Britannia Europa Gatwick Hotel
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

L Customer Reviews For The Europa Gatwick Hotel


Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley, England, UK, RH10 7ZR
This hotel has averaged a score of 2.5 out of 5 by 7859 past guests
>>>Booking.com (average customer rating 3 out of 5 from 4503 reviews)
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 29 of 29 for Hotels in Crawley and rated 2 out of 5 from 3418 reviews)

17/09/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
17/09/2019
Rated 3.4 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
16/09/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
16/09/2019
Rated 2.7 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
15/09/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
15/09/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
15/09/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
15/09/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
14/09/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
12/09/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
11/09/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
11/09/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
10/09/2019
Rated 2.7 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
10/09/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
10/09/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
09/09/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
09/09/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
09/09/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
08/09/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
07/09/2019
Rated 2.7 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
07/09/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
06/09/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
06/09/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
04/09/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
03/09/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
03/09/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
03/09/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
02/09/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
02/09/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
02/09/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
02/09/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
02/09/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
01/09/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
31/08/2019
Rated 3.4 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
31/08/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
30/08/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
30/08/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
30/08/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
29/08/2019
Rated 3.4 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
29/08/2019
Rated 2.7 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
29/08/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
28/08/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
28/08/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
28/08/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
28/08/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
26/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Thank you for your positive comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
23/08/2019
Rated 2.7 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
22/08/2019
Rated 3.4 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
21/08/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
20/08/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
20/08/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
20/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
. Absolutely foul. Dirty and dated with the worst staff I've ever encountered.\nStayed here the night before flying from Gatwick on 18th August. Started off with our booking being handled incorrectly (really wish we'd have just gone some where else) not ideal after a 5 hour journey to get there- decided to go for a drink in the bar whilst it was sorted. Tried to order wine at the bar, was met by an eye roll by the bar tender, who continued to be unhelpful and rude. The attitude of all the staff we encountered was appalling. The bar area itself was dirty sticky grimy and grotty. Those carpets- have never experienced a vacuum since being fitted in the early 70s.\nThe wine we did get was horrific. Would have preferred a glass of vinegar. \nWhen we finally got into the rooms, they were like a furnace. With tiny tiny 'double' beds and dirty mouldy showers. Of course we didn't get any sleep and quite frankly this place ruined the start Of our holiday. This place is Simply unacceptable.
19/08/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
19/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments. We are very surprised that you did not speak to either the Reception or the Duty Manager regarding your concerns so that they could have offered you a room move or investigated your concerns. You may have booked a Lodge room which are smaller than those in the main hotel.
19/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments. We have been very busy in our car park. The car park is not owned by another company however, we do have Parking Eye in operation.
19/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments.
19/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments. You do not mention if you spoke to the Duty Manager regarding your concerns as they certainly would have offered you a room move.
18/08/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
17/08/2019
Rated 3.4 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
16/08/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
16/08/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
16/08/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
15/08/2019
Rated 2.7 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
15/08/2019
Rated 3.6 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
14/08/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
14/08/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
13/08/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
13/08/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
13/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments.
12/08/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
12/08/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
12/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments. We have not had a shuttle service for 3 years, only taxis now. There is a bus service from Gatwick which does stop at the top of the road by the Europa Hotel but this is lengthy ride.
11/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments, we have been very busy in our car park and although you drove around the whole hotel, we are pleased that you were able to find a parking spot. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
11/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments. We do have a policy to take a dog deposit which you would have signed the paperwork for. Reception is manned 24/7. We do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
11/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments.
10/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay as we did receive some positive comments from this group. Your 3 day stay from Housekeeping would be cleaned as a stay over and not fully cleaned. Your other points have been taken on board and given to the other departments. We are also surprised that you did not speak to the Duty Manager on shift who certainly would have been more than happy to listen to your concerns and especially speak to the Chef on duty.
07/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments.
07/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments. We are approx. 15 minutes away from Gatwick by taxi. The cost of the taxi is from \u00A39 each way which is special rate we have with evo cars. The leisure facilities are chargeable including hiring of the towels, although you can take the towels from your room and replenish at Reception. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
06/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your feedback.
05/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as we did receive many positive comments from other National Holiday guests. Breakfast is served from 6.45 to 9.15 and unless we know of group times, we do not know how many guests will arrive during these times. We do have a Duty Manager on shift at all times and certainly if you had spoken to him/her regarding the Restaurant evening food they would have spoken to the Chef.
03/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your feedback. The deposit taken is refundable and would have been explained to you. We do have a lift but this only serves 1 part of the hotel. We do have a Porter on shift from 5 pm who certainly would have helped you with your luggage.
02/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future with National Holidays.
01/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at with us and we do hope that you will return in the future with National Holidays.
31/07/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your feedback. There is a lot of work around the Gatwick area and all hotels including Travelodge and Premier Inn do have the workmen in them. Reception or the Duty Manager would have been able to offer you a room move if you were not happy with your room. The car park is very busy at the moment.
30/07/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for our feedback.
16/06/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
15/06/2019
Rated 2.5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
15/06/2019
Rated 2.7 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
15/06/2019
Rated 2.9 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
14/06/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
14/06/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
13/06/2019
Rated 3.1 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
13/06/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
12/06/2019
Rated 2.3 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
11/06/2019
Rated 2.7 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
10/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
09/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
08/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
07/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
06/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
06/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
It was cheap but awful. The style is very nice Spanish hasienda, but come on Britannia Hotel, you need to spend some money on the place. Staff are nice but the hotel is very tired and dirty. The garden area has litter everywhere and broken fencing all over. The beds are sold they almost collapse every time you move. The decor is very grubby and needs a good clean. If you don\u2019t mind sleeping Ming it. It is the cheap Gatwick stop over, however, be aware it is awful. If you spend some money I could double you A. R. R in 6 months, straight to bloom line.
04/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
04/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Great price for overnight pre Gatwick flight and holiday parking.\nWe stayed one night with 15 days parking included in the price.\nVery busy hotel as you would expect, being only 10 minutes drive to Gatwick south.\nHotel has a taxi service for \u00A39 to airport, bookable at hotel arrival.\nVery small bar in a large hotel, with minimal available drinks.\nFood very poor, we decided to just walk down the road, a couple of minutes walk, to eat elsewhere.\nBasic rooms, with small double bed, but shower okay.\nOkay for just the one nights sleep, to avoid the rush to get to airport on time, whilst avoiding M25 traffic.
03/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments.
02/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
02/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments.
01/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
01/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments.
01/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately we did have a major problem with the key card system however, no one could have got into your room as room numbers and guest names are checked on the computer system to make sure they match. The Front of House Manager will be speaking to the Receptionist in question and we can only apologise to you for her taking a call, which obviously is not accepted.
31/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
31/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments. We are very disappointed that you did enjoy your stay with us. We are also very surprised that you did not mention to either the Reception team or the Duty Manager that you were unhappy with your room. We certainly could have rectified your issues. We did receive positive feedback from some guest members of this group.
30/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
30/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments, which have been passed onto Management.
30/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments.
29/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
29/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for your comments. We do have drinks available at Reception after the bar has closed. We also have a Duty Manager on shift at all times, fans are available at Reception also. If Reception or the Duty Manager had been made aware that you were not happy with your room, you would have been offered room move.
28/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
27/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
26/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
25/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
24/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 2
Date stayed: July 2011
review: My stay here was awful! We had to switch rooms numerous times due to smells and mould issues. The rooms were filthy! 3rd time lucky I suppose, the 3rd room was better, not great but better than the previous mouldy filth. Reception were not very apologetic in the situation. Restaurant only does Carvery which I have heard is simple and unimpressive. We did not fancy eating there after we saw the state of the rooms so we ate out. Apparently the food containers were filthy and hairs were found in food. Dreadful hotel. It is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. This hotel should most certainly be on "Hotels from hell" As for the car park, not very safe and very small, hard to park and I did not feel confident leaving my car there while I travelled to the airport after my stay and during my 2 week holiday, especially after I have heard cars have been damaged there. Absolutely terrible. I shall never be staying there again. Most certainly not worthy of 3 stars.
Rating out of 10: 4
Date stayed: November 2007
review: Room 1196 was unclean especially under the sink in the bathroom and around the base of the toilet. The mattress was too small for the base and was very 'saggy' in the middle. The sheet had rips in and there was no materess protector. Not impressed. Reception staff were nice.
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: September 2007
review: This was by far, the dirtiest place I have EVER stayed.  We had to go to the front desk and get some sheets to cover the fabric headboard which was black with oil from the twenty (?) years of visitors that had leaned against it.  The halls were dark (which was probably a Godsend).  The floors hadn't even been swept in months.  The silverware containers in the restaurant were filthy.  They had not been cleaned for months.  It was NOT just remodeling clutter, it was years of no cleaning, no care.  As our busload of people were going back to the airport, it was the topic of discussion.  NO ONE was happy with the place.
Rating out of 10: 3
Date stayed: August 2007
review: very run down bedrooms,but alright for 1 night.My car was left in the car park for 2 weeks,when I returned it was badly damaged Thanks to the person who drove off.The manager said he would look into this,but into October I have not had a reply.I WIlL NOT BE STAYING HERE AGAIN,.
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: January 2007
review: a very poor hotel indeed.In addition to having exactly identical problems  to those that other reviewers have posted.The first thing we experienced on being greeted by very surly and unhelpful reception staff who had lost our reservation and didn't even apologise!The worst thing was definitely the state of the bathroom,despite having changed rooms once already! We spoke to other guests there who, also like us, had instances of staff letting themseves into rooms without warning or invitation!  In fairness, however, the hotel organized a wonderfull civil wedding and the wedding dinner was fantastic! The hotel should, however, sort out the other big problems it is obviousely suffering from. 
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: July 2006
review: I have travelled all over the world for the past 30 years and this hotel is undoubtedly the worst one I have had the misfortune to stay in in that entire time. And that includes some pretty bad Korean hotels. The rooms are hot, dirty, old, unkempt, etc... Fixtures in the bathroom are rusting / moldy. The mattress is circa 1957 and slouching badly in the centre. The room was musty and hot. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone at any time for any reason. I stayed there for 1 brief night only, thank god.
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: September 2005
review: I have to say that my stay at this hotel would make good TV viewing on Hotels from Hell. Cobwebs on walls, mould on the ceiling panel in the room, bar staff can hardly understand or speak English, television almost impossible to watch due to poor reception - Sky channels were impossible to watch as sound drowned out by hissing. Towels thread bare and frayed, no serviettes on the table in the dining room at dinner or breakfast. Took over 20 minutes for them to bring out bacon and eggs half way through the breakfast sitting. Battled to find my room as the sign indicating direction to specific Bedroom Numbers had been stolen and not replaced! Restaurant bar has very limited choice. Two customers were sent down stairs to get drinks that were not available at the restaurant bar, hardly practical when in the middle of a meal. Neither of the drinks were specialities. I could go on and on about this hotel but can probably sum it up by saying rather find another hotel to stay at.
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: January 2005
review: This hotel is in desperate need of an overhaul. I have had family members stay there several times and on several occasions we have had because for complaint. There was one occasion when a toilet seat was not provided and another when the bedroom door did not lock! We now use the much cleaner and airier Gatwick Worth Hotel, just a few minutes drive away. The staff there are very friendly and accommodating. The Europa is also very limited on parking. It actually doesn't have too much going for it at the moment!

Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved