice than staying here, either being crew prisoner of what the airline is unfortunate to let them stay at or cancelled flights passengers. stay away from this disaster.
25/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Malcolm,\n\nThank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We're obviously very sorry to hear of your reservations regarding the hotel, and shall pass the sentiments on to the relevant departments. \n\nHowever, at the same time, we feel we should thank you and also congratulate you for such a beautifully written and eloquent account of your experience... very rarely do the Greek classics get referenced in customer feedback! We really appreciate the time you took to write it, and hope we can provide you with a slightly more light-hearted and less melancholy experience next time round!\n\nWarm regards,\nAlex McNamara\nPA to the Hotel Manager.
23/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Ioana,\n\nThank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and we're immensely pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you at the hotel again son.\n\nWarm regards,\nAlex McNamara\nPA to the Hotel Manager.
20/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Nick,\n\nThank you so much for taking the time to offer this great feedback from your stay. We're thrilled you found the service provided so good, and that you'd be so keen to stay with us again. We very much look forward to welcoming you in the future.\n\nWarm regards,\nAlex McNamara\nPA to the Hotel Manager.
19/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nWe are obviously mortified to hear you were so dissatisfied with the food served to you: usually our cuisine is among the things customers are most complimentary about. Although it will be of little consolation, if there was any problem we feel sure it must have been an isolated incident. We very much hope you made your disappointment known at the time, as the chef and staff would doubtlessly have provided you with something else more to your approval. Nonetheless, we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience and disappointment.\n\nWarm regards,\nAlex McNamara\nPA to the Hotel Manager.
19/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, which is greatly valued. We apologise we were obviously short-staffed on the front desk on this occasion, and that you had reservations about the room. We hope you reported this disappointment to the duty manager, as we would always try to relocate guests if they are not satisfied with the room provided. Regarding the swimming pool, we also apologise for any inaccurate information you were provided: Acorns is a separate enterprise to us, and staff are not always aware of their procedures. We shall address this.\n\nWe hope to be of service to you again in the future, and to leave you feeling more satisfied.\n\nWarm regards,\nAlex McNamara\nPA to the Hotel Manager.
17/08/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
14/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear Waggy, \n\nThank you so much for the very positive review. We're very happy to hear you felt the hotel was such good value, and also appreciate your approval of the arches! We sincerely hope to be of service to you again son.\n\nWarm regards, \nAlex McNamara\npa to the Hotel Manager.
14/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you very much for this great 5* review, which is much appreciated. We're exceedingly happy that you were so pleased with the service provided, and hope to be able to welcome you again son.\n\nWarm regards, \nAlex McNamara\npa to the Hotel Manager.
13/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you so much for taking the time to submit this 4* review, and we're very pleased to learn you found your stay to be a positive experience. We also appreciate the comments regarding vegan/vegetarian options, and the helpfulness of our staff. We very much hope to see you again.\n\nWarm regards, \nAlex McNamara\npa to the Hotel Manager.
11/08/2019
Rated 3.8 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
08/08/2019
Rated 4.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
08/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Does what it says on the tin really. We wanted somewhere to park the car while we were away for a fortnight, and flying from Gatwick meant too early a start if we travelled from home. Staying here we were able to kill two birds with one stone. \nIt's never going to win any awards for prettiness (the car-park is uglY! ) but it was comfortable and reasonable.\nOne small niggle- we delayed using the pool, waiting until the children's time was over, only to find it full of little kids using toys etc. The pool schedule in the room guide needs updating.\nOh, and we dined elsewhere as we found the hotel restaurant and bar prices a bit top heavy.
07/08/2019
Rated 3.8 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
06/08/2019
Rated 3.8 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
06/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
We always stay here, service always good and staff lovely\nRoom service this time was dreadful, my meal arrived and I was told to go to reception straight away to pay for my meal, I asked if I could eat my food first, it was cold so I called them and they told me that they\u2019d replace it, however they collected the cold meal and returned 5 minutes later with the same meal reheated. I complained and whilst I was complaining the room service people phoned to check that I\u2019d been to reception to pay! \nI was at this point furious to say the least.\n1 hour later the manager arrived at reception full of apologies and agreed to wipe the whole food bill.\nMy point is that they should not be reheating food and retiring it as freshly cooked! \nI would normally give this hotel a 5 rating but the food issue has ruined it for me.
05/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Small room, very dated. Staff very nice, place clean. The best part of this hotel is the Lion D'or restaurant. The Matre'd Giovanni and the waitress Alina were superb as was the chef who apparently had only been there for 3 weeks. We could not fault a thing it was excellent, service, food, attention to detail and atmosphere.
04/08/2019
Rated 4.4 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
04/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Just what we wanted before going on holiday. Reasonable price. Family room was fine. Option of eating on site. Bar for pre holiday drink. Staff no issues. All very helpful. Had to leave a spare key for the car. The car was moved to a different location but the car park was on site which is a big plus. Used Uber to get to airport. They do have a shuttle but it\u2019s \u00A35 per adult. Kids free. Similar to taxi.
04/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Disappointed with the room, dated, small, noisy and very stuffy, the hallways smell damp and musty. Paid \u00A3111 a night but if you require WiFi that's extra (you get free WiFi on a bus) so thought this was a bit cheeky. Only up side to our stay was breakfast, couldn't fault it.
02/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
We have stayed and parked at the Copthorne Gatwick a number of times, I\u2019ve never been a huge fan of the hotel but it is a reasonable price which is why we stayed again. However, I think my stay last month will be the last. The rooms are dark, stuffy and whilst the rooms are clean it just feels and smells dusty like an old book. We stayed at the hotel on one of the hottest days of the year and we had one small desk fan which made for a very uncomfortable night and is not the way I would like to start my holiday. \n\nOn top of an average overpriced pub meal and rude unhelpful staff (not front of house but those that are back office and work on the switchboard) we have returned home to an \u00A3100 parking fine for our stay at the Copthorne Gatwick hotel car park. When we checked in the screen for us to registered our car was not working (and the barriers to the car park were open) and we were asked for our registration number, car make, colour etc which we provided but clearly nothing was done with this information and now we have to complete admin with hotel and parking company to ensure we get the fine cancelled. I won\u2019t be staying again!
28/07/2019
Rated 4.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
27/07/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
24/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for this 4* star review, and we're very pleased to hear of your positive experience at our hotel. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.\n\nWarm regards, \nAlex McNamara\n.
24/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you so much for this 4* star review, and for the invaluable feedback which shall be fed back to the relevant departments. We hope to welcome you again son.\n\nWarm regards, \nAlex McNamara.
24/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear Mr Saunders, \n\nThank you very much for your feedback, which we take very seriously. Please know that the Hotel Manager intends to reached out to you separately and aside from Trip Advisor, as he would like to discuss your concerns and feedback in greater detail. We shall hope to speak to you further in due course.\n\nWarm regards, \nAlex McNamara.
22/07/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
21/07/2019
Rated 3.8 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
18/07/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
17/07/2019
Rated 4.0 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
16/07/2019
Rated 4.4 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
15/07/2019
Rated 3.8 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
15/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Thank you for sparing the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were very sorry to read the service you received was far from our normal standard particularly relating to room service. Please be assured your comments have been investigated and we apologise most sincerely. \nThank you once again for your helpful feedback.\nKind regards\nGuest Relations Manager.
09/07/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
08/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Thank you very much for submitting your recent review. We were so glad to read you enjoyed your stay and all went well with your transfers to the airport. We hope you had a wonderful holiday and look forward to welcoming you back next time.\nBest wishes\nGuest Relations Manager.
03/07/2019
Rated 4.2 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
01/07/2019
Rated 4.4 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
28/06/2019
Rated 3.4 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
28/06/2019
Rated 4.0 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
27/06/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
26/06/2019
Rated 4.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
21/06/2019
Rated 4.4 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
19/06/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
13/06/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
12/06/2019
Rated 4.0 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
05/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
03/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
02/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
26/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
21/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
19/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
16/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
14/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
14/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
The Copthorne is a very comfortable hotel situated close to London Gatwick Airport so it was an ideal venue for my wife and I to spent the night prior to catching a flight to the America. The room was very spacious with both a double and a single bed, flat screen television, tea and coffee making facilities and a well equipped bathroom. The price we paid included parking our car for the duration of our holiday. This is a venue we will definitely be using again in the future.
13/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Good hotel, little bit dated but clean. Disadvantage is the use of credit card - very complicated and not up-to-date. The rooms are very silent. Food in restaurant is good, simple. A good base to stay and visit the region.
11/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We chose the Copthorne as it offered the facility for a nice family lunch for our guests in nice surrounding for a reasonable price. Three of us decorated the function room the night before. And a tray of tea & biscuits arrived which I thought was very caring. On the day one of our guests fell ill on arrival & the Hotel staff were very kind & helpful. The grounds are beautiful for photographs. The food was lovely. We had the perfect day. Thank you to everyone xxxx.
10/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
10/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Massive thank you to Bora for his help after our airline double booked our room. He was so so helpful in trying to sort us a place to stay. He was an absolute delight and very polite to deal with. so happy with his service.
10/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Very rare these days to recieve such amazing customer service. After an airline being useless Bora went out of his way to help me and my friend in any way possible. Was a very clean and nice play to stay and would highly recommend.
09/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
08/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
08/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Stayed Easter Saturday the night before a flight. Excellent hotel. The room given was a suite massive & comfortable. Had a meal in the restaurant it was a good quality meal. The lamb was not\u2019t cooked to my husbands liking & without asking the restaurant manager removed it off the bill. Booked shuttle to the airport next day but after waiting 15 minutes past the time we had booked we got into a taxi that was dropping off. On our return it was a bit confusing with regards to the taxi back but we sorted it. Our car was fine & we were loaded & off without any problems. Staff friendly & helpful. We got this hotel for a really good price for the night stay plus 15 days parking & wouldn\u2019t hesitate to stay again.
07/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
This hotel is very reasonably priced for parking with an overnight stay. Our room was very tired. Bar meal adequate & price ok. \nMobility advice. There is no lift, so ask for a ground floor room. Even on the ground floor it can be a very Long walk to your room. I don\u2019t think they have any walk-in showers, but as it was difficult enough to get a room on the ground level I did not attempt to find a room with a separate shower! \nMost staff very pleasant but the reception is often very busy & Management did not see the need to notice!
05/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
04/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We always stay here the night before we fly from Gatwick on holiday and to us our holiday starts from the moment we arrive here.\n\nI\u2019ve reviewed this hotel many times so I will not go in to every single detail of how great this place is but will say that yet again we immediately relax the moment we enter and check in. We love to sit in the bar area and have a few pre holiday drinks before having dinner in the Lion Dior restaurant and did so on this occasion, yet again we had a fabulous first class meal in the said restaurant, superbly cooked and well presented, every meal I\u2019ve had including this one has of been the highest order, the food quality is up there with the best.\n\nI can not rate this place highly enough.\n\nSuperb.
02/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
01/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
30/04/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
29/04/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
27/04/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
27/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Tried to order a sandwich from a vast menu, only to be told a cheese sandwich was available, after accepting, they tried to charge my card \u00A350 for a sandwich, when calling reception to find out why He was very rude decided to keep putting the phone down, only to be told I am too busy to deal with you and again put the phone down! What a joke.
26/04/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
23/04/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
22/04/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
22/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Hotel was booked to get a few hours sleep after a overnight Long haul flight, knowing that we would not get much sleep on the flight and had a 2.5 hour drive to home, depending on traffic (M25).\nThe booking was made with a request for a room in a quite location for sleep as above (the hotel describes the booking as dayuse) 9-3pm.\nThe experience was anything but quite, and although we got some sleep it was disturbed by other guests and cleaners.\nOn check out we expressed our disappointment at being allocated a room that appeared to be a standard room in a location that did not provide peace and quite for sleep. The receptionist stated that the hotel at the end of the day is a hotel and other guests were staying there and also rooms needed cleaning. The lady was very rude with her response.\nDo not recommend this hotel for Dayuse.
21/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
My Family and I were made to feel very welcome on arrival for lunch in The Brasserie Restaurant today. The choice of food was very good and all the staff were friendly and attentive, My two young grandsons were treated to an Easter Egg each which was a nice surprise.
14/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I stayed at the hotel for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. There was a slight Queue at reception when I arrived however the check in process was quick and professional. My double room was a good size and had everything I expected. The bed was extremely comfortable and the maid came in each day and changed towels, cleaned and made the bed. We ate in the hotel and the food was very good. I will definitely stay at Copthorne Gatwick again.
13/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Arrived. Room very dated. Duvet very thin. Not thick enough to keep you warm. Staff rude and unhelpful. No mention of restaurant being close\u010F ended up eating in a sports lounge with a loud television. Football and motor cycling. Food basic burgers. No desserts and served by the Adams family. complained to the manager about the restaurant being closed with no mention when booking. He was apologetic and gave me a free drink however that didn't make me feel any better. However nice he was. The hotel was empty. The shining sprang to mind with Jack Nicholson jumping in any moment. The hotel is vast and must have been something in the 80s. Now deserted. Flower beds used as ashtrays and generally outside tatty. Charged for overnight parking equally as disgusting. I am really unhappy about the stay. Disgusted actually! Wouldn't mind a refund??
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: April 2006
review: If you are looking for a nice four star hotel don't go to the Copthorne! We were 'greeted' by a rude receptionist who was not very helpful, we were sent to the other side of the hotel to a inferior (small, dark) room. On opening the door the stench of damp from the bathroom was overpowering. In the bathroom there was mildew between the tiles. The mini-bar was empty, so was forced to pay ?4.50 for a bottle of water from the main bar. Car parking was charged at ?5. Breakfast was stated to be included, but was told there was an extra charge by another officious member of staff. There are no alternative eateries in the local area. This does not compare with the normal expectation of a four star hotel, even though the pictures look nice. Indeed the pictures provided of the bedroom do not match at all with reality. The restaurant appears pleasant, but was expensive. Overall the experience was extremely disappointing, and we would not want to return.

Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved