Premier Inn Southwark Tate Modern
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

Customer Reviews For The Premier Inn Southwark Tate Modern


Address: 15a Great Suffolk Street, London, SE1 0NZ
This hotel has averaged a score of 4.4 out of 5 by 2411 past guests
>>>Booking.com (average customer rating 4.2 out of 5 from 174 reviews)
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 295 of 1129 for Hotels in London and rated 4.5 out of 5 from 2206 reviews)

16/09/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
My stay was perfect. Check in was a Breeze with prior internet check in. Room was very clean, bed comfortable, and the service was excellent. Overall a very good experience. Will definitely choose this hotel again.
15/09/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Excellent location and great value for money. Room was on 4th floor - clean and very quiet. Very comfortable mattress gave me a great night's sleep. Staff were lovely and helpful. Will definitly use again.
11/09/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
We had tickets for the Shard so Bose here for its closeness to both Waterloo & the Shard. Did not disappoint, clean & quiet room with very helpful team who were always happy to help or answer questions.
10/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
04/09/2019
Rated 4.8 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
26/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
The rooms were very clean & comfortable. staff were friendly and happy to help, Breakfast was very good. Short walking distance to the underground, restaurants & pubs. Family friendly. we would definitely stay there again next time we are in london.
24/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Excellently located. Would stay again. Bed was a uncomfortable in our room, but having stayed in other premier inns I know this is unusual. \nBreakfast was excellent value, especially being in the heart of London.
23/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Perfectly located for a wedding I was attending. It's location meant I stayed an extra night to enjoy the Tate Modern, the river and other sights. Nice London pubs dotted all around too. \nReally comfortable bed, very clean room and helpful staff. \nI've often stayed Travelodge but this is worth a few extra pennies as the bed was really comfortable and the room, albeit small, had everything I needed.
22/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
A hotel with good value for money. It's very well located, just five minutes from the subway although you can also visit many sites on foot. Highly recommended for a visit to London. We would definitely repeat.
20/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Great location. Close to Tower Bridge, houses of Parliament, London eye. Friendly staff, great bed and a fantastic breakfast. Only criticism is there isn't any parking, that lets it down. But didn't let this put us off.
19/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
We are fairly regular users of Premier Inn Hotels due to their consistent level of accommodation. However on this occasion, standards of cleanliness were lacking with food debris and packets of food form previously guests on floor and under beds on arrival.\nHowever, of greater concern was the unsafe child\u2019s bed provided with a metal shard protruding from bed frame. Whilst cleaning up the aforementioned food debris under the bed, I incurred a sizeable laceration to my arm. Despite this being witnessed by hotel staff and reported, no measures were taken to make the room safe and I was left to make a temporary fix with sticking tape and plastic bags to ensure my children did not inadvertently harm themselves.\nI did expect a prompt response following my formal complaint on my return but it appears not.\nVery disappointing Premier Inn and I hope as I suggested on check out this bed has been removed from the hotel.\nHowever, front of house staff very friendly and hotel in good location.
19/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Great location for Borough Market, the Shard, the Tate Modern. Location is quiet so if you are looking for a drink after an evening out then this is not the place to be, local bars and pubs were closing at 10.30-11.00.\nHotel was usual good standard for Premier Inn. Our bed felt a bit old an creaky though.
16/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
\nStandard Premier Inn layout, the room was clean, functional and quite large for Central London \nThe room Included a TV, kettle with tea and coffee, and a hairdryer \nPlenty of storage space for a short trip but maybe more difficult with larger cases.\nThe bathroom was clean with a shower over the bath. some toiletries provided.\nWe were quite lucky to have a view of the Shard from our 7th floor room.\nBreakfast was good and reasonably priced two options were available traditional and continental and you served yourself.\nThe staff were courteous always helpful and very friendly.\nIn my view this hotel is ideally situated, good value for its position and I couldn\u2019t really fault it at the price, would I stay again? Yes definitely.
14/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Easy access from Waterloo by foot, right next door to Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. We were able to explore the food an art of Bermondsey on foot and it was well worth doing. Loads to do on the south Bank and easy walk into the West End.
13/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Great location with a group of very kind staff. Rooms were clean and the food was well cooked and present well. We\u2019ll use this Location again as it\u2019s close to the Southbank, lots of option for tube stations.
13/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
As a family we were so happy with the service and hospitality while we stayed at the Southwark premier inn ( tate modern) from start to finish they were so helpful and attentive, we particularly would like to mention Christina, Angela, from the restaurant marcel, and jamal from the reception and also the deputy manager we don't recall his name they really do work so hard and we would like to give them the recognition they deserve, \nThis hotel is definitely worth staying in if you want to enjoy the sights of London and everything is basically walking distance the London eye is a 30 minutes walk along the Thames, the shakesphere globe is 10 minutes walk and Covent garden 30 min,\nThe food in restaurant is definitely worth and it isn't pricey either for a family of 6 on a average we spent 70.00 a night that was with drinks too \nso definitely book here it is a lovely and comfortable place to stay and we will definitely be returning x.
08/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Amazing rates at the heart of the city by Tate Modern and the Thames. The neighbourhood is funky enough yet child friendly and never crowded. Tesco and Sainsbury's downstairs. Great restaurants around the corner. Very convenient location. Love it.
08/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I love this hotel and would have given it full marks but for the fact that several of the staff were seen sat on the windowsill outside smoking in uniform. I hate to see this as a customer.\nOther than that I can\u2019t fault the place, rooms are large enough for a couple of nights stay and from the top flooryou do get a view, we had the Shard. \nIt\u2019s right in the middle of everything and only a short walk to most places for the tourist. \nStaff are polite and know what\u2019s happening and how to get to the attractions. \nWould I stay again? Defiantly.
07/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
well, Jb is on the move, trip to the \
07/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
This is a clean and efficiently run budget hotel in an amazing location tucked behind the Tate Modern and within a stone\u2019s throw of all London\u2019s Southbank has to offer, we had a relaxing and fun filled stay. The staff team are friendly and helpful, you just had to ask, it really made our family stay enjoyable.
06/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
The place is very good and the service is quick and efficient Although not very enthusiastic. Kids menu was good also. The environment is pleasant and the surroundings are stylish. Toilets were very clean even during rush hour.
05/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Hi Pablo\n\nThanks for taking the time to share your review.\n\nIt's a shame to hear the cleanliness was not up to our usual standards and the hotel/restaurant appears to be understaffed.\n\nI've raised your comments with the Hotel Management so they can follow this up internally, they'll check their staffing levels and also see what can be done to improve on your experience.\n\nWe hope you'll give us another chance in future for a much better stay.\n\nKind Regards\n\nAmy.
05/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Stayed for two nights in early August. Exceptionally first class apart from no WiFi available in upper floor room. Everything else was fine. Close to Sainsbury\u2019s and Tesco for snacks. Highly recommend the pub opposite for wonderful food and drinks at very reasonable prices. Thoroughly recommend The White Hart.
02/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Fantastic hotel, very clean and lovely sized rooms. comfortable beds and stunning view of the shard from our room! Buffet breakfast was always topped up and always hot. Quick and friendly service from staff as well.
31/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
A wonderful location Near the Tate Modern and the Embankment Close to Tube station Very quiet and comfortable rooms Breakfast was great, good choice and well cooked Professional friendly staff.I would stay here again.
31/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I recommend this hotel for its central position and for a holiday with children. The breakfast is super. The staff was very kind, especially Angela, one of the waitresses, and David, the manager. Thank you.
30/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
This was our third stay at this hotel as the location is fantastic. You can walk to so many areas and there are great restaurants and bars in the vicinity.\nJust a few niggles this time, which was a shame... The room was very warm, I know it was hot in London, but the air conditioning was not up to the job which made sleep difficult...\nAnd when there are three people in a family room...why are there only two cups, two glasses and worse of all two bath towels?? Had to chase for more towels...every day we got a different amount...no hand towels from middle of the week....The WiFi is dreadful, and not enough staff in the bar or reception.\nso, just little niggles, we would stay here again for the location, but if they could get these bits right it would be perfect.
29/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Fantastic location \n\nI booked this hotel for one night with a friend. \n\nThis premier inn is in a fantastic location the room was clean and breakfast was really good value for money. I highly recommend this hotel.
29/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
The hotel is fine, a good standard as with all Premier Inns. It was let down by staff who were disinterested and lacked any motivation to deal with the fact that our room was not made up for a family room. Only one set of towels, the bed not made up and not enough mugs etc. It did get addressed, but with no signs of concern or any apology.
29/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
rooms are clean, well equipped, nothing fancy but good for a city trip\ngood price, especially with children\nlots of restaurants and shopping facilities nearby,\nonly a few minutes walk to the underground.
26/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Because of the close proximity of a number of premiers we were taken to where we thought was our hotel as per the premier website but it turns out that we were at another premier and this detail was not available to us.
25/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Stayed here for two nights, this hotel is in a great location. Rooms are a really good size, staff were really friendly and helpful, would recommend a stay at this hotel. (Didn\u2019t have breakfast though!).
22/07/2019
Rated 4.2 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
22/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
The room was I decent size for a budget hotel in London. However, in our room the carpet was dirty, and there were an inadequate number of towels for two people in the bathroom and extra arrived 4 hours after requesting more. I am sure there used to be some sort of armchair and a small table in these rooms when I have stayed in years past, but now they is only a hard upright chair or the bed top sit on, there was certainly enough space for more. It was a warm day and the window was locked shut and the handles removed, this wouldn't matter too much if the air conditioning worked, but it was set at 19 and couldn't be budged down, or up for that matter; so we spent a very uncomfortable night in a too hot, stuffy room. On arrival the check-in machines needed the skilled hand of the 'receptionist' to make them work, so why not just have a receptionist? The lift worked on swiping the room keycard and pressing the button - sometimes, but it seemed to have a mind of its own. Guests were actually guessing if it would work first time! \nI know for London this is not an expensive hotel by any standard but surely it could be kept in better working order and cleaned more thoroughly. Would I stay there again? No, although it is very convenient for the Southbank, The Tate Modern, The Globe Theatre, The Old Vic. I would rather pay a bit more and get better service and quality.
17/07/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
27/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Great location - close to some great restaurants and places to visit, yet the hotel was tucked away on a quiet street so there was no noise. Comfortable room, very clean and good value. We would definitely return here.
23/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
The hotel is within walking distance of Southwark Underground station and was easy to find with the help of Google Maps on my phone. The hotel is clean, modern and in a quiet street. There are plenty of shops, bars and coffee shops in the area. I would stay at this hotel again.
22/05/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Staff excellent. Location perfect for what we wanted. Good size room with big television and a bath with shower over (there are many Premier Inns in London that only have showers now). We were on the top floor (8) and didn't hear any planes overhead or noise at all. Handy having 3 convenience stores so close by. Good places nearby for breakfast if you don't want theirs (Carlo's Kitchen on Union Street was lovely)
20/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Booked in, very straight forward, but unwell so had to leave before the stay, everything seemed clean, tidy and the receptionist seemed polite. Good location. Can not comment on anything else. Will return.
17/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Chose this hotel as not far from the jubilee line - we were going to an event at the o2. Staff very friendly, nice clean rooms and a good breakfast. We stayed midweek so it was fairly quiet but the hotel met all our expectations!
15/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Often stay at this Premier Inn; one think I like is the on-site restaurant that\u2019s not a pub where you have to fight for a table and service. However, last night (14th May) I order a small bottle of Prosecco to have with my meal only to be told they were out of Prosecco. I then ordered the Katsu Chicken curry - oh and guess what - they didn\u2019t have that in either. I asked them to perhaps tell me what they did have. I was really disappointed. Apart from that, the rooms were good (I like the fact that they still have baths), the staff were friendly too. Slept well and enjoyed the breakfast as usual. Pity about the let down with the evening meal though.
14/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Great hotel, great position on the Southbank, no noise, very comfortable, clean and good breakfast too. \n It's not a 5 star hotel but has everything you need for a short stay and the service is great, anything you need you just ask and it's given.
08/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
A great hotel however if you are a light sleeper you will hear a lot of noise especially from the planes as the hotel is under the flight path. The first morning breakfast was ok but the bacon was over cooked and inedible. 2nd morning breakfast was much better but a lot busier due to it being the morning after the London Marathon so there was a wait for food to be cooked fresh. Evening meal service was quite slow as there seemed to be only 1 person serving meals and covering the bar. Hotel much closer to the embankment that we first thought so easy walking tolls to central London if need be or the tube is a short walk away. Free parking outside the hotel after 12.30 on Saturday until 0800 on Monday which saved us a lot of money as they do not have their own car park. Have booked again for next year.
07/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Very enjoyable stay room was clean and well maintained everything worked (hairdryer was not quite up to 3 girls in a row) all facilities where plentiful. Breakfast was great, ask on arrival if anything was required for example poached or boiled eggs and how you preferred them.
07/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I stayed at the Premier Inn Southwark (Tate Modern) for 5 nights with my 12-year old daughter! The hotel was clean and on a relatively quiet street. What a perfect location - literally steps away from the Tate Gallery and countless restaurants and pubs overlooking the Thames! It was really nice to pop out for a walk in the evening along the bustling waterfront and with a Sainsbury's Local and Tesco Express literally next door an affordable snack/bottle of wine was never far away! Borough Market and London Bridge only 10-15 minute walk! For Longer journeys, the Underground is just around the corner (3-4 minute walk)! All this for a really affordable price! I am staying again in June! What a perfect find!
30/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Great location, 5 minutes walk to Southwark underground station. Tesco/Sainsbury/Costa in same street. Room consisted of double and 2 singles, bit on the small side but ok for a short stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Luggage room available before check in/after check out. Quiet location. Would definitely stay again if good price. (Paid \u00A340 for 4 of us, room only, Easter Sunday.)
29/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Hi there\n\nThanks for taking the time to share your review.\n\nWe're pleased to hear you found the team to be friendly and liked the location, however it's a shame to see you found the room to be too hot and noisy which affected your sleep.\n\nI've raised your comments with the Hotel Management so they can ensure their Maintenance Team have been called out to investigate and rectify any issues to hopefully avoid your experience being repeated.\n\nWe hope you'll give us another chance in future for a much better stay.\n\nKind Regards\n\nAmy.
28/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Super hotel five minutes from subway and will store luggage, nothing to much trouble, highly recommend. \nEven when my child with autism went awol in hotel they located him within minutes without fuss. Starbucks and Sainsbury\u2019s on site with Tate across road.
28/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We came to London for the London marathon ; however our trip was partially ruined by this low quality hotel. Firstly, our kettle was unable to work and we only had it replaced late in the evening after asking. As well as this, we were kept awake by shouting and screaming and taking from another room when you have telling residents to be silent in the hours between 10 and 7 ; as a result, we shan\u2019t be coming back until the premier inn has improved and evolved.
27/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
travelled with family to see London. Very basic hotel but very central and easy to get to everywhere we wanted to. some good restaurants and pubs nearby. Breakfast was good, something for everyone. Staff were very friendly.
24/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Walking distance to attractions\nStaff very nice\nBreakfast excellent\nTrains and underground near by\nStaff very helpful\nthe only thing I did not like, there was no safe in the room.\nOverall excellence place to stay\n.
22/04/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Great location (Close to public transport and very close to the river, promoting pleasant walks).\nImpeccable service (Staff very available to help, extremely professional and fun).\nI would definitely recommend it!
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 
Date stayed:
review:
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved