Tavistock Hotel
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

Customer Reviews For The Tavistock Hotel


Address: Tavistock Square, Bloomsbury, London, England, UK, WC1H 9EU
This hotel has averaged a score of 3.5 out of 5 by 3172 past guests
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 645 of 1129 for Hotels in London and rated 3.5 out of 5 from 3181 reviews)

16/09/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear Guest, \n\nThank you for a providing such great feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tavistock Hotel! \n\nWe are delighted to hear that our Reception team were able to check you in earlier than our usual time and that the room was perfect and exceeded your expectations. We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to dine in our Bloom & Willow restaurant at our Bedford Hotel and enjoyed your evening meal. Your feedback is greatly valued and will be shared with all our hospitality teams to ensure they receive the praise that they deserve.\n\nWe have truly enjoyed having you as one of our guests at the Tavistock Hotel and look forward in welcoming you back on your next visit.\n\nWith kindest regards,\nGuest Relations Officer
16/09/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear Guest, \n\nThank you for your feedback about our Tavistock Hotel. It is always great to hear from our guests as we always strive to deliver a welcoming service to all our guests.\n\nWe are very sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding your experience at our hotel. We apologise if you found the room to be too hot during your visit. We did experience a very unusual heatwave in London which does not happen yearly. We do not advertise as having air conditioning in any of our rooms at our hotel, as stated on our direct website. However, fans are available for our Housekeeping office on request, subject to availability. We apologise if you were unaware of this at the time of your stay. \n\nIn addition, our full English breakfast at our hotel is generally praised by our guests so we apologise if you did not enjoy it on this occasion. Our Catering team would have been happy to assist you with operating our toasting facilities, had they known at the time of your stay. Please rest assured we have taken your suggestions into account and have passed your feedback onto our Chef and Purchasing department, to review their current selections.\n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further. \n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nWith kindest regards,\nGuest Relations Officer\n\n
12/09/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear Guest, \n\nThank you for sharing your experience that you recently had at our Tavistock Hotel. We are thrilled to hear you had enjoyed your visit and that our hospitality teams delivered excellent service, making you feel welcomed throughout your stay!\n\nWe apologise if you found the room to be too hot during your visit. We did experience a few days of very unusual heatwave in London, which does not happen yearly. We do not advertise as having air conditioning in any of our rooms at our hotel. Although, fans are available from our Housekeeping office on request, subject to availability. Our teams would have been more than happy to assist you with this matter, had they known at the time of your stay. We apologise if you were unaware of this at the time.\n\nWe look forward to welcome you back on your third visit to our Tavistock Hotel soon.\n\nWith kindest regards,\nGuest Relations Officer\n
08/09/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear Guest, \n\nThank you for taking the time to write a review about our Tavistock Hotel. \n\nAt our Tavistock Hotel, we very much value your feedback as hospitality service is of paramount importance to us and are always glad to hear from our guests. It is with great pleasure to hear that you found our hotel reasonably priced, especially for our central location, and our overall service to be of great quality throughout your stay.\n\nHowever, we are disappointed to hear of your experience and were disturbed by noise during your stay. Our hotel is ideally located in the centre of London, which can be associated with a certain level of noise. Our guests are not normally affected by this and we apologise for any disturbance caused. Our Concierge Team monitor our premises and are available 24-hours to ensure all areas within the hotel are kept to a minimum. We have taken your feedback into account and will certainly forward this to our Directors and Design Team to review our current windows.\n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further.\n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nWith kindest regards,\nGuest Relations Officer
29/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear Guest, \n\nThank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our Tavistock Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve our hospitality services, for all guests to have a pleasant stay. \n\nWe are disappointed that you did not enjoy your entire stay with us and feel that a one-star rating represents your experience. We apologise if you found the room to be too hot during your visit. We did experience a very unusual heatwave in London which does not happen yearly. As stated on our direct website, we do not have any air conditioning in any of our hotel bedrooms. However, fans are available from our Housekeeping office on request, subject to availability. These can be obtained for a refundable deposit. Our Housekeeping team are open daily and would have been happy to assist with any requests at the time of your stay. We apologise if you were unaware of this at the time of your stay.\n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further.\n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nBest regards,\nGuest Relations Officer
27/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for writing a review about our Tavistock Hotel. All our teams are most grateful for your kind words and appreciate your time to recognize their excellent hospitality service. We will most certainly share your feedback with our teams to ensure that the best possible standards are achieved for all guests.\n\nWe thank you for recommending our hotel and look forward to welcome you back son.\n\nBest regards, \nGuest Relations Officer\n.
26/08/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
The hotel itself is handsome and somewhat charming, though our room was very basic and could have used some spiffing up. I wrongly assumed air conditioning would be present. Our first night was not pleasant, as we needed to have the windows open but the traffic noise kept us up. We requested and they supplied a fan for the remainder of the stay. Breakfast was hectic and chaotic with hundreds of people elbowing their way for a table, and the food was humdrum. On the plus side, it is an ideal location and for central London the price is extremely attractive.
14/08/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
The hotel and especially the rooms are very moderate but as it's rates are also moderate the cost effective is reasonable.\nThe location is great and very close to Russell Square Tube station and maximum 10m by foot to Holborn Tube station.\nBottom lines : good for those whom like to travel most of the day and use the hotel for sleep and Breakfast.
13/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for sharing your experience that you recently had at our Tavistock Hotel.\n\nWe are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and feel that a two-star rating represents your experience. Our hotel is ideally located in the centre of London, which can be associated with a certain level of noise. Our guests are not normally affected by this and we apologise for any disturbance caused. We apologise if you found the room to be too hot during your visit. We did experience a very unusual heatwave in London which does not happen yearly. Moreover, as stated on our direct website, we do not have any air conditioning in any of our hotel bedrooms. However, fans can be requests for a refundable deposit. \n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further. \n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards,\nGuest Relations Officer\n.
10/08/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Thick layer of dust round the edge of the room so not really clean and sitting in the bar having a drink saw a mouse justt wandering around. Mentioned it to the barman and he said oh yeah we have a mouse problem we have reported it we are waiting to see if we need to call in the exterminators.......if its sat in the bar in full view of your clientele you need to do something!!! Mentioned it to reception same response. Upon check out asked if everything was good its like not I already told you hotel is not clean but clearly you didn\u2019t listen. No air con and had to have the window open really loud noise from the back of the hotel seems ike all the money was spent on reception rooms are rubbish.Bad all round and this was a birthday trip added to the overall craziness. Thanks.
08/08/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
I regularly stay at the Tavistock or one of the other Imperial Hotel chain hotels when I am in London. This is a great location and the lobby and bar have been refurbished recently. The rooms are always clean and adequate and the breakfast buffet is busy, but OK. There is a slightly 'institutional' feel about the place, but nevertheless, for under \u00A3100 in this is a bargain.
07/08/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Stayed at the at Tavastock a number of times and it is a lovely Art Deco hotel. Newley refurbished to a high standered location good. Food good. Prices good. On this one occasion I have a negative comment to make. We were on a side street side of the hotel...the weather was very very warm ( not the hotels fault) the window had to be opened to let some air into the room. On the Friday night the noise from the bowling ally below us was really disturbing, shouting and screaming until very late. I was out of bed opening then closing the windows most of the night. At 3.30am I got up again because I could hear loud talking, on the opposite side of the road were a group of about 5 men sitting on the steps of the building across, not being very quiet and completely unawear of the noise they were making. This isn't the hotels fault, however if I stay again I would request a room on the front of the hotel.
06/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Everything about our stay was great EXCEPT they do not have air-con in the rooms, open windows is all the air you get. They do offer a fan upon check-in but it is a first-com, first-serve. Loved the location and the park across the street. Breakfast was the same items every day but I changed it up so I didn't eat the same exact thing all our mornings. The price was good considering the location and the included breakfast.
05/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
The Tavistock was once a top address in London, and it's Art Deco lobby is well worth a look. The room rates, by London standards are reasonable and breakfast is ample, albeit of average quality. My room was clean, but as I stayed in London during a hot spell, it was unbearably hot at night. There is no air-conditioning and the window only opened a couple of inches. Apart from that: great location.
05/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Really nice hotel in an excellent location for main line railway stations, tube and sightseeing buses. Staff really friendly and a good buffet breakfast. As has been mentioned by others, it can get very hot. I appreciate that there is no air con and would be unrealistically expensive to put it in all rooms. I didn't realise you could hire fans if they were available. It's just a shame that the hotel couldn't mount the cheapest, most basic fans on the walls in each room, I don't think that would be a huge cost even taking into account the amount of rooms. This is the only fault I could think of. Excellent prices too (including bar price) for a central London hotel. I'll definitely be staying again but will have to leave a pair of shoes out of my case so I can fit a small desk fan in to bring with me.
02/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for taking the time to write a review about our Tavistock Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and appreciated our overall hospitality service. It is also great to hear that you found our choices for breakfast abundant and delicious. We will be sure to pass your feedback to all our teams here at the hotel, to ensure that the best standards are met for all guests.\n\nWe thank you for recommending our hotel and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
01/08/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for posting a review about our Tavistock Hotel. \n\nWe are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. We apologise if you found the room to be too hot during your visit, as we did experience a very unusual heatwave in London which does not happen yearly. As stated on our direct website, we do not have any air conditioning in any of our hotel bedrooms. However, fans are available from our Housekeeping office on request, subject to availability. These can be obtained for a refundable deposit. We are sorry if you were unaware of this at the time. In addition, we have recently upgraded our internet server and have not received feedback regarding our internet speed. Our ICT Department available throughout the day, if our guests require any further assistance. We generally receive positive responses from our guests, so we apologise if you felt that there were issues at the time of your stay. Moreover, hospitality service is of paramount importance to us and we apologise for any lapse in our usual standard of service. Extra training will be provided to ensure standards are maintained and our staff remain welcoming and helpful, at all times. \n\nIf you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk.\n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
28/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Very convenient location, nice breakfast, small room of course. Ideal if you want hotel without the frills. Ssrvice adequate without any warmth. The wonderful breakfast room now divided up into restaurant as well, so that lovely morning experience at breakfast now gone. Perfectly adequate overall.
27/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Stayed on a number of occasions, great location but in need of refurhishment of the rooms heating and plumbing pipe need sorting. No AC and lack of sockets in the room, the loo is even more dated and hot.
25/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Stayed for a three night break and was no disappointed for the money paid. Clean room but quite small. There is no air-conditioning and the room was uncomfortably hot. Enquired for a fan and was told the hotel had one and that was spoken for!! Surely not? I think I was being fobbed off? Good overall value for money on the basis of location, cleanliness and breakfast. Room had a small fridge and an even smaller TV- but adequate. Would book again but avoid warm weather.
23/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
The hotel is dated and tired, the air stuffy and an unpleasant smell near the reception. If this was not\u2019t London it could never charge \u00A3150 per night for a small room facing heating and plumbing pipes. \nNo AC and lack of sockets in the room, the loo is even more dated, if possible. \nRooms look clean \n.
22/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
We have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the last few years, in that time the hotel has undergone refurbishment which has made the hotel even better. It\u2019s in an excellent location to explore our Capital city. The rooms have everything you need and the beds are nice and comfortable, lovely English breakfast as well as croissants. To end your day sit and have a drink in the hotel bar, what more could you ask for!
22/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Having just returned from a 2 night stay at the Tavistock I can say that this is lovely hotel.\n\nThe location is ideal for exploring London either on foot, or Russell Square tube station is only a short walk away.\n\nMy room was clean and tidy, with all of the facilities I needed.\nThe only minor criticism was that the room was a little too hot for my liking; it was fine during the day as I could open the window for some fresh air but I had to close the window at night as I am a very light sleeper.\n\nAll of the staff were really nice and friendly, particularly Zach and Shani in the bar. (I hope I remembered their names correctly)\n\nThe food served in the bar was of a good quality and reasonbaly priced, as were the drinks (with a great selection available).\n\nAll in all, a very pleasurable stay and I'll be sure to stay here again the next time I am visiting London.
19/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
at the end of June, we spent two nights at the Tavistock Hotel before we took the Eurostar over to Paris. This hotel had been recommended to us and it did not disappoint. We were 3 and had 3 separate twin beds. While the room was not huge it was big enough for us and our luggage. The room also had ample plugs for us to charge our devices. The Wi-Fi works great. The room was clean and th bathroom was two rooms one with the toilet and the other with sink and bath. It was a good size. The breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent and was a full English breakfast. We also had included with our booking a free dinner on our first night and it was also excellent. We enjoyed a nice Indian buffet. It was perfect location we had arrived from an overnight flight from Canada into Gatwick and took a train to St Pancras and from there it was an easy walk to the Tavistock. We were too early but they stored our luggage with no charge and we decided to explore the neighbourhood and found ourselves at the British Museum! so we spent some time there before returning to the hotel. It was an easy walk to Russell Square and had no issues taking buses to and from the Tavistock. Great location and hotel and would not hesitate to recommend and we would certainly stay there again.
13/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you taking the time to write a review about our Tavistock Hotel. \n\nIt is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found our location to be convenient throughout your visit. We are delighted to hear that you found our amenities to be useful during your stay, as well as our hotel prices which you had found to be of good value for money. Equally, we are most grateful for your kind words and for taking the time to recognize our team of hospitality professionals for their friendly service. We will be sure to share your comments with our team to ensure they receive the praise that they deserve. \n\nWe very much appreciate you recommending our Tavistock Hotel and hope to welcome you back to son.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
12/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nMany thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our Tavistock Hotel. We are extremely pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and found that our location is just a 10-minute walk away from Euston Station. We appreciate you taking the time to visit our Poppadom Express restaurant and enjoyed dining with us. Likewise, it is great to hear that our team were able to make your stay special. We will be sure to pass your kind compliments to our team, to ensure they receive the praise that they deserve.\n\nWe thank you for recommending our Tavistock Hotel and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
07/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
stayed two nights at the tavistock hotel, very near Euston station, about 10 minute walk or 5 minutes taxi ride, lovely hotel, superfast check in, lovely food, nice bar area, loved my stay there, have stayed in their other hotel president also, if going to London again, would stay here just because, good value for money, excellent staff, very friendly and helpful and easygoing, well done all of you for making me and my friends feel welcome, just search imperial hotel group london, even had an e mail few days before my arrival to welcome us to hotel.
06/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Spent 2 weeks at the Tavistock. When we chose this hotel the amenities listed on their website included: a swimming pool,sauna, bowling, exercise gym, Jacuzzi, & safes in the rooms. The safe is located at the desk in the lobby for a charge and all the other amenities are near by and not on site. Very disappointed upon arrival about this false advertising. I see they have since removed all this from their website just recently. Beds & pillows are hard. Our room was on the front of the hotel and since there\u2019s no air conditioning leaving your window open is a must but the street noise can be quite loud.\nGood points: great breakfast with many options & good variety of hot & cold choices, plenty of hot water, staff is very pleasant & helpful. Great central location with options for buses & underground. Check in & out was quick.
05/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
the Rooms are very basic, there is no air con in any room and as the rooms are small and hot if you can ask for a fan. The bathroom is small and tight to move around in. \n\nWe had a booking for dinner and had a choice of hotels within the group to use it. The restaurant for dinner at the Tavistock is Indian food which we didn\u2019t want. so we ended up going down to the President hotel for carvery, the carvery is not what people would think is a carvery it is a 3 course meal. You can only go up once for each course. The starters had a choice of ham, salmon, coleslaw, salad and few other sides. No other meat or fish, there was an alternate starter for soup or prawn cocktail. \n\nThe main course was a choice of 2 out of the 3 roasts on offer beef, pork, lamb. Separately you could have chicken or salmon but you were not able to have salmon or chicken and one of the meats.\n\nThe food was tasteless and the service was appalling. Nobody came to the table to offer us water or to see if we wanted drinks. Through the entire meal. I pointed this out to the restaurant manager after the first course and still no one came to the table. It was a case of you are from another hotel so you are not important. \n\nDessert was a bit better they had a good ranger of desserts on offer depending on your tastes however they are not covered at all and in the height of the summer with a bi bluebottle flying round well you do wander if the food should be covered. \n\nOverall I would recommend to people not to eat at this hotel. \n\nAs for breakfast at the Tavistock it is very very basic. However we left ours as the food was cold. It is not very tempting when you see it.
03/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for sharing your experience that you recently had at our Tavistock Hotel. \n\nWe are extremely pleased to hear that you had an great stay with us and took the time to mention our clean and comfortable rooms. It was also nice of you to mention our Reception Team, whom were able to provide you with a friendly service upon check-in. We will be sure to pass on your comments to all our teams here at the hotel to ensure they receive the praise that they deserve. \n\nAlthough, we are disappointed to hear that you had encountered issues with our amenities. Our Housekeeping Department are open daily and would have been happy to assist with any concerns you may have had about the room. We are sorry if we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expected from our hotel during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our teams to ensure this does not happen again.\n\nWe thank you for recommending our Tavistock Hotel and hope to welcome you back on your next visit.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer\n.
01/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you posting a review about our Tavistock Hotel. We value your feedback as hospitality service is of paramount importance to us as we always strive to improve our services for all guests to have a comfortable stay.We are glad to hear that you had chosen our hotel for a short stay in London and found our rooms to be quiet during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to our Tavistock Hotel son.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer\n.
01/07/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our Tavistock Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve our hospitality services for all guests to have a pleasant stay with us. \n\nWe are grateful for your compliments regarding our comfortable beds, clean rooms and our Woolf & Whistle bar. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our team to ensure that standards are always met for all guests. \n\nHowever, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your entire stay with us and feel that a two-star rating represents your experience. All our rates when booked directly on our website or through our Reception Team, makes it easier for us to manage bookings directly for you. We do advise guests who have booked with a travel agent, to contact them directly if they wish to amend or cancel any bookings prior to their arrival date. We apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused and if you were unaware of this at the time of your stay. \n\nMoreover, we are sorry to hear that you felt our staff came across as dismissive. guest service is of paramount importance to us and we apologise for any lapse in our usual standard of service. Extra training will be provided to ensure standards are maintained and our staff remain welcoming and helpful, at all times.\n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk and we will endeavour to investigate your comments further.\n\nAlways assuring you of our best intentions.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
28/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you writing a review about our Tavistock Hotel. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us and found our prices to be value for money, especially as we are in the centre of London. We are glad that you found our English breakfast to be delicious. We will be sure to forward your feedback to our Catering Team to ensure that standards are always met for all guests. \n\nWe look forward in welcoming you back to our Tavistock Hotel son.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer\n.
27/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for giving our Tavistock Hotel a fantastic rating of five-stars! \n\nWe are extremely pleased to hear that our Catering Team were able to provide you with an excellent service throughout your stay. It is always nice to hear positive feedback from our guests as your comments go a Long way in motivating and encouraging our team so thank you for taking the time to recognise our efforts. In addition, we are glad that you liked our new d\u00E9cor in our Woolf & Whistle and had the chance to explore our menu, especially as you had found our prices to be of good value. We will be sure to pass your kind comments to all our teams at the hotel, to ensure that standards are met for all guests.\n \nWe have truly enjoyed having you as one of our guests at the Tavistock Hotel and look forward in welcoming you back later in the year.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer\n.
26/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for posting a review about our Tavistock Hotel. We appreciate you feedback as we always strive to improve our services for all guests to have a comfortable stay with us.\n\nWe are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and feel that a one-star rating represents your experience. We are sorry if you felt our staff came across as dismissive. guest service is of paramount importance to us and we apologise for any lapse in our usual standard of service. Extra training will be provided to ensure standards are maintained and our staff always remain welcoming and helpful. \n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk and we will endeavour to investigate your comments further.\n\nAssuring you of our best intentions, at all times.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
26/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our Tavistock Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to recognise our staff for their friendly service and are pleased that you had the chance to dine at our Poppadom Express restaurant. We will be sure to share your comments to our teams to ensure they receive the praise that they deserve.\n\nWe thank you for choosing to stay at the Tavistock Hotel and look forward to welcome you back son.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer\n.
21/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Dear guest, \n\nThank you for kindly taking the time to post a review about our Tavistock Hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding our clean rooms, amenities and friendly staff. We will be sure to share your feedback with our all our teams, here at the hotel, to ensure that standards are met for all guests. However, we apologise if you found the room to be too hot during your visit. We did experience a very unusual heatwave in London which does not happen yearly.\n\nPlease do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further. \n\nAlways assuring you of our best intentions.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
16/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
I thought the Tavistock had a great location close to a Tube stop and two lovely parks. While it is, I have to report that the room is a step above a hostel. The rooms have beds that easily roll around while sleeping. There are few amenities in the room - nothing to write with, not more than shampoo and shower gel, and water pressure that is mediocre. Small rooms are de rigour in London so I won't complain, however, there was absolutely no style or warmth to the room.
15/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Dear guest,\n\nThank you for kindly taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at our Tavistock Hotel. We value your feedback as hospitality service is of paramount importance to us and always strive to improve our services for all guests to have a comfortable stay.\n\nWe are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and feel that a one-star rating represents your experience at our hotel. We are sorry if you had encountered problems with our room during your stay. We apologise if you found the bed to be uncomfortable. The hotel buys good quality mattresses to ensure the comfort for all our guests. many of our guests generally find our beds extremely comfortable as our mattresses are regularly checked and changed. Our Housekeeping Department are open daily from 8am to 10pm and would have been happy to assist with any concerns you may have had, at the time of your stay. In addition, we do not have any air conditioning in any of our hotel bedrooms, as stated on our direct website. However, fans are available from our Housekeeping office on request, subject to availability. These can be obtained for a refundable deposit. We apologise if you were unaware of this at the time and any lapse in our usual standard of cleanliness.\n\nIf you would like to discuss any issues relating to your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@imperialhotels.co.uk\n\nAssuring you of our best intentions at all times.\n\nKind regards, \nGuest Relations Officer.
08/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
This hotel is within a couple of blocks of the Russell Square tube station which makes it easy to get around to most of the major attractions in the City. The rooms are small and the single beds not very comfortable. My room did not have a dresser with drawers and as I was there for 10 days I was not happy about that and talked to the front desk staff about it. They weren't able to change my room for five days as the hotel was full. As I had booked and paid for the hotel months in advance and was there for 10 nights I thought they could have been quicker to deal with this problem. There is a lot of street noise which is normal for a hotel so centrally located, and my view was very nice as I overlooked an lovely park. The breakfast which came with the room was also pretty normal - buffet style with lots of choices.\nAll in all, I appreciated the ease of movement through the City from this location and also the nearby parks which made for nice walks in the evening.
07/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
We stayed for 7 nights. The hotel is clean, great location, very good breakfast and very good service from the personnel. We had a small problem with the bathroom sink, the staff was polite and offered us to change our room, but we decide to stay and in general, enjoyed our stay very much.
04/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
The hotel itself is OK - downstairs the Art Deco styling is lovely, the breakfast was OK and plentiful, if not brilliant, staff were friendly enough, and the bath was nice. But I didn't sleep a wink. The room was on the 8th floor, very spartan compared to downstairs, hard bed, view of other bedrooms on all sides and overlooking a lovely set of roofs, pipes and heating vents. It was stiflingly hot on a not-particularly warm night in May - I dread to think what it would have been like in summer! It was also incredibly noisy with all the pipes and vents banging and roaring all night - adding insult to injury as there was clearly some air-conditioning somewhere... With the window open, it was too loud to sleep. With the window closed, it was too hot to sleep. In the morning, I was told that I could have asked for a fan. This would have been helpful if such a thing was even suggested anywhere in the welcome pack, which I searched several times for any such hint! Besides, I don't think it would really have helped, as it would just have added to the noise. Such a shame, because it could have been a pleasant enough stay.
04/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Hotel in Bloomsbury, a pleasant place to be. Tavistock Square opposite, good for fresh air! Stroll round Gordon Square and further as its worth the walk. Leads onto Tottenham Court Road and of course Oxford Street. Hotel fairly central for most things. Hotel itself is clean and bedroom sufficient. Its not luxury but the prices reflect this. I was v. happy with breakfast which is included. I would stay again. Staff friendly and helpful. Bags can be left with hotel on checkout for collection later, small charge 50p for my bag. The hotel does what it says on the box - provides a room and breakfast, but in a dignified way!
03/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
After a tricky sign in. I made the booking but they did not have me on the system. My friends name was accepted, bizarre.\nYes it is an economy hotel, but lacking in some areas. Think it is going through a slow revamp. Room on 4th floor on the main road side, lots of sirens. Had all amenities in room. The toilet was separate from the shower and basin. It was so tiny. Think it was shoehorned into the space. The shower and sink room was very clostrophopic also no plug for the sink. Good point was the constant hot water.\nThe concierge were helpful and pleasant but the registration desk were brusque, a smile would not go amiss.\nIt is a good location as the tube is very near and the Brunswick centre was a good area to eat with a Waitrose and Sainsbury's close by.
02/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
I needed a place to stay for several weeks in London and an economy hotel filled the budget. But Tavistock Hotel is a place that needs renovation. The carpet seems to be the same as when I stayed there ages ago. The washroom definitely was fitted from the 1950s. If you want something decent, ask for a room overlooking the square, and also a room that has latest bathroom fixtures (some do). And if you want quiet, stay away from the first floor, where housekeeping seemed to conduct some general assembly meeting each morning along the corridor, with banging and loud conversation for hours, and the restaurants on the ground floor provided free entertainment. The hotel also pre-authorizes for every charge, but accounting seemed to function in the end. The concierge department worked well, and I was a bit rude to one of the porters, for which I apologize!
02/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
I stayed here for a conference and it was quite interesting. The good - the bathroom was clean and had a great tub, the hotel is in a nice area with nearby train stops and the dining room is stylish and well decorated. The bad - with the exception of housekeeping most of the reception and dining staff here are just marking time - they do not care about making guest happy or solving problems. The food at breakfast could be considerably improved (the eggs especially) and the beds are terrible. They only have twin beds and they're not very comfortable. However if you think this is bad their sister hotel the Imperial is way worse. Also don't lose anything here - I sent an email to the hotel in November and am still awaiting a reply.
30/04/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
The highlight of this hotel is the full English breakfast that they serve. The rooms are basic but fine and mine was warm. As I was on the top floor, I slept well, not having to hear footsteps overhead. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of my meeting, which was very convenient. However, I was glad that the cost of my stay was being funded as staying in central London is not cheap! No newspapers at all in the lobby, which was a disappointment.
26/04/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
It is perfect hotel if you want visit London. It is central location in front of tavistock square. 5 minutes on foot from the Subway RUSSEL SQUARE. The room is clean and quiet. The breakfast is very copious (buffet) The restaurant staff not very friendly, we cannot have everything....
25/04/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
This was our 3rd time using Tavistock Hotel. The decor is charming and the staff extremely helpful. This certainly isn't the Savoy, but the prices cannot be beat for Central London. The rooms are neat and clean. Whenever we do go back, we will continue to use this hotel.
14/04/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Arrived at Kings cross station. Hopped on a 59 bus which stops outside the hotel. We arrived early and the receptionist found us 2 rooms that were ready so we didn\u2019t have to wait. She even gave us 2 adjoining rooms which was ideal. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bar sold my favourite beer. Shipyards. The dining room did an \u201Call you can eat\u201D buffet but it was Indian food which is my favourite but not everyone in our party like Indian food so unfortunately I didn\u2019t get to try it but I\u2019ll definitely be returning with my other friends who do like Indian. The breakfast was lovely. Staff were efficient but it did get rather busy so you need to get there early to avoid a queue. The staff were all amazing. The guys on the desk gave us information how to get to certain places and you can leave your luggage there on the day of departure for 50p. We had a lovely chat with Giuseppe and we can\u2019t wait to visit this hotel again. Thank you to everyone for our lovely weekend. From the Yorkshire girls.
12/04/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
This isn't a fancy hotel by any stretch, but it's central, relatively quiet, clean, and staff are efficient, helpful and courteous. The rooms are a little on the shabby side, and VERY HOT, but it was quiet enough to leave windows open. There's plenty of choice for breakfast, and I would certainly consider using this hotel in the future.
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 8
Date stayed: November 2007
review: This was my 6th stay at the Tavistock and I've never been disappointed. The rooms,though smaller than North American hotels,are clean,comfortable and in good repair. Besides, why pay for a luxury room when you're not in it all day? The staff are friendly,helpful and aim to please. Breakfast is plentiful and fresh, with many selections. The hotel's best asset, though,is its'location! It's close to the British Museum & Library. A shopping plaza with shops, restaurants and a large grocery store are all a 3-minute walk away. As well, there are many other small neighbourhood restaurants & pubs close by. Bus stops are just outside the door and the underground stations are also close (Russell Square:3-minutes  Euston Station: 5-minutes). Theatres,Covent Gardens & Oxford Street (great shopping!) are just 1-3 stops away. For unsurpassed value in a wonderful location, the Tavistock can't be beat. Hope you enjoy your stay!
Rating out of 10: 9
Date stayed: May 2005
review: Our stay at the Tavistock was just a delightful one. Friendly & efficient service at check-in--we had made an email request for a room facing the square, which the desk arranged. All staff were courteous, knowledgeable, and helpful. Breakfast was excellently managed, and presented very tasty foods: eggs poached, boiled or scramble; bacon or sausages, oatmeal, orange and grapefruit slices, beverages. The waiter specially remembered to bring each day ice I had requested for my tea. The location is central, walking distance to theatres, British Museum, Tottenham Court Road, Euston Road. Plenty of good bus lines to get to shopping streets like Oxford St. Wonderful walking and natural gardens meditation sites in the several squares nearby: Russell, Tavistock, and Gordon. Good restaurants nearby at Queen Square, and southhampton Row; book fairs at nearby hotels if you're lucky. The only improvement the hotel needs is slightly bigger-sized rooms, with larger walking space betweem the end of the bed and the dressing table unit. Very tricky for crickety knees to walk around the end of the bed. Bathtub high and hard to get into for older folks, but two days' practice, and even for seniors, the effort builds flexibility and strength quickly. Also bath and bedroom area spotlessly cleaned every day, with plenty of towels for guests. It's a wonderful hotel which we rate highly, and we can't wait to stay there again. Has a great family feel, and a wonderful atmosphere.
Rating out of 10: 5
Date stayed: March 2005
review: I had serious concerns about the Tavistock Hotel after reading various reviews online but my experience living there a week has been fairly good for this inexpensive 3* hotel.

WHAT'S GREAT:
1. Central London location near Russell Square and close to all the tourist and business destinations in Central London
2. Clean house-keeping with daily change of towels and other room

WHAT'S NOT:
1. Surprisingly tiny rooms. Do not expect more than 80 sft. of space (about 4 foot each side of the bed drawn to one corner)
2. Even tinier bathrooms. Very clean with running hot water through the day but tiny.
3. Rubbish for breakfast.
Rating out of 10: 7
Date stayed: November 2004
review: The Tavistock Hotel is located in a beautiful section of London right across the street from Tavistock Square park. The hotel is centrally located and within easy walking distance to Oxford Street and just about everything really.
My room was clean, with efficient service from the cleaning staff. I was travelling alone and felt very safe at the Tavistock. I would definitely stay there again.
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved