Cumberland Hotel (Gumoan)
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

Customer Reviews For The Cumberland Hotel


Address: Marble Arch, London, England, UK, W1A 4RF
This hotel has averaged a score of 3.6 out of 5 by 4849 past guests
>>>Booking.com (average customer rating 3.6 out of 5 from 4517 reviews)
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 618 of 1134 for Hotels in London and rated 3.5 out of 5 from 325 reviews)

16/09/2019
Rated 3.8 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
16/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We checked in for two nights in order to attend events St Hyde Park which is located very close by.\n\nCheck in was very busy on arrival with a wait time of at least half hour. \n\nWe hadn\u2019t expected our room to be ready so decided to eat in the hotel. \nFood was not great resulting in one meal being taken off the bill and the hotel having no Prosecco! \n\nAfter returning from the park at ten pm we find we are locked out of our room. We join a Long queue in reception and eventually get served by a chewing gum chewing member of staff who reactivated our card and basically said it was our fault as we were a split booking and we should have come down to reception to reinstate our cards! \n\nDisappointingly our room had not been attended. We returned to reception having been unable to get an answer on the phone and requested fresh towels, tea, water and milk. One our later and three phone calls later plus another conversation with the manager we receive towels, toiletries and coffee! \nIt took another hour and three phone calls to finally receive what we requested! \n\nBeing a frequent visitor to London I will not be in a rush to return!
15/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Another great night in another Hard Rock caféé. What\u2019s not to love? Great food, perfect service, a vibrant atmosphere and amazing drinks. Our waiter was fast, efficient and helpful our food was tasty and we got massive portions. \nThis was the first time we\u2019d visited this new location and we thought it was even better than the old one.\nWe love the Hard Rock.
15/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Excellent location, just a stone throw from Oxford street, the shoppers hub of London. We were upgraded to a large spacious room with a beautiful sitting area and a separate dresser, on the 3rd floor. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean n well equipped. Lobby was always lively with good music. Had a very comfortable 5 nights stay! Thanks.
15/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We booked the Hard Rock Hotel for it's location l as we went to the Proms in the Park. We arrived at the hotel at 4.30pm - check-in was 3pm - queued for at while but once at the check-in desk we were told that our room was not ready. We were outraged as we wanted to freshen up before going to Hyde Park. We left our mobile number and it was agreed that we would be contacted once our room was ready. \nApparently the problem was due to an issue with staffing but there seemed to be plenty of staff mulling around in the foyer - perhaps in future they could be re-deployed?\nWe decided to have a drink and wait a while but at 5.30pm we agreed that we were missing out on acts at the Proms. We left our bags and went to the Proms. \nWe didn't receive a call or text from the hotel so telephoned them at 8pm to be told that the room was now ready! We returned to the hotel after the concert and finally checked in. Luckily we were one of the first to do so as after we arrived an incredibly Long queue formed. What a way to run a hotel. \nWe literally spent 10 hours in our room. If we had been 5 hours late checking out I am sure that there would be a penalty to pay. I am unsure why the hotel thinks it's satisfactory to only give us access to our pre-paid hotel room 5 hours after the contracted check-in time. They seemed to think that looking after our bag while we went to the Proms was sufficient compensation.
15/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear 491brettm, \n\nWe are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel and the excellent service. We strive to create one of a kind experiences for our guests and provide them with a high level of service. Your patronage is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again son. \n\nWarm regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
15/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Rob S, \n\nWe were disappointed to read your review, and we hope you will accept our apology for your experience. You deserved a relaxing and stress-free stay, and we were not at our best. Your comments are taken seriously, and we will identify why we failed so we can ensure a better experience in the future. Our entire staff would love for you to stay with us again so we can prove ourselves to you! \n\nWith kind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
15/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear travelhound711, \n\nThank you so much for taking the time to share your amazing experience, and for mentioning all those who made your visit so memorable. I have shared your compliments with Justin and he joins me in inviting you back again son for more fun! Thanks for choosing the Hard Rock Hotel London for your shopping trip on your Birthday. We miss you already and look forward to next time! \n\nMany happy returns from all of us at Hard Rock Hotel London.\n\nYours Sincerely, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager\n.
14/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Geminina007, \n\nThank you for sharing your comments and especially sharing how some of the other comments may not be the best representation of who we are. It means so much when a guest has a great travel experience. Our staff really does try hard to deliver on that concept. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. \n\nBest wishes, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
14/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Booked into this hotel because of its location and that didn\u2019t disappoint. Arrived early afternoon knowing our room would probably not be ready but told by the staff in the foyer to check-in anyway, despite there being eight terminals there were only three check-in staff, as a result it took 30 minutes to get to the front of the queue. I was asked for my passport when I told the receptionist I was English and therefore didn\u2019t have my passport with me he couldn\u2019t understand what I meant and had to get a colleague to come and assist, having got that sorted out I was told, as expected that the room was not\u2019t ready and would have to return later to get the keycard, retuning two hours later to collect the key the queue was even Longer than before I asked a member of the Foyer staff if it was necessary for me to have to queue once again and she said yes I am sorry it\u2019s not very good but that\u2019s what you will have to do ! so whilst standing in the queue we were offered a glass of Prosecco, after 10 minutes the member of staff came back and said she was sorry but they had run out but we could have some water ! anyway after another wait this time of about 20 minutes we got our key and headed to the room. The hotel has a great lift system which means there is hardly any waiting, pity they can\u2019t use the same technology for their check-in \uD83E\udd23 our room was a deluxe gold twin, which for central London was a good size. Not quite sure why there was a half eaten chicken salad sandwich in the fridge though. We had a good nights sleep, the bed was very comfortable and there was no noise from outside. On returning to the hotel on the second day the standard of the service to the room was not good, the empty glasses which we had left in there from drinks we had brought up from the bar the night before had not been take away and the dressing table had not been cleaned, the standard was not what one would expect from a hotel in this price bracket. On the upside the checkout was very efficient. Don\u2019t think I will be returning.
14/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear FellowTraveler716828, \n\nThank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.\n\nI would like to apologise for the number of issues that you encountered. Please let me assure you that this is not our usual high standards that we expect our guests to experience. All feedback (even the negative) helps us identify issues to look to rectify them in an effort to improve our service. \n\nI appreciate you bringing this to my attention, as I will be sharing your feedback with our Housekeeping team to look further into this problem to resolve this for future guests.\n\nWith regard to the fire alarm, the sensor was activated in the restaurant, and as you can understand, for the safety of our guests we have to treat all activation's with the utmost seriousness, however I completely understand your frustration in regards to the lack of communication, this feedback has been shared amongst our management teams who will look into further training to ensure this doesn't happen with our future guests.\n\nI hope we will get the chance to welcome you back and show you a guest experience that you deserve. Should your travels bring you back to London, please contact me directly and I will personally manage your booking for you.\n\nBest Wishes, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
14/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Spireboy69, \n\nThank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your recent stay. I am sorry to read that it was not solely a positive one. \n\nPlease be assured that all comments are passed on to the relevant department heads so that we can continue to improve our guest experience. \n\nI am sorry that this was your experience of our hotel and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future should your travels bring you back to London.\n\nYours Sincerely, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager\n.
13/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Jamdragon, \n\nThank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.\n\nI was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and you have provided some very valid feedback that I will be taking up with the relevant departments. I can only apologies at this stage for those issues you encountered. We strive to ensure all the needs of our guests are met, and I can see by your comments that this was not the case.\n\nPlease let me assure you that you have provided me with valuable feedback and I assure you that your comments have been taken seriously and everything in our control will be addressed.\n\nWe hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back and show you our usual high standards. \n\nYours sincerely, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
12/09/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear Lisa B, \n\nIt is always disappointing to receive a negative feedback. I would like to assure you that I take all guest comments into consideration and would sincerely apologise for the shortfalls in service and standards that you received. Our room sizes are varied depending on which room type you reserve but all are very much in keeping with the city in terms of size, in fact, many are vastly superior in size. Feel free to give me a call next time you are staying in the area, gladly show you a selection of our room types.\n\nI am also disheartened to read your comments about our service. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and in your case it seems we failed and I hope you will accept my apologies on behalf of all concerned. I will be sharing your feedback with the team to ensure we are providing warm and engaging service. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future.\n\nWith kind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
11/09/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear James1892nufc, \n\nThank you for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor. At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and I fully empathize with the situation you mentioned. It is extremely disappointing to have let you down. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with the concerned departments to ensure that corrective measures are taken immediately and effectively to prevent you and any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. It is our utmost focus to provide our valued, discerning guests such as you a flawless and impeccable experience and we will ensure that you have a wonderful experience on your return in the future.\n\nI would like to speak with you personally and thus requesting you to get in touch with me on meskerem. Assefa@hrhlondon.com and share your contact details.\n\nI assure you that these lapses were an exception to our standards and request you to not judge us solely on this experience.\n\nYour feedback helps us improve our services and also helps us take various measures to improve your experience at the hotel.\n\nWe hope to have an opportunity to craft a better experience on your next visit at our hotel.\n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager\n\n.
11/09/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear Carina V, \n\nThank you for choosing to stay with us at Hard Rock Hotel London and sharing your kind review.\n\nI am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and appreciate the service from the team. They are a dedicated and wonderful team and rest assured that your compliments will be conveyed to them, in particular to my Concierge team whose service stood out to you.\n\nIt will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another memorable experience son.\n\nBest regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager\n.
10/09/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear Kbrooks2017, \n\nThank you for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor. Please accept my sincere apologies for not immediately responding to your email. We encountered some it issues on the day and our system was down for several hours. Luckily our it team have successfully recovered all email correspondence and I am now working on the backlog of emails. \n\nI would like to speak with you personally and thus requesting you to get in touch with me on meskerem. Assefa@hrhlondon.com and share your contact details.\n\nI look forward to hearing from you son.\n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
09/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Coco40, \n\nThank you for taking the time to share your review with us. London is truly a remarkable city, and I could not agree with you more that the location of the hotel is in a perfect setting to explore all what the city has to offer.\n\nI am so sorry that you found the room small on this occasion. Due to the building being a Grade Two listed building and not a purpose built hotel we have several bedrooms and bathrooms of differing, unique shape and size. On your next stay with us please let our Reception team know if you are unhappy with your room size and we will do our utmost to re-allocate you to a different bedroom to ensure that you are comfortable.\n\n I have shared your compliments with Cristiano and he joins me in inviting you back again son for more fun! Thanks for choosing the Hard Rock Hotel London for your trip. We miss you already and look forward to next time! \n\nWarm regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
09/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Dave R, \n\nWe are so thrilled you were made to feel welcomed and that you left us with some pretty great memories of your mini vacation. We are all about fun here at the Hard Rock and it's wonderful to know you enjoyed our facilities, comfortable room, selection of breakfast, rock memorabilia, bar and cafééé. Thanks for the great review and we all hope to welcome you back son! Safe travels back home and Hurry back! \n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
08/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Miss S, \n\nWow thanks so much, for the amazing compliments on our staff and facilities. We had a rockin' good time hanging out with you and we can't wait to see you again. Justin enjoyed the shout out and it's our pleasure to provide the top-notch service and attention to details you deserve. Hurry back! \n\nBest regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
08/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear 655lilianah, \n\nThank you so much for taking the time to share your amazing experience, and for mentioning all those who made your visit so memorable. I have shared your compliments with Francesco and he joins me in inviting you back again son for more fun! Thanks for choosing the Hard Rock Hotel London for your trip. We miss you already and look forward to next time! \n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
08/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Wifeofhouse, \n\nOn behalf of Emily, Eveline and of course the rest of the team here at the Hard Rock Hotel London, thank you ever so much for having taken the time to share this wonderful review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that the quality of the service provided contributed positively to an enjoyable stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here the next time your travels take you to London. Should you ever require any assistance at all in making any of your future reservations, I remain entirely at your disposal and hope to be your home away from home should you return.\n\nWarm regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager\n\n.
06/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear StephenPatrickC, \n\nThanks for visiting Hard Rock cafééé Oxford Street while you were in London, sounds like you had a great time! We offer something for every taste and every mood. Whether it\u2019s time for a fine espresso in the morning, a handmade burger in the afternoon or a get-into-the-groove cocktail in the evening, you can be sure the food is always fresh, the cocktails are always amazing.\n\nWe are very lucky indeed to have such an enviable location \u2013 one of the best in London \u2013 with excellent transport links and attractions right on our doorstep or if you love shopping you\u2019re presented with a plethora of boutique shops for the fashion-savvy, including Savile Row, and the many jewellers in the area.\n\nWe are looking forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home.\n\nYours sincerely, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
05/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear AmberRlondon, \n\nThanks for the great five-star review. We're so fortunate to have a devoted staff here at the Hard Rock Hotel London. They are trained to pay close attention to the details that can impact your visit and they loved the compliments on their efforts. It makes us happy to know you received the hospitality you deserve and we hope you will visit us again son whether it be for business or pleasure.\n\nWe cannot wait to welcome you back\u200B son.\n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
04/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear carlpickering57, \n\nThank you so much for the kind review. Our staff is always looking for ways to make sure you have all you need to have a great experience and so glad Abdullah succeeded in your case. Thanks for the great rating and for the recommendations. We are so happy to have gained a Hard Rock fan! We are already looking forward to your next stay.\n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
04/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear sakryasmine, \n\nThank you for your review and for staying at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the service you received and for any inconvenience caused during your stay. You deserved a relaxing and stress-free stay, and we were not at our best. Your comments are taken seriously, and we will identify why we failed so we can ensure a better experience in the future. Our entire staff would love for you to stay with us again so we can prove ourselves to you! \n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
03/09/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
01/09/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
31/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Mike S, \n\nThank for your recent review regarding your stay at Hard Rock Hotel London.\n\nI am glad to hear your enjoyed your breakfast from the vast variety of Continental meats and cheeses available to the sumptuously freshly baked choice of pastries, you are indeed spoilt for choice by our hot and cold buffet. I am also delighted to read that you liked your bedroom. We are very proud of the service and standards we offer and having the facilities and amenities available ensures that our guests have an unforgettable experience. \n\nlastly we will certainly address your concern with the loud music and the Ice Machines on 5th & 6th Floor. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit. \n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager\n\n.
31/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Yes I came here today to visit the coffee shop to have a light lunch, was put off by an entrance man inside the hotel who had a radio and looked like security short man. Asked me if I\u2019m okay and I said I was looking for the toilet (I needed before going to the coffee shop) but was told only for people staying at the hotel onlY. Well decided not to eat there and use their facilities. It was much better as Cumberland Hotel than what it is now. I\u2019ve been to many hotels (Hilton) and have been welcomed much better than this. I live in London and shall never set foot in this hotel again. I didn\u2019t know a hotel you cannot visit to use its facilities and go and have a coffee or drink.
30/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Foziah A, \n\nThanks so much for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We are all dedicated to making sure our guests are well taken care of and only have the best Hard Rock experience possible.\n\nOur pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and extensive facilities. I hope you will allow us another opportunity when your travels bring you back to London to provide the overall positive experience you deserve. \n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
30/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Stephen H, \n\nThank you for the lovely review of your Hard Rock experience in London. It was a treat to host your girlfriends birthday celebrations with you and we could not be happier with your journey. We are a customer service focused group and we appreciate the shout out about the service by our dedicated rock stars to make sure you have the best time possible. Thank you for the great review and recommendations. It is our hope to welcome you back again son for another great time. Please pass on the Happy Birthday wishes and we can't wait to see again.\n\nMuch appreciation, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
29/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear muneerahalM, \n\nWe are so happy to have had you stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your amazing experience, and for mentioning all those who made your stay so memorable. I have shared your compliments with Gabriela and Bill they join me in inviting you back again son for more fun! Thanks for choosing the Hard Rock Hotel London for your trip. We miss you already and look forward to next time! \n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
29/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Guppy27, \n\nThank you for staying with us on your recent trip. We sincerely apologise that you experienced so many difficulties during your stay with us. We understand these things can lead to a negative impression of our hotel and we are truly sorry this was your experience. This is not the level of service we generally provide, and it certainly does not meet our standards. \n\nYour comments will be shared with the appropriate team members, so we can take action to prevent these issues from happening again. \n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
29/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Hazel L, \n\nThank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel London.\n\nIndeed we are perfectly positioned in the heart of the city with London underground stations close by making travelling a breeze when getting around London. Alternatively we do have taxis outside of the hotel for a quicker option when travelling. \u200B\n\nI am also delighted to know that you & your husband enjoyed breakfast. Our Chef takes great pride in the vast choices of hot and cold dishes available, including an extensive selection of Continental meats and cheeses as well as a number of vegetarian options. I am also pleased to hear that you liked your beautiful appointed bedroom.\n\nIt is our team that make the hotel come alive with their great service, so I am delighted that you found them to be friendly and accommodation and they were very proud to read your comments. \n\nThank you for choosing us your preferred choice when visiting London, we cannot wait to welcome you back to your new home away from home.\n\nWarmest regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager\n.
28/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear cturner30, \n\nThank you for the stellar five-star review. We love that you enjoyed our delicious food and amazing service all at our killer location. The Rack of Ribs is amazing isn't it? It is my favourite too:) Did you try our Local Legendary Burger? it's prepared with the local flavor and flair - delicious! \n\nWe appreciate your kind comments and we hope to see you here again at the Hard Rock Hotel London.\n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
28/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear lynnederby01, \n\nWe too were honoured you rocked out with us! From the awesome memorabilia to our team of Rock Stars, we strive to create an experience that truly rocks. \n\nWe will celebrate Freddie Mercury's 73rd birthday at our very own Hard Rock Hotel London on Thursday 5th September so why not come and join us for an evening of music, moustaches and more on the 5th September where we will be entertained by the legendary band Legacy (our no.1 resident band) to celebrate Freddie in style.\n\nlegacy will be joined by the drummer from the official Queen tribute band - so come and see them play live and pay an homage to Freddie Mercury with a Queen tribute set at 9pm. \n\nThank you for the stellar five-star review, we hope to see you on 5th September 2019.\n\nKind regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
27/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Julie B, \n\nWow, thank you so very much for the wonderful feedback of all your experiences at the Hard Rock Hotel London. Your amazing review really highlights how versatile our hotel and staff can be to ensure each and every guest has the best experience possible regardless of the occasion. Your compliments on the food, drinks, breakfast combined with the excellent customer service have been shared and well received by all. We enjoyed your company and already looking forward to your next visit. Thank you and safe travels back home.\n\nBest Regards, \n\nIan Fletcher\nGeneral Manager.
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 6
Date stayed: February 2009
review: Very impersonal and unwelcoming. Basin leaked,reported and "repaired" Still leaked, but we given a better room. Breakfast in the "Market" was cold, tasteless and overpriced. Coffee in the bar at ?4.60 a cup was a rip-off as was the soup in the brasserie Look out for the 12.5% "service charge" Stay again?-no way
Rating out of 10: 3
Date stayed: May 2008
review: This was the most impersonal and unwelcoming hotel I have ever stayed in!  The room was adequate but not as clean as it could have been (especially the bathroom).  As for breakfast, it was like a bun fight - queuing for breakfast is not my idea of a 4 star hotel. We definitely will not be staying again.
Rating out of 10: 3
Date stayed: April 2008
review: Just returned from a 2 night break at the Cumberland Hotel. Disappointment would be an understatement. On arrival we checked into our "Deluxe twin room." The only thing deluxe about the room was the price. The carpet was dirty, there were obscure stains up the wall beside the bed and we had a view of a brick wall. I rang reception, explained the situation and asked to be moved. 5 phone calls and an hour and a half later we were moved. This time we had a view of Oxford Street. The room was cleaner but not of the standard you would expect in a 4* hotel. Also, the light above the bed didn't work.
On return to our room the second day the toilet didn't flush......yet it was working perfectly normally that morning.
All in all, I would never return to this hotel, nor would I recommend it to friends or colleagues.
The hotel is in a very central location but unfortunately this is the only credit I would give.
O, and I nearly forgot, the concierge were very good at hailing taxis!
Rating out of 10: 3
Date stayed: January 2008
review: Very dissatisfied with room, although stated Deluxe, I would say that it was very basic. The bathroom, very modern but badly designed, the small washing bowl leaked water all over the floor, there was nowhere to put soap etc and the towel rack was to high..it made me feel very uncomfortable...It was meant to be a special weekend with a fabulous theatre trip but I felt let down with our choice of Hotel...I would never recommend your Hotel... Although I will give a rating of 3 for the helpful staff.
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: May 2007
review: We stayed as guests of HooverCandy. We were quite looking forward to our stay, But Oh dear!
I certainly would not choose to stay here ever again. We were given a Small noisy room it stank of smoke and had a squidgy uncomforatable bed. Really mean selection of bathroom bits and bobs, Like one shampoo,one small soap,No shower cap. Nothing in the fridge apart from a bottle of water. Had B+B inclusive but Made the mistake of ordering continental breakfast for 2 in the room and was charged an extra ?19 that had to be paid in cash before The room service chap would leave. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. 4 star indeed I would not give it one. I have stayed in much much better 2 star hotels 
Rating out of 10: 7
Date stayed: October 2006
review: OK, Im gonna be honest - a complete cock was made - when we checked in and headed up to our room - let ourselves in - there were still people in there!!!!

so.... we trudged back down and spoke to guest relations - who upgraded us to a Hyde Park view, unexpectedly!  A very nice view...... marble arch, the park and oxford street....

we went to the bar for a drink to relax - then freaked when we paid ?9 for two bottles of lager - (stupidly then went on to pay ?45 for Moet - ?19 in makro)!!!!    When we went back to our room we had a personal card appologising and a big bowl of fruit - a nice touch (free moet would have topped it though)

The rooms are very impressive,,,    on first impressions,,,, - however

our carpet was very dirty.

the LCD screen is HUGE!!! but not a great picture,

the Molton Brown washes are a nice touch but you don't get enough,

the shower has jets that spurt out from the side and all over - but are really difficult and stiff to work.....

we were woken during the night from the noise of busy oxford street and also a brawl inside our hotel  - we found a smashed payne of glass next to the lift the next morning, there were also loads of light in the room that you couldn't turn off.

the breakfast was impressive - open kitchens where the chefs cook pancakes and omlettes to order - #####    not keen on the chicken sausages though..#####

the concierges were a little slow to bring our luggage but otherwise were exTREMElY helpful...

overall..... this hotel does not have the style of a smaller......say... Hilton... it is impressive and has some classy touches - but doesn't pay attention to detail -  it seems like a cheap hotel with tons of money thrown at it.... on paper it should be great - but we stayed in the Hilton Green Park shortly before hand and there is NO, I say NO!!! comparison. The Hilton wins hands down...
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: January 2006
review: Great location and beautiful decor. Service is absolutely rubbish, rude unreliable staff. I rang for room service thrice, I got fed up and went to the restaurant downstairs. Whilst we were checking in, it took them forever to help us with the luggage. The spent their money on silly statues of men instead of better staff. I wont be going back there again. This time I will be at Grosvernor House or the Dorchester.
Rating out of 10: 10
Date stayed: January 2006
review: Just had the most wonderful week-end at the Cumberland Hotel !! Cannot praise the staff, service and food enough ! I had my credit cards stolen whilst I was in the London and the Management could not have been more helpful - thank you so much. I will definitely be back again.
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: December 2005
review: Hotel has a contemporary look and good location but any chance it has of becoming a good hotel is ruined by the impolite, unhelpful, incompetant and at some points absent members of staff.

Arrived at 7pm (5 hours after I was supposed to be able to check in) to be told even though I had made a booking weeks previously and it was in their system, no rooms were available. After 1 1/2 hours of being messed around, ignored and lied to, finally got a room but due to the delay, missed my restaurant booking to celebrate my anniversary.

In the morning was woken around 10 am to be asked when I would be leaving the room!!!

Again, hotel has potential but stay is ruined by unbelievably bad service.
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: September 2005
review: Worst hotel I've stayed in last two months. No porters, stairs at front door, too Long to wait for check in 15 minutes, no customer service skills, sent to building down the road in the rain, had to cross the road and go up more steps - still no porter. Buildings had no sign on them to say they were Cumberland. No air-conditioning which we reported was out of order on arrival. We were told they would send maintenance to show us how to turn it on. My husband is an air-conditioning engineer. Found out later a section of hotel had air-conditioning failure. Were not relocated to another room. Breakfast did not turn up. Porters did not come to collect bags even after an hour. No communication with any staff. An absolute disaster. Have been staying in hotels every night for two months and this is the worst. Most others perfectly fine
Rating out of 10: 10
Date stayed: August 2005
review: This hotel was fantastic- well worth the money- room was lovely, service and food were great- this is definitely the place to stay- a great location too""
Rating out of 10: 9
Date stayed: June 2005
review: Great hotel - would highly recommend - fantastic location (right at Marble Arch underground) - very clean - good sized rooms - friendly staff.
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved