Royal National Hotel
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

Customer Reviews For The Royal National Hotel


Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London, England, UK, WC1H ODG
This hotel has averaged a score of 3 out of 5 by 9911 past guests
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 910 of 1129 for Hotels in London and rated 3 out of 5 from 9933 reviews)

22/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Guest,\n\nThank you for taking the time to post a review about our Royal National Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay at our hotel and felt that our overall service had exceeded your expectations!\n\nWe have certainly enjoyed having you as one of our guests at the Royal National Hotel and look forward to welcome you back again soon.\n\nWith kindest regards,\nGuest Relations Officer\n
20/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Guest,\n\nThank you for your wonderful review regarding our Royal National Hotel. We are extremely pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and found our overall service to be worth 5-stars! Your comments go a long way in motivating our teams so once again, thank you for taking the time to recognise all our teams. We will be sure to share this with all our teams at the hotel, to ensure they rightfully receive the praise that they deserve.\n\nWe thank you for recommending our Royal National Hotel and hope to welcome you back very soon.\n\nWith kindest regards,\nGuest Relations Officer\n
18/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Guest,\n\nThank you for posting an excellent review about our Royal National Hotel. We are delighted to hear that our manager was able to provide outstanding service, making you feel instantly welcomed upon your arrival. It is great that you enjoyed our new City Sleeper rooms and found them to be cleaned throughout your stay. We will certainly share your kind comments with all our teams to ensure that the best standards are achieved for all guests.\n\nWe have truly enjoyed having you as one of our guests at the Royal National Hotel and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit. \n\nWith kindest regards,\nGuest Relations Officer
16/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Attended the hotel as a guest for a very important ball\nHotel was lovely and accommodating but my was it hot\nThe suite where the call was held in the north tower was boiling and the 350 people inside were all using the menus as fans!\nBooked a city sleeper room which were newer and modern but even they did not have AC\nNice enough hotel but would not book again as it was simply too hot\nHotels in London NEED to have AC
16/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Stayed here three nights on a football trip to England. The most positive with the hotel is the location, and the beds that seemed to be clean. The less good was the English breakfast - overcrowded area with always lack of something like fried eggs. Worst was the room - not the room in itself that was big enough - and of course noisy with heavy traffic outside. The worst was the bathroom, with no shampoo - but a lot of mould in the roof and tiles. This is nor hygienic, healthy or acceptable for a hotel.
12/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I stayed in this hotel for one night.Good things about it are the price and location near tube station and Euston train station.The rooms need renovation as the carpets and tiles even the heating radiator are very very old.The kettle in the room did not work.The wifi signal was so weak I could not get any wifi while I stayed.The breakfast restaurant is so crowded you need to go before 8 am.I think this hotel has many customers so the service you get is not the best,but it is cheap.If you dont like crowded hotels, this is exactly that,very crowded.Also room 5037 you can hear any noise in the street as windows do not have double glazing
10/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Guest,\n\nThank you for posting a great review about our Royal National Hotel.\n\nWe are extremely pleased that you had the opportunity to stay in our new City Sleeper rooms and found our hotel to be convenient for your visit. We are also happy to hear that our teams were able to provide you with great hospitality service throughout your stay. Your compliments will certainly be shared with all our teams, to ensure their work is greatly recognised.\n\nThank you for staying at the Royal National Hotel and we hope that you will consider us for your next trip to London.\n\nWith kindest regards,\nGuest Relations Officer
08/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Guest, \n\nThank you for kindly taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at our Royal National Hotel.\n\nWe are delighted to hear that our location was convenient for your stay in London and found our facilities to be useful throughout your visit. However, we are sorry to hear of your experience during breakfast and felt that our staff came across as dismissive. Guest service is of paramount importance to us and always strive to provide a welcoming service to all our guests at the hotel. We sincerely apologise for any lapse in our usual standard of service. Your feedback has been forwarded to our Catering team, to ensure extra training is provided and that standards are maintained for all guests. \n\nIf you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk.\n\nWe hope to have the pleasure again in welcoming you back to our Royal National Hotel soon.\n\nWith best regards, \nGuest Relations Officer
06/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
This is by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The beds and pillows are uncomfortable at best, back breaking at worst. Outside there is a club the blasts bass beats until 2.30am that we can hear from at least a block away. Windows only open an inch so the room becomes stifling hot (no air conditioning). I wish the window opened more if only so I could throw myself out of it and end this misery.
04/09/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I found the National to be run very professionally, there are bars and restaurants on site which serve good food at reasonable prices and a good range of drinks, the hotel is clean but no air conditioning, the decor could do with an update, breakfast was the worst I have ever had in a hotel, didn't bother the second day. Would stay here again, felt safe and welcoming.
01/09/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our Royal National Hotel. \n\nWe are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your entire stay with us and apologise if we did not reach your expectations on this occasion. All our rooms are fully serviced in line with our procedures, before being entered back into the system for check-in. Our Housekeeping Team are available from 8am to 10pm and would have been happy to assist with any concerns you may have had with the room, at the time of your stay. We have immediately reiterated the importance of ensuring that all our Room Attendants are extra vigilant when cleaning the rooms and apologise for any lapse in our usual standard of cleanliness. \n\nEqually, guest service is always of paramount importance to us. We always strive to provide the best hospitality service and go the extra mile for our guests. However, we are disappointed to hear of the service that you had experienced during your stay. Please rest assured we have addressed this with the team to ensure we improve on this and that all our teams provide a welcoming service to all guests. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused.\n\nIf you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk.\n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
30/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at our Royal National Hotel. \n\nWe are extremely pleased to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and found our location to be useful for your travels around London. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to recognise our teams for their excellent hospitality service that you had received throughout your stay. Your comments will be shared with all our teams to ensure that the best standards are met for all our guests. \n\nWe have truly enjoyed having you as one of our guests at the Royal National Hotel and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
27/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Walked in and the restaurant smells like rotten fish, found dirt in the glasses, not been washed properly, same as the cutlery, ordered steak and they didn\u2019t ask how we could like it cooked, ordered drinks the same time as the food and still haven\u2019t received the drinks 25 minutes later... after asking...food came eventually and we ordered garlic broccoli and it was supposed to be hot and it was stone cold with no garlic sauce.. and ordered mushrooms on toast that was yet again stone cold mushrooms on hard stale bread... food is so overpriced for the portion sizes, and is incredibly greasy. Found a hair in my spaghetti that was lukewarm to son see the chef walk out with no hair net on even though he has semi mid Long hair... would not return again and would not recommend.
26/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for taking your time to give us your feedback regarding our Royal National Hotel. \n\nOur hotel values hospitality service and always want our guests to have a comfortable stay. However, we are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All our rooms are fully serviced in line with our procedures, before being entered back into the system for check-in. Our Housekeeping Team are available from 8am to 10pm and would have been happy to assist with any concerns you may have had with the room, at the time of your stay. We have immediately reiterated the importance of ensuring that all our Room Attendants are extra vigilant when cleaning the rooms and sincerely apologise for any lapse in our usual standard of cleanliness. Equally, Our English breakfast buffet is generally praised by our guests, so we apologise if you did not enjoy it on this occasion. We have passed your feedback onto our Chef and Purchasing Department to review their current selections and modify when necessary. \n\nIf you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk.\n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards,\nGuest Relations Officer.
26/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our Royal National Hotel. \n\nWe are sorry to hear of your experience and are disappointed that we had not reached your expectations in our area of service. All our rates when booked directly on our website includes a full English breakfast buffet which is freshly prepared and cooked by our Chefs. Our breakfast is generally praised by our guests, so we apologise if you did not enjoy it on this occasion. We have passed your feedback onto our Catering team, to ensure that all food is served at the appropriate temperature for all guests. Equally, our Catering team do try their very best to serve each guest as efficiently as possible, according to their request at the time. We sincerely apologise if you felt that our staff came across as dismissive during your visit. Extra training will be provided to ensure standards are maintained and that our staff always provide a welcoming service for all guests.\n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further. \n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards,\nGuest Relations Officer.
23/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our Royal National Hotel. \n\nWe are sorry to hear of your experience and are disappointed that we had not reached your expectations in our area of service. We apologise if you found the room to be particularly hot during your visit. We did experience a very unusual heatwave in London which does not happen yearly. As stated on our direct website, we do not have any air conditioning in any of our hotel bedrooms. However, fans are available from our Housekeeping office on request, subject to availability. These can be obtained for a refundable deposit. We apologise if you were unaware of this at the time.\n\nOur hotel has recently refurbished several rooms at our Royal National Hotel, called the City Sleeper Rooms. Please refer to our direct website for more details. \nWe value your feedback as we always want to continually improve our hospitality services for our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further. \n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards,\nGuest Relations Officer.
21/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for giving our Royal National Hotel a fantastic rating of five-stars! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Hospitality service is of great importance to us and so we are extremely delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. \n\nWe thank you for recommending our hotel and hope to welcome you back on your next visit.\n\nKind regards,\nGuest Relations Officer\n.
21/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Royal National Hotel.\n\nWe are disappointed to hear of your experience and feel that a two-star rating reflects your visit. Our hotel is ideally located in the centre of London, which can be associated with a certain level of noise. Our guests are not normally affected by this and we apologise for any disturbance caused. Our Concierge Team are available 24 hours and would have been happy to assist you with any concerns you may have had during your stay, including any noise within our hotel. Your feedback has been forwarded onto our Head Night Porter to ensure our Concierge Team are constantly monitoring all areas of the hotel. \n\nEqually, all our rooms are fully serviced in line with our procedures, before being entered back into the system for check-in. Our Housekeeping Team are available from 8am to 10pm and would have been happy to assist with any concerns you may have had with the room, at the time of your stay. We have immediately reiterated the importance of ensuring that all our Room Attendants are extra vigilant when cleaning the rooms. We sincerely apologise for any lapse in our usual standard of cleanliness. \n\nIn addition, we apologise if you found the room to be too hot during your visit, as we did experience a very unusual heatwave in London which does not happen yearly. As stated on our direct website, we do not have any air conditioning in any of our hotel bedrooms. However, fans are available from our Housekeeping office on request, subject to availability. These can be obtained for a refundable deposit. We apologise if you were unaware of this at the time of your stay.\n\nIf you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk. \n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards,\nGuest Relations Officer.
17/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for posting a review about our Royal National Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as hospitality service is of paramount importance to us and always want each guest to feel comfortable and welcomed throughout their stay. \n\nWe are disappointed to hear of your experience and feel that a one-star rating reflects your visit. Our hotel has a strict policy in place for lost items. Wardrobes are only checked after guests have departed the hotel and anything left in the room after check-out, is placed in our lost property, which is then returned safely to our guests. We apologise again for the inconvenience this may have caused and for any lapse in our usual standard of service. Please rest assured we have addressed this with our team to ensure that all lost items are immediately reported to our Head of Housekeeping. \n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk and we will endeavour to investigate your comments further.\n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards,\nGuest Relations Officer.
14/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Royal National Hotel. \n\nWe are disappointed that you did not enjoy your entire stay with us and are sorry to hear of your experience at our hotel. All our rooms are fully serviced in line with our procedures, before being entered back into the system for check-in. It is great to hear that our Housekeeping Team were able to assist you according to your requests at the time of your stay. However, please rest assured we have addressed this with our team to ensure that we are extra vigilant when cleaning the rooms. We apologise for any lapse in our usual standard of cleanliness.\n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further. \n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
14/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you writing a review about our Royal National Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as hospitality service is of paramount importance to us and always want each guest to feel comfortable and welcomed throughout their stay. \n\nWe are glad that our hotel was convenient for you stay in London, especially as we are so centrally located in Russell Square, close to public transport. We are also glad to hear that our breakfast provided you with a good start to the day, offering plenty of choices to choose from. It was also nice of you to mention our hospitality teams for their professional service. Your feedback goes a Long way in motivating and encouraging the team, so once again thank you for taking the time to write this review.\n\nThank you for choosing our Royal National Hotel and we hope to have the pleasure again to welcome you back son.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer\n.
12/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Rude, patronising, and unprofessional staff who do nothing out of their way to make you feel valued as a customer. From the moment we were checked in we were \
07/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for posting a review about our Royal National Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as hospitality service is of paramount importance to us and always want each guest to feel comfortable and welcomed throughout their stay. \n\nWe are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and feel that a one-star rating represents your experience. All our rooms are fully serviced in line with our procedures, before being entered back into the system for check-in. Our Housekeeping Team are available from 8am to 10pm and would have been happy to assist with any concerns you may have had with the room, including requests for extra toiletries, at the time of your stay. We have immediately reiterated the importance of ensuring that all our Room Attendants are extra vigilant when cleaning the rooms and apologise for any lapse in our usual standard of cleanliness.\n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further. \n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
06/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to hear of your pleasant stay. It was also nice of you to mention our staff for their excellent hospitality service. We will be sure to forward your comments to our team, to ensure they receive the praise that they deserve.\n\nWe thank you for staying at our hotel and hope to welcome you back in the future. \n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer\n.
03/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
First we were really sad because we booked a double room but got a twin room. They said it was not\u2018t able to change the room so we have to stay there. No exuses or anything. \nThe breakfast was awful. Just Toast and some English dishes. \nOn our last night we found a cockroach on the korridor of the third floor. We called the reception and they excused for it but forwarded us to the housekeeping that we have to tell them. But normally it would be our duty to this. The reception should handle this. The housekeeping didn\u2018t accept the call and never call back. \nNever again!!
01/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for taking the time to give our Royal National Hotel a wonderful rating of 5-stars! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Our breakfast is generally praised by our guests, especially as our full English breakfast provides a variety of hot food for our guests. Equally, we are glad that you appreciated our location and our overall hospitality service throughout your stay. We will be sure to share your comments with our teams to ensure that the best standards are met for all guests.\n\nWe thank you for recommending our Royal National Hotel and look forward to welcome you back son.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer\n.
31/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for taking your time to give us your feedback regarding our Royal National Hotel. \n\nWe are delighted to hear of your experience and appreciate your comments regarding our clean rooms and central location. It is great that our Reception team were able to check you in and out of our hotel as promptly as possible, making your ultimate stay much more comfortable. We will be sure to share your compliments with all our teams at the hotel, to ensure they receive the praise that they deserve.\n\nWe thank you for choosing to stay at our Royal National Hotel and we hope to welcome you back son\n\nKind regards,\nGuest Relations Officer\n\n.
27/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for your review regarding our services at Royal National Hotel. \n\nWe are extremely pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and exceeded your expectations. It is great to hear that our staff provided a friendly and welcoming service throughout your stay with us. We will be sure to forward your feedback to our member of staff to ensure he receives the praise that he deserves.\n\nWe have truly enjoyed having you as one of our guests at the Royal National Hotel and look forward to welcome you back upon your return. \n\nKind regards,\nGuest Relations Officer\n.
26/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
My husband just returned yesterday from a 4 day trip. We were only supposed to stay for 3 nights but because of the hot weather we were advised not to travel as they were cutting down the number of people allowed to travel on trains. Our room was very clean, beds comfortable (perhaps a little dated but the location was so good it did not bother us) close to tube station, taxi rank across the road and a short walk to shops, restaurants and bars ect... Breakfast was lovely, great start to the day. Choice of cereal, fruit juices and a full breakfast. Special thanks to Denada who on the front reception who was always smiling and willing to help. (She is a great asset to your company) Found a few other staff members not so friendly but didn\u2019t let it bother us... perfect base for a weekend away. (Although in this heat the hotel doesn\u2019t have air con, but you can hire one from housekeeping office for \u00A310 and refundable on return. I would defiantly return here again and recommend to friends for a short break.
25/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
There is no worst hotel than this. First of all no fans are available and if they are they will charge you for one. The people that work here are arrogant and don't know how to treat their clients. \n\nIn this hotel no one will help you, you cant even stay in the common area, rooms are small that luggage doesn't even fit, the location is horrible and they definitely have the worst service in town. don't recommend it to anyone.
25/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Stayed 3 night. Easy to find and close to bus stops, underground and train stations. Reception large and very pleasant and helpful staff. Good free WIFI. Breakfast\u00A0 good choice of hot and cold foods, but food only warm. Choice of bacon sausages eggs, fresh fruit, toast and juice and coffee. Room is spacious clean and modern. TV, safe, and 2\u00A0 comfortable twin beds clean. Bathroom clean, modern and toiletries. \u00A0Bag storage for 50p bag. Would recommend and would stay again.
21/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
I stayed with my wife for 3 nights 13-16 july\nI have stayed in sleepers room many times but my last stay I was very dessapointed. 1st of all the quolity of the breakfast was very low co oared with my previus stays. 2nd on my 2nd day of stay when the maid cleaned my room she forgot to put towels sanitary, and refills for coffee and tea. When I went down on the reception to informed about that the receptionist send ME to the house keepers office to collect towels sanitary refills for coffee e and tea instead of,sending one of the maids. I was very dessappionted with the whole situation in such a way I will think twice in my next visit to stay at royal national.
20/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear jlynnpeter4,\n\nThank you for taking the time to leave a review.\n\nAn extensive internal investigation has been conducted which strongly indicate that the alleged theft was not caused by a member of our staff.\n\nAs you quite rightly point out, the police are carrying out their own investigation with our complete cooperation and we are awaiting a response from them.\n\nIn the meantime, I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly at pmooney@imperialhotels.co.uk so we can keep you updated on the police investigation and help with anything further.\n\nOur commitment to the safety of our guests is of paramount importance and we will do all we can to try to ensure this does not happen again.\n\nI wait to hear from you so we can discuss this matter further.\n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nPatrick Mooney \nChief Operating Officer\n\n.
20/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
We stayed here as part of a superbreaks hotel package. Was a bit hesitant from reading reviews but thought we would give it a go. \n\n2 minute walk from Russell square station and very easy to find. \n\nOn arrival we were told we had been upgraded to the easy sleeper part of the hotel. We were EXTREMElY impressed and absolutely loved our room. was not noisy at all very clean and lovely TV at the bottom of the bed. \n\nlovely friendly staff and had somewhere to store our luggage on check out day until we needed to catch the train - only 50p per item! \n\nOnly downside to the hotel was the lack of air con in the room and breakfast was chaotic and basic. \n\nWould definitely stay here again and recommend \uD83D\uDE00\u2B50\uFE0F\u2B50\uFE0F\u2B50\uFE0F\u2B50\uFE0F.
16/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for taking your time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our Royal National Hotel. It is great to hear that you had enjoyed our clean rooms and found our location to be convenient for your stay in London.\n\nAlthough, we are disappointed to note that you found our beds to be uncomfortable and apologise for the inconvenience. The hotel buys good quality mattresses to ensure the comfort for all our guests. many of our guests generally find our beds extremely comfortable as our mattresses are regularly checked and changed. Following from your report, we have asked our Head Housekeeper to carry out a full audit check of the beds and to replace them if necessary. \nEqually, we apologise if you found the room to be too hot during your visit. We did experience a very unusual heatwave in London which does not happen yearly. As stated on our direct website, we do not advertise as have any air conditioning in any of our hotel bedrooms. However, fans are available from our Housekeeping office on request, subject to availability. These can be obtained for a refundable deposit. We apologise if you were unaware of this at the time.\n\nIf you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk.\n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards,\nGuest Relations Officer\n.
16/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Handy for Kings Cross,St Pancras,Euston and Bloomsbury Bike and luggage storage facilities.Big school groups dominate peak time breakfast but earlier or later,no problems Staff do really well to cope.\u00A3100 a night in Central London is good value,that\u2019s what it is,not a luxury 5 star Only complaint is,as has been mentioned numerous times,is kids making noise in the courtyard at 4 in the morning Management really need to get a grip on this.Not acceptable.Loud,frequent,uncontrolled.
12/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Had two neighbouring rooms with two beds in each. Great size of rooms and bathroom. Astonishing to see how many rooms were in the hotel itself! \n\nFriendly staff and very accommodating; we were able to leave our bags at the hotel for free until our check in time, and staff booked a taxi for us and assisted us when it arrived. \n\nPlenty of variety at breakfast and very nice staff at hand. Tables were cleared as son as they were vacated so we never encountered a wait for breakfast.\n\nOn site and nearby restaurants and bars were good. \n\nGood location for public transport and sightseeing buses. Close to a nice park.\n\nWifi was available and worked. No air conditioning, but not disappointed since it is not advertised and we were there for an uncommonly warm day. Simply opening the windows and curtains allowed a breeze through the room.\n\nTea making facilities available in the room and replenished daily. Plenty of toiletries and towels, replenished when needed.\n\nTV worked well and had lots of channels. \n\nGood value for money. Happy with our stay.
12/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
We had a group of 24 staying at the Royal National. This is a tourist hotel with lots of groups coming and going everyday. Continental breakfast was good. Cereal, toast, fruit, coffee, tea and milk. Hot breakfast available if you care to pay. My students liked the pizza at Bloom's café. I liked their baked goods. Great location with Brunswick shopping centre, tube stop and Russell Square Gardens less than 3 minutes walk.
11/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Positives: Great location, near shops, less than a 5 minute walk to Russell Square Train Station, about a 25 minute walk to St Pauls Cathedral, the Hop on Hop off Bus stop is right out the front and a great pub right next to the hotel. Breakfast was included & same thing everyday is offered which consists of cereal, toast, eggs, bacon, hash browns, tea & coffee. 2 breakfast locations is ideal for a busy hotel. I recommend the south Building as it is quieter & just nicer furniture. Rooms are clean. \n\nNegatives: Lots of large tour groups use this hotel & can be very noisy & busy especially at check in & out times, blocking the entrances with their suitcases which I feel is a fire & tripping hazard. \nNo air conditioning in the rooms, no shampoo, conditioner provided. They do provide soap. No bar fridges in the room. Beds were very hard & I had a sore back every morning. Rooms are very small & if you get a room facing the main road or facing the main court yard where the coaches pull in, don\u2019t expect it to be quiet.
10/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
I booked this through a superbreak package along with train travel including the hotel and a theatre ticket, it was the cheapest way of arranging 3 days in London on a budget. \nI had very low expectations as I stayed here once before about 10 years ago, so this time I was quite pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms had been refurbished and we had a relatively modern clean room. That was certainly not my experience 10 years ago!\n\nHowever, it is very much a budget hotel. Don't expect any frills. The room was fine,with a relatively modern bathroom in a well decorated corridor. Apparently we were intercity sleeper room, which appeared to be an upgrade.\n\nThe public area in the middle of the hotel is complete chaos both night and day. There was a constant stream of European teenagers coming and going, no respect for quietness at 4 in the morning when they were departing, which kept us awake on two nights.\n\nBreakfast is a free-for-all with the breakfast items not being replenished fast enough for demand. There is also a charge to leave luggage, something I've never come across at any other Hotel before.
10/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
We stayed at the National as it was close to whe area of London we wanted to be in, booked by our travel agent. It was full of tourists coming and going all day.A Hugh hotel. In the nearly every time we went to our room during the day there was laundry laying in the passageways that had to be negotiated and one of the older domestics staff seemed to be arguing with other staff in the passage ways. Definitely would not recommend for people to stay here.
05/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed staying in our new City Sleeper Rooms and are glad that you liked our d\u00E9cor. \n\nHowever, we are disappointed to hear that you had encountered problems during your stay. Our hotel has a strict policy in place to ensure our guests are not disturbed. We have spoken to our Head of Housekeeping and our Room Attendants to ensure that this policy is maintained. The importance of this policy has been reiterated to our team, ensuring that they knock and wait for a response before entering any room. We apologise for any lapse in our usual standard of service. In addition, we do provide toilets for men and women on the ground floor and apologise if they were out of service at the time. In addition, we have ample amount of public facilities on the ground floor of the hotel to ensure our guests are not inconvenienced. During cleaning, facilities are closed for safety reasons and reopened once service is completed. Our staff are on hand to assist our guests to the nearest facilities available. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused.\n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further. \n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
03/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for writing a review about our Royal National Hotel. We value your feedback as hospitality service is of paramount importance to us and always want each guest to have a comfortable stay.\n\nWe are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and feel that a one-star rating represents your experience. All our rates when booked directly on our website includes a full English breakfast. For vegetarian options this includes: a selection of hot food, croissants, toast with a selection of spreads, natural yoghurt, berry fruit mix, cereal, porridge, orange/apple juice and coffee and tea. Our breakfast is generally praised by our guests, so we apologise if you did not enjoy it on this occasion. In addition, our Concierge Team are available 24-hours and are happy to assist you with directions around London. Our teams do try their very best to serve each guest according to their requests, especially during peak periods. We are sorry to hear you felt our staff came across as dismissive and apologise for any lapse in our usual standard of service. Extra training will be provided to ensure standards are maintained and our staff remain welcoming and helpful, at all times.\n\nMoreover, as stated on our direct website, fridges can be made available at all our hotels if specially requested. Priority is given to the storage of medication. We are sorry if you were unaware of this at the time of your stay. Furthermore, we do not advertise as having any air conditioning in any of our hotel bedrooms. However, fans are available from our Housekeeping Office on request, for a refundable deposit. These are subject to availability and we apologise for the inconvenience.\n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further. \n\nAlways assuring you of our best intentions.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer\n.
03/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for posting a review about our Royal National Hotel and your kind rating of four-stars! We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us, appreciated your comments regarding our clean rooms and delicious breakfast. We are most grateful for your kind words and for taking the time to recognize our team of hospitality professionals for their friendly service. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our team to ensure that standards are always met for all guests. \n\nIn addition, we have recently refurbished several rooms at our Royal National Hotel, called the City Sleeper Rooms. Please refer to our direct website for more details. \n\nWe thank you for choosing to stay at our Royal National Hotel and look forward to welcome you back son.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer\n.
02/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Just stayed here for 2 nights and were upgraded to a city sleeper room which I would highly recommend. These are all refurbished to a high standard and were really lovely rooms. The hotel is really close to the train station which was great and only around 15 minutes to Oxford Street.
29/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Waited almost 1 hour to check in to my city sleeper room, which usually has a separate check in desk. Was absolutely fuming and no one tried to do anything thing to help. They blamed it on staff having their evening meal.\n\nRooms are great though and well finished.
28/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are delighted to hear that our Reception Team were able to provide you with a friendly service throughout your stay. Although, we are sorry if you had encountered problems with our rooms. Our hotel is the largest in the group and can have limited availability when fully booked. We do advise guests who have booked with a travel agent, to contact them directly if they wish to amend or cancel any bookings prior to their arrival date. We apologise if you were unaware of this at the time of your stay. \n\nWe thank you again for choosing to stay at the Royal National Hotel and we hope that you will consider us for your next trip.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
24/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
My daughter has just returned from a school trip with her friends and I as a parent are more than disappointed. My daughter contacted me on her first morning of her stay to say that not only was her shower not working but radiator had leaked all over carpet. On reporting to the reception they basically got dismissed, the teachers also got dismissed, teachers went out their way to resolve the problem. My daughter stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and didn't have a working shower in her room but did have a wet carpet from the leaking radiator. If it was not for the teacher stepping in and offering the use of their shower, well! My daughter has looked forward to her trip to London and all parents paid for their children to experience a memorable trip. Yet the hotel let my daughter and her friends down by choosing to not go out there way to fix the problem. Ironically we as parents were asked to pay a deposit incase of damage.
24/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for posting a review about our Royal National Hotel. It is great to hear that you had the opportunity to stay in our new City Sleeper rooms and had enjoyed our interior design and amenities. Moreover, we are delighted that you had enjoyed dining with us for breakfast. We will be sure to pass your comments to our Catering Team to ensure standards are met for all guests who may stay with us in the future. \n\nWe have truly enjoyed having you as our guest at the Royal National Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next return.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 9
Date stayed: November 2010
review: I have just spent 2 nights here and will happily return whenever possible.
Booking was simple, by phone, and not charged in advance, whereas other hotels were either full, very expensive or with unfriendly web forms to be filled in.
On arrival and departure the staff on the concierge's desk were particularly helpful with carrying luggage (I have a mobility problem), helping me to find my way around the large building, and providing information about buses and trains. Thanks, gentlemen, you made my trip almost trouble free.
Similarly the staff in the dining room were calm, efficient and helpful, despite the large numbers of customers entering as son as it opened at 7am. The food was plentiful and reasonable, (the bacon excellent), the tables and chairs rather institutional but okay. For £73 in this central area it was extremely good value. Trainees are well supervised. The disability bathroom was spacious and quite well fitted though it only had an over-bath shower (not walk-in) with folding seat and grab rails. I was initially surprised how far this room was from the lift until a member of staff gently indicated it was next to the fire escape: in an emergency that would indeed be a better place to be!!
I strongly recommend readers on a budget to appreciate it for what it is - unpretentious, never claiming to be luxurious, but a clean safe convenient base for young and old visiting. London.
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: May 2009
review: I went to this hotel with my school. all the way from Elgin. All I can say really is that this hotel was disgusting. First of all my room had mould around the bath tub and the bed sheets had hairs and had little bits of food on them. I ended up sleeping on the floor with the blanket I took. the staff were very rude and nasty to us just because we are teenagers.and the food was disgusting. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Rating out of 10: 7
Date stayed: January 2009
review: I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Although it is not poshy, it's very practical and location superb. our room was cleaned daily and the staff was always nice and helpful. I would certainly recommend it to my friends. Well done! very good value for money. Thanks
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: August 2008
review: This was the worst hotel my family has ever stayed in.  In my opinion it is basic, budget accommodation, and not a 3* rating. The food was inedible, the staff rude and unhelpful, the room tiny, very cramped for four of us, no air conditioning, we had to buy a fan. No hand towles or bath mats, the towles were changed daily, but were so old, that once used, were sodden.  We did request more towles, and bath mats, but got a letter telling us we had to request them...we gave up and bought some.  The hotel was overcrowded, full of teenagers and not family friendly at all.  On our first morning we were herded to four different eating areas before we could eat, the areas are set up like badly designed work canteens, the food was cold, ran out, it was awful, we left and went to a nearby café, which we used from then on for breakfast.  The room was clean, but tatty, and very noisy. The location good, but never again. I was embarred to be British frankly when sat next to a dutch family in the eating area, they were just bemussed, and obviously not impressed. We did try to find alternative accommodation, but were unsuccesful, we just stayed out of the hotel as much as we could.   HORRID PlACE
Rating out of 10: 2
Date stayed: July 2008
review: I don't even know where to begin. I booked a twin and a triple room for two nights in this 'hotel' for a special occasion we were attending in London. for a bargain price of £390. The location for our event was perfect but otherwise I was utterly disappointed with this hotel. Upon arrival to our rooms one bed had chewing gum stuck to it, the other had burn marks on it, the shower was hanging off the wall and even if it was attched only people less than 5 foot could stand under it without bending, there were two towels for three people, there was other peoples belongings down the side of the desk and overall we were not happy. A similar situation occured with our twin room, lack of towels, no kettle, dirty bed sheets etc. We rang reception who assured us they would send up towels as son as possible and that we could speak to the manager later that evening regarding our concerns.
We then proceeded to the self service restaurant. There was 8+ waiting staff standing around none of which offered any help or showed us what the procedure was. We went over to ask and eventually somebody explained. The three course meal was like pig slop. A measly selection of salad to start, followed by beef like a rubber boot or battered cod without the cod and a chicken curry that tasted of nothing. Dessert was the choice of two cakes. Oh and if you wanted a drink, it was not included.  It was at this point that I decided I had had enough and approached the reception desk to ask to speak to a manager to be told they left at 5pm (it was now 7pm). I eventually spoke to the reception supervisor who was unwilling to help at all. I also found out that the reception number on the phone isn't  the reception number of the hotel but somewhere else! He again said towels and a kettle would be sent up but none were. He also informed us we were staying in the refurbished area of the hotel - he nearly had to pick me up off the floor!
Breakfast was bearable, though the toast was like rubber, the tea a gastly grey colour and the service was unfriendly, slow and unacceptable.
The tip of the iceberg was when we found someone else trying to get in our room - they had double booked us! Luckily we got to stay in our rooms.
When you look at the description of this hotel it sounds great, but overall it was a dump. I have travelled all over the world and the youth hostels I have stayed in have been far superior to this and for a lot less money. Yet again I was disappointed with what our country can get away with. What must people arriving after Long flights think when the first glimpse of London they see is this place. A disgrace!
Rating out of 10: 10
Date stayed: July 2008
review: Fantastic warm welcome by all staff. Excellent accommodation very central. Good homemade food perfect for a group of school children. We will be back
Rating out of 10: 6
Date stayed: January 2008
review: stayed in this hotel for two nights fri/sat early january 08.the hotel is large.. Very large however on the whole offers good value for money.yes rooms are pretty basic but when in London you,re not going to spend that much time in your bedroom when there,s so much to see and do around you. Rooms where clean and our towels changed the days we were there.one minor gripe.. Breakfast was a bit manic.. Because of the size of the hotel the breakfast queue,s where quite Long although it only took around 15 minutes to be served and the English breakfast we had opted for was quite good.. However we did,not go back 2nd morning just to save time. Heating in our bedroom was on constantly and with no thermostate to turn it down in the room we had to leave the window open all the time..not ideal as London in general is a noisy place. Hotel is in a good location for getting around London and if you,re looking for an affordable clean place to stay while in the capital you could do a lot worse than book this hotel for your visit.we would deffinetly go back and probably will son.
Rating out of 10: 7
Date stayed: April 2007
review: Good location.  Room was always clean.  Plenty to eat at breakfast. Staff pleasant Able to leave luggage in hotel to go and tour,although no security checks or Id needed for this.
Rating out of 10: 4
Date stayed: November 2006
review: British Airways had a package with the hotel. First BA is one of the worst I have even flown. The description of the hotel was a central location. That is correct if you want to take a taxi every where. The staff did not go out of their way to be helpful. I had a tour planned. The tour company called the day before to say it was cancelled and the hotel did not tell me. I would not stay there again unless I wanted a youth hostel with private bath.
* (milesfaster.co.uk editor note: it is misleading to say this is not a central London hotel, it is. However its on the edge of the tourist heart of London which is actually quite a small area)
Rating out of 10: 7
Date stayed: November 2005
review: This hotel was really good. It was cheap and it has a fantastic location. The continental breakfast was ok and you could buy a full English for £4. The rooms were clean. It is noisy, but were young and were probably the ones being loud. Its a hotel that you go for to get just sleep and get ready, being close to everything in London using the tube. It can be confusing finding your room because theyre are so many and each floor looks the same.
Rating out of 10: 6
Date stayed: May 2005
review: This is an excellent hotel. I stayed there for a week and the rooms were kept clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was plentifull. The only negative I could see was the abundance of noise as there are 3000 beds and a lot of people. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: March 2005
review: The staff is so rude and unfriendly, I would only recommend this hotel to my worst enemy!!. When I checked in, on a Sunday, the queue was a chaos and only three members of the staff were attending (Another one was staring at some point of the universe). Two of them had the nerve to tell a Greek man, who was showing them his passport, to phone his tour operator because he didn t speak English and was unable to fill in the registration card. He was holding his European passport and they didn t make a single movement to help him!!! My sister and I don t speak a word of Greek but were willing to help him and, after a couple of minutes, the man understood the data he had to fill in. I ve never seen such an inefficient crew!!
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: February 2005
review: Do not go to this Hotel. There are in excess of 2000 guest at any one time - and only 4 lifts!!! They won't let you use the stairs. Hardly anyone speaks English! Considering its in London! Breakfast is chaos - being ushered from one room to another, constantly being asked for your card! The gym is not on the premises and you have to pay for it anyway - do not go to this Hotel, ever.
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved