Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park London
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

Customer Reviews For The Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park Hotel


Address: 66 Knightsbridge, London, England, UK, SW1X 7LA
This hotel has averaged a score of 4.6 out of 5 by 1323 past guests
>>>Booking.com (average customer rating 4.2 out of 5 from 95 reviews)
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 682 of 1117 for Hotels in London and rated 5 out of 5 from 23 reviews)

06/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
31/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Sightseer01029089002,\n\nThank you for your review of Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience our Afternoon Tea at the Rosebery. We look forward to welcoming you back son.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers \nHotel Manager.
29/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear AlanPMK,\n\nThank you for writing a review of Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. We're delighted that you liked our newly reimagined rooms and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers \nHotel Manager.
28/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
27/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
11/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
11/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear medtraveler2013,\n\nThank you for leaving us a review on TripAdvisor. I am truly delighted to read that you decided to end your trip with a stay in one of our newly reimagined rooms and that you enjoyed your time with us so much. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back son.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
11/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear Dame87,\n\nThank you for writing us such a positive TripAdvisor review of your Afternoon Tea experience. We look forward to seeing you again son.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
09/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear KAC4405,\n\nThank you for leaving us a review on TripAdvisor. I am truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
09/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear Deliciae_Travel,\n\nThank you for writing us such a positive TripAdvisor review of Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. I am glad to read that you are a fan of our newly reimagined rooms with their Hyde Park inspired design details. We look forward to seeing you again son.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
06/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear soma65,\n\nThank you for writing a review of your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. It is great to hear that your experience met your expectations and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
05/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear Akki9574,\n\nThank you for leaving us such a detailed review on TripAdvisor. I am truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much and had the opportunity to try all of the different elements that Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
04/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear JohnR63,\n\nThank you for writing a TripAdvisor review of Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Nigel and the Concierge Team and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel son.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
02/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear l_lilljegren,\n\nThank you for writing a review of Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience and I look forward to welcoming you back son.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
29/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear Kdf1789,\n\nThank you for leaving such a positive review of Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the Concierge Team who will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience so much. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you are in London.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
29/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear Discover18214737374,\n\nThank you for writing a review of your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. It is great to hear that you found our newly restored rooms comfortable as well as quiet and that your overall experience at the hotel met your expectations. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back son!\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
29/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear David P,\n\nThank you for writing us a review of your Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London experience. We hope to see you again son.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
28/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear Margehk,\n\nThank you for writing such a positive review of your experience at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. I am glad that you could try all of the different elements that we have to offer and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back son.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
26/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear Italian1982,\n\nThank you for writing a review of Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. I am glad to read that you liked the design of our newly restored rooms and that our standard of service met your expectations. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back son.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
25/04/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
23/04/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
21/04/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
18/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear TomToowoomba,\n\nThank you for leaving us your feedback on your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. As one of the first guests to check-in after our re-opening, your feedback is very important to us and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for being a fan of Mandarin Oriental and we look forward to welcoming you back in April 2020!\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
16/04/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear Elcollier9,\n\nThank you for writing a review of your experience as one of the first guests to stay at the newly restored Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit London.\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers\nHotel Manager.
20/03/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear Mike_Macrone,\n\nThank you for writing a review of your experience at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. I am delighted that you liked our newly restored rooms and suites and the design details that were pointed out to you. We look forward to welcoming you back after 15 April when we are fully open again!\n\nWith best regards,\n\nAndr\u00E9 Devillers \nHotel Manager.
12/12/2018
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I am a huge fan of this hotel group but there is a good reason for it. My friend and I attended the opening of the hotel bar and restaurants on the 4th December 2018. As always the MO bar was a fabulous experience with...
11/12/2018
Rated 4 out of 5 :
A taste of decadence... Never have one member of staff available if two can attend. I actually went to the Heston Blumenthal restaurant at the invitation of my daughter. She clearly earns more than I thought. One cannot fault the staff; the service; or the...
08/12/2018
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Attended a business event in one of the ball rooms and was roundly unimpressed. The refurbishment is good and everything is suitably opulent for the Knightsbridge address. However, the these steak tartar wagyu canapé in ice cream cones should have been mind blowing- it was...
06/12/2018
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I am a huge fan of this hotel group but there is a good reason for it. My friend and I attended the opening of the hotel bar and restaurants on the 4 December 2018. As always the MO bar was a fabulous experience with...
07/11/2018
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Amazing! We were taken good care of. Great ambience. Amazing service - never had to ask for replinshments. Was not made to feel rushed. Sandwiches were very tasty as were the sweet treats! Scones were perfect. Highly recommend anyone to go...I know I will be...
05/11/2018
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Huge rooms with nice little treats placed out for kids, very thoughtful. One might think that this would be a hotel that kids were not that welcome, but we really felt the contrary. Excellent breakfast, nice pool and great concierge!
04/10/2018
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I was a guest of a friend, it was outstanding. Staff, service, the suite was to die for in all aspects. Room service was the best I have ever experienced from Dubai, Saudi or Kuwait, this paradise excels.
24/09/2018
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We have lost count at how many times we have stayed here. What we have not lost count of is the impeccable service at every stage of the stay. Absolutely faultless to the smallest of details on your hotel room, to the recognition of the...
27/08/2018
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Place was decorated veey nicely. All dood was so fresh and scrumptious. so much selection..we wanted to stay dor a few days so we could try everything. Service was great..owner even came to each table and handed out her business card. Price during week was...
22/08/2018
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Recently I went with some friends to the Mandarin Bar within the beautiful Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Knightsbridge. The cocktails were most awesome and the complementary assorted exotic nuts were great for accompaniments! Finally I must say the service was amazing! This is one of...
19/08/2018
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Quick,few nights stay. First actual Mandarin Hotel,which is a surprise. Great location,obviously. Specially if you are a shopper. Hello Tracey! Ok! it was winter. But I just didn't feel the warmth. Great first impressions from the rather excellent front door staff. Love the uniforms. Almost...
25/07/2018
Rated 5 out of 5 :
This is an exceptional hotel, luxurious and very stylish, very calm and friendly atmosphere. Brilliant restaurant, great service and great food. Located front of Harvey Nic and close to Harrords, June parking is just behind the hotel, around the corner to park lane, Mayfair, Piccadilly...
09/07/2018
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Fantastic bathrooms with the state of the art equipment fitted, heated flooring etc. Large rooms, really nice heated pool and a good gym. Last but not the least excellent service with the most helpful staff.
28/06/2018
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We stayed here the weekend before the recent fire. A classic luxurious hotel in a prime central London position. Excellent gym, spa and swimming pool. Very expensive for a one night stay but worth it for a special occasion. Service was first class from every...
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: November 2006
review: We decided to stay at the Mandarin Oriental in London because we had heard good things about it.
What a disappointment.
It has a thin veneer which appears luxurious and welcoming but our experience there was no better than that we might receive at a motel, in fact it was worse.
Our room was run-down and faced onto a building site which had pneumatic drills going all day, our towels were not changed and the furniture was very badly damaged.
some of the staff were very friendly and professional but, in general, they were ignorant and rude.
We were constantly interrogated as to whether or not we were guests of the hotel if we dared to use any of the public areas and random charges were applied to use facilities that we had already paid for. Charges, I might add, that were sporadic and illogical.
Within minutes of entering the bar, just after we first arrived, we faced a public grilling from the 'security' staff. This made us decide not to use any of the facilities at the hotel if we could possibly avoid it (having already unpacked and being on a tight schedule we were unable to simply change hotels). We even went out for breakfast rather than be embarrassed by the behaviour of the hotel staff.
On our last night we decided to meet some other (more regular) guests in the bar (the hotel does not have a lounge) but were told the bar was full and we could not go in. An acceptable reason you might think but we were then told that we could go in if we paid a cover charge.
Obviously this is a new meaning of the word ?full? that I was not previously aware of.
This charge clearly did not apply to all customers so we called the manager of the hotel to complain.
He confirmed our suspicion that the charge applied to non-residents, as is common practice on busy evenings.
Having stayed in high quality hotels before, I would have expected this misunderstanding to be dealt with swiftly and discreetly. Unfortunately, we had to suffer the spectacle of a heated debate between the manager of the hotel and the bar manager and we were STIlL told that there was a cover charge.
I didn't begrudge the nominal fee they were demanding but I did begrudge the fact that the fee was applied so randomly.
I will point out that I was asked three more times if I was prepared to pay the charge, once in front of our friends who, as regular guests, seemed to be even more embarrassed than us.
I?m still at a loss as what these random charges and impertinent outbursts are designed to achieve. The hotel certainly was not making much of a profit out of them and they didn't seem to prevent anyone from entering the bar which was ?full?. If they were attempting to appear exclusive they overestimate the standard of their bar. Although the bar staff themselves were clearly hard working and conscientious, we had to wait far too Long to be served.
On each occasion that we were treated in such an appalling manner, we remained polite and composed but the staff seemed to take pleasure in resenting their guests and disregarding our concerns.
The pathetic excuses they gave us beggar belief. We have stayed in numerous luxury hotels around the world and have never before been told, ?We have to keep asking if you are guests because the wrong people can damage the reputation of the hotel?. The outrageous nature of that comment aside, I couldn?t give two hoots about the commercial interests of a hotel that I am paying ?400 a night to stay in. Apparently, guests are expected to provide free training on customer relations too. As I informed the 'security' staff on numerous occasions during our stay, ANY complaint can damage the reputation of a hotel.
I might have been able to stomach the constant suspicion if I was not staying at a hotel that uses the words ?opulent?, ?chic? and ?superb? to describe itself. The service certainly does have a ?style of its own? though.
We were bewildered by the whole experience until we discovered that several ?celebrities? were staying at the hotel while we were there.
Apparently, because my personal wealth and success is not regularly publicised in the tabloids, my custom was not worth retaining. Incredible when I consider that the amount of money we gave to their competitors was almost 3 times what we paid for the room.
But money is not the issue. It would be shallow to just bemoan the fact that I was treated badly even though I am wealthy. I make a point of never beginning a complaint with the phrase "don't you know who I am?" because that is simply not relevant. The truth is that EVERY guest should be treated with courtesy and respect no matter how often they appear on the television. The fact that I should even have to point out this basic principle of hospitality takes my breath away. The hotel's choice to make non-celebrity guests feel unwelcome was at best a commercial blunder, at worst ugly discrimination.
Needless to say we will not be staying at this poor imitation of a luxury hotel again. I only wish I had packed my bags before staying one night.

Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved