Thistle City Barbican Hotel
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

Customer Reviews For The Thistle City Barbican Hotel


Address: Central Street, Clerkenwell, London, England, UK, EC1V 8DS
This hotel has averaged a score of 3.4 out of 5 by 8322 past guests
>>>Booking.com (average customer rating 3.8 out of 5 from 4468 reviews)
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 662 of 1117 for Hotels in London and rated 3 out of 5 from 4085 reviews)

11/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
10/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
09/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
09/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for your kind words! \n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator.
09/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the shower not working. I will take this feedback to the Housekeeping and Maintenance teams as this of course should have been checked before you were checked in.\n\nMy apologies once again and I hope this will not deter you from staying with us in the future.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator.
09/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience and apologise for any inconvenience caused. \n\nWe will take your feedback on board and address these issues to ensure the standard does not fall short again. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator.
08/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
08/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator.
08/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear mialfetu\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience and apologise you did not have the best stay possible.\n\nPlease note that the hotel is located a 7minute walk away Old Street station and 12 minutes away from Barbican station. Leicester square/Trafalgar square is easily accessible in 15 minutes via tube or a taxi can take you there. The hotel is very centrally based so that you are able to access all the main attractions via public transport.\n\nUnfortunately you were based in the front block, however if you are in the main block, Otium Leisure Centre is accessible by the lift.\n\nMy apologies your stay was not pleasant and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future so that we can offer a better stay.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator.
07/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
06/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience due to the heat and apologise for any inconvenience caused. \n\nI will take your feedback to the Maintenance teams to investigate.\n\nWe hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator\n\n.
06/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear jfugg\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am happy to read that you generally enjoyed your stay. I am sorry for the issue you encountered with the television and I will ensure this is looked into. \n\nWe hope to welcome you back son.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator\n.
05/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
04/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear Richard S\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am happy to read that you enjoyed aspects of your stay with us and. I am sorry however, that we did not meet all of your expectations. We are working hard to improve our services and we hope you will visit again in the future to see this for yourself.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator.
03/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
02/06/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
01/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican.\n\nI am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and everything was fit for your purpose of stay.\n\nWe look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator.
01/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am happy to read that you enjoyed aspects of your stay with us. I am sorry however that we did not meet all of your expectations. I will ensure this is fed back to the teams to drive improvement where necessary. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and I am sorry that you felt this way about our staff. \n\nWe are working hard to improve our services and we hope you will visit again in the future to see this for yourself.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator\n\n.
01/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience and apologise for any inconvenience caused. We will take your feedback on board and address these issues to ensure the standard does not fall short again. \n\nIf you are willing to stay with us again, please contact me directly and I will ensure you are compensated for your experience and have a better experience overall.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator\nchand. Tooray@thistle.co. United Kingdom.
01/06/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience and were unhappy with your room.\n\nWe will take your feedback on board and address the issues you describe. Please note that our Deluxe, Executive and Junior Suite room type have air conditioning and may be better suited to your needs for any future bookings.\n\nWe hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator\n\n.
31/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
31/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience and apologise for any inconvenience caused. I will ensure this is investigated. My apologies that your stay was not a good one.\n\nIf you are willing to return, please contact me and I will take care of your booking to ensure you are compensated for your experience.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator\n\n.
31/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear Fraser\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience and apologise for any inconvenience caused. We will take your feedback on board and address these issues to ensure the standard does not fall short again. \n\nPlease note that our Deluxe room type has air conditioning and may be better suited to your needs.\n\nWe hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator\n.
30/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear Jasmine\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. \n\nI am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience and had an issue with the parking charge. The parking charge is on the website to inform guest of this prior to arriving - my apologies you were not aware of this. \n\nI apologise that you were unhappy with your room. It is disappointing that we were unable to resolve this satisfactorily. Should you change your mind about staying with us again, please contact me directly and I will overlook the room allocation to ensure your stay is a better one.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator\nchand. Tooray@thistle.co. United Kingdom.
28/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Dear guest\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican.\n\nI am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and everything was to your liking! Thank you for your kind words! \n\nWe look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator.
27/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
26/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
25/05/2019
Liked: guest did not comment for this item.
Disliked: Guest did not comment for this item.
24/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Dear Victorchicri\n\nThank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican.\n\nI am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and everything was to your liking! Thank you for your kind words! \n\nWe look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.\n\nKind regards\nChand\nHotel Administrator.
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 6
Date stayed: September 2008
review: Our visit to this hotel was part of a package including rail journeys with Omega Travel.  For the money paid this was a reasonable hotel.  Our room was small but clean, adequate bathroom facilities. Cost of the food seen on the menu prevented us from eating in the restaurant, neither did we avail ourselves of the offer of tea at £3.50. We caught the 205 from Euston, could still use our older person bus pass in London.  An interesting visit to Bunhill Cemetery which is close by.  Yes, we would go again using a similar package.
Rating out of 10: 3
Date stayed: August 2008
review: First rate impression on check in.
Small but well spec'd room.
Pleasant staff
Severe lack of staff resulting in abysmal levels of service, and by the comments of other customers, not uncommon.
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: August 2008
review: oh my goodness! wot an experience. first impression very good, but went to my standard room were the fitments were very tired and all had seen better days. The morning breakfast was a joke. Had to wait in a very large queue for 20 minutes to be sat down, had to find my own cup, cutlery and butter. food which was buffet style lukewarm. Complained to Manager who was not that interested. Also found dryed sick on valance on bed, I removed bedding myself as room service took far too Long. never ever again will I enter a thistle hotel!
Rating out of 10: 3
Date stayed: June 2008
review: JI was really surprise when I entered the small and old room.
The bar and restaurang area in this hotel is good but the rooms are far away from my expectations and the picture on their web page.
Two friends staying at the hotel during this period had the same opinion about the rooms.
Rating out of 10: 7
Date stayed: September 2006
review: We booked a deluxe room which was very clean and presentable. We arrived late, around 11pm but were still able to order food from the bar. We couldn't fault the hotel at all, really, the staff were very helpful and eager to please. The main problem for us was that we hadn't realised quite how far out the hotel was - it was around 10-15 minutes walk to the nearest tube station. For this reason alone we won't use it again.
Rating out of 10: 3
Date stayed: March 2006
review: Small room lacking the amenities you would expect in any hotel better than a flophouse. My tiny room had no clock radio, box of tissues or even a pen. There was a floor fan and radiator- no AC. There was a small room safe, but it was not bolted down! Telephone calls and internet access grossly overpriced. The staff was pleasant, and sometimes competent, but usually clueless.
Rating out of 10: 3
Date stayed: November 2005
review: I would advise anybody not to stay at this hotel should you want to be looked after! The customer service is very bad, this is not helped by under trained staff. Breakfast was not a good experience when you are given a table and you go to get your breakfast come back to the table and it has been given to somebody else!! The standard rooms are in the old part of the building and are clean but non maintained.
Rating out of 10: 3
Date stayed: September 2005
review: Very disappointing. I booked three rooms for myself and our two teenage daughters and their friends. My one daughter was put in an annexe and she was extremely disappointed, the rooms were really grotty and when I complained to the manager that our rooms were like staff accommodation, he said that the staff had better rooms than ours. In fairness he was helpful and changed our rooms but it rather spoiled the weekend. Also we had to park in a NCP car park quite far away and the hotel seemed too far out of town with nothing locally. A taxi driver would not take my daughter to the underground as he said she could walk as it was not worth his while taking her. I certainly would not stay there again.
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: April 2005
review: Stay here if you like urine soaked bedding and non-existent customer service. We climbed into bed to find a large wet patch on the mattress. After complaining and returning the next day the mattress had only been dried and turned over. This place doesn't even deserve one star Rating out of 10: -10
Rating out of 10: 1
Date stayed: May 2004
review: Stay here if you like being injured, insulted and patronised. I was injured by falling glass, when I closed the window, then ill-advised by the duty manager to take my clothes off, get in the shower and wash the glass from my hair. When my partner called Reception at the time of the incident, he was told windows don t break on their own.
When his first request for emergency assistance was ignored, he presented himself at reception and was verbally threatened by security staff. I was kept waiting for 20 minutes while an alternative hotel room was sourced, (1 hour and 10 minutes after the incident was reported)&;
and ended up paying for accommodation at the Thistle Hotel and Novatel for the same night. They collected my clothes for dry cleaning (full of glass) and I was advised to return at 6pm to - it was not available. This was inconvenient and resulted in a £27 taxi bill, late arrival at a reception and late return home.
I asked to see the duty manager to ensure the matter had been accurately recorded. She informed me that the window had been repaired and that it appeared to have received a direct hit. I pointed out that there was no glass outside of the window. At no time was I offered a drink, apology or sympathetic treatment. My letter of complaint was answered 3 months later with the offer (without prejudice) of taxi fare refunds - but they insist I was at fault and that my partner was abusive!
Rating out of 10: 8
Date stayed: July 2004
review: Overall, a very good hotel
Rating out of 10: 3
Date stayed: July 2004
review: Worst service ever! Reception duped me into paying more for the same room. No one answered the front desk telephone when my AC was broken. No answer on room service phone either. Buttons on phone for voicemail redirected to front desk. Misdirected calls in the middle of the night. Complaints to management were met with disbelief. Save yourself the hassle - stay at another hotel.

Rating out of 10: 9
Date stayed: February 2004
review: we really enjoyed our stay over valentines weekend! the room was lovely and the pool was great! we will be back very son!

Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved