Travelodge Aldgate East
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

Customer Reviews For The Travelodge Aldgate East


Address: 6-13 Chamber Street, London, E1 8BL, England, UK
This hotel has averaged a score of 3 out of 5 by 697 past guests
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 961 of 1117 for Hotels in London and rated 3 out of 5 from 745 reviews)

05/06/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Staff are always helpful and friendly, able to provide information as to the swiftest route to get to places. Rooms are clean/ warm and equipped for what is needed. And the breakfast is varied and you can have as much or little as one wishes. I have stayed there many times, when in London for conferences and meetings. When people complain about noise -- I will always say, wherever you are in London, you are going to encounter some degree of noise.
01/06/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Central Aldgate East Hotel.\n\nWe are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. \n\nWe strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. \n\nAs your experience was not up to our usual standards, could we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Services Team via our website help form, with a copy of your review, so that we can look into this further for you. \n\nThank you again for your feedback, and we hope to hear from you son.
30/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Although a little old and tired the hotel's situation makes it great for starting many sightseeing trips in London. The rooms were clean and tidy on arrival and proved to be very comfortable during our stay. For some it may be too close to the Docklands Light Railway but that does make for a convenient get away for trips.
24/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us. \n\nWe are sorry to learn of your experience and would like to look into this further for you. \n\nTherefore, may we kindly request that you contact our Customer Services Team so that we can investigate this more thoroughly with the Hotel. \n\nThank you again for your comments, and we hope to hear from you son.
23/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. \n\nWe're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. \n\nMay we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. \n\nThank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you son.
22/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Thank you for your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge.\n\nWe are sorry to hear that noise from inside and outside the hotel affected the comfort of your stay and of the other problems experineced. \n\nWe strive to make our customers as comfortable as possible and we would like to apologise if on this occasion we were not able to offer you a good night's sleep. \n\nWherever possible, we mention on the hotel\u2019s booking page that due to the hotel\u2019s location, external noise may be heard. We have also taken measures within our hotels such as double glazing to try and reduce the impact this may have on a guests stay with us.\n\nFeedback is invaluable and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.\n\nWe hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you again and improve your views on Travelodge.
21/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Easy access to public transport and within reach of historical and other interesting venues. Hotel is within walking distance from the the tube stops of Aldgate East and Tower Hill. Ease of connection with other lines.
21/05/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Thank you for your feedback. \n\nWe are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager. \n\nCould we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with a copy of your review to look into this more thoroughly. \n\nThank you again for reviewing our hotel.
19/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. \n\nWe're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. \n\nMay we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. \n\nThank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you son.
15/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for submitting your review. \n\nWe are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us. \n\nWe hope to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant stay, and we are sorry that we did not achieve this on this occasion. \n\nIf you wish to contact us directly to leave more feedback please get in touch with our Customer Services team via our website. \n\nThank you again for your comments.
14/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
An older property and in a little need of some tic in the bathroom, but excellent value for money at almost half the price of other Travelodge hotels within 5 minutes walk. \n\nPerfect for exploring Spitalfields and the local area. \n\nFriendly staff and generally clean and tidy. \n\nOur room even had a bath which is unheard of these days! Great to soak a Long day off!
13/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
I approached this stay with some trepidation, having seen some pretty negative reviews on TripAdvisor. I was allocated a room on the dreaded railway side, where trains pass probably less than 20 yards from your window. When I entered the room on a warm early May day I was astounded to see the heater on full blast with the windows closed \u2013 it was sweltering! I switched it off, opened the window and several hours later the temperature was acceptable. Other than that the room was pretty good. Similar to a Premier Inn which is usually my preference. Everything worked and the room was clean and tidy.\n \nThe railway noise actually was not\u2019t too bad (with windows closed). I was on the first floor, so I was lower than train level and that probably helped. But it certainly isn\u2019t terrible.\n \nThe bathroom was not so good, although far from awful. The shower curtain rail was rusty (see photo) and the carpet had begun to come away from the wall (see photo). There was something that looked like dust but actually couldn\u2019t be shifted in corners of the floor, which a decent clean would resolve. So a bit tatty but not too bad for a budget hotel. The towels were clean and fresh, and the shower was very good \u2013 powerful.\n \nWhen I arrived at around 7pm one of my neighbours had left their food try in the corridor. No problem with this it\u2019s standard practice, but what was not\u2019t so good was the fact that it was still sat there at 8am the following morning. Someone is running a slack ship here. I wouldn\u2019t blame the staff; those that I met all appeared pleasant and hard-working, but I suspect the hotel is under-staffed.\n \nI didn\u2019t eat at the hotel so can\u2019t comment on that aspect of their service.\n \nThe location is good for the City for business use and for tourism at the likes of the Tower of London, and given that I thought the pricing was very reasonable. The street the hotel sits on is a touch seedy, and I for one wouldn\u2019t walk down it from the Tower Bridge end after dark.\n \nAll in all not bad if unexceptional.\n \nIn summary:\n \n+ bedroom very clean and fresh\n+ handy location\n+ reasonably priced\n \n- bathroom has seen better days\n- railway noise would bother some (tip: request a room with an even number i. E. On the other side of the hotel from the railway line)\n- place seems under-staffed and under-maintained\n \nKey question: would I stay here again?\n \nYes.
13/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Comfortable and basic rooms, bathrooms could do with small updates (flooring, shower curtain, shower tray) but overall a pleasant experience. Very friendly reception staff who were welcoming and helpful.
12/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for submitting your review. \n\nWe are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us. \n\nWe hope to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant stay, and we are sorry that we did not achieve this on this occasion. \n\nIf you wish to contact us directly to leave more feedback please get in touch with our Customer Services team via our website. \n\nThank you again for your comments.
10/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for submitting your review. \n\nWe are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us. \n\nWe hope to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant stay, and we are sorry that we did not achieve this on this occasion. \n\nIf you wish to contact us directly to leave more feedback please get in touch with our Customer Services team via our website. \n\nThank you again for your comments.
05/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for submitting your review. \n\nWe are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us. \n\nWe hope to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant stay, and we are sorry that we did not achieve this on this occasion. \n\nIf you wish to contact us directly to leave more feedback please get in touch with our Customer Services team via our website. \n\nThank you again for your comments.
03/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Lots of reviews state the problems with a hotel that needs a refit - my first room had broken furniture and I was not sure the windows closed properly as lots of road noise. All in all a bit of a grimy feel and I get the 'dodgy area feel' as this hotel is on a very narrow road and if you come from London bridge end it seems more like an alley. \n\nI asked to change rooms on the Monday and the team were great about it and the second room looked better amd the windows seemed less ill fitting - this is just a noisy hotel.\n\nI had arrived via 2 other Travelodges nearby - as I got a bit lost and kept hoping each one was mine - and unfortunately started at the one near commercial street that has just been refurbished. So this place looked really sad by the time I arrived. \n\nAnother thing to fix in a refurbishment would be putting a swipe card on lift and stairs door so only guests can access. Staffing is minimal which I get as this is a budget hotel (only saw 2 people on duty max and at night seems to be 1) so anyone could enter and go to other floors.\n\nCome on Travelodge - your team seem really capable and doing thiet best, give them a better hotel to work with.
03/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Central Aldgate East Hotel.\n\nWe are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. \n\nWe strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. \n\nAs your experience was not up to our usual standards, could we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Services Team via our website help form, with a copy of your review, so that we can look into this further for you. \n\nThank you again for your feedback, and we hope to hear from you son.
01/05/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
People have mentioned noise in other reviews. I had a room overlooking the road and slept really well, no loud noise at all and this was on a Saturday night.\n\nThe hotel could do with some investment saying that, but it was clean and the water was hot for the shower. \n\nlovely staff and great location.
27/04/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge with us.\n\nWe are pleased to hear that you liked the hotels location, found your stay to be good value and that Claudio was friendly however we are sorry to hear that your stay was affected by external noise and of the disappointment caused by other aspects of your stay. \n\nWe appreciate all the feedback we receive and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.\n\nThank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
27/04/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your feedback. \n\nWe are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager. \n\nCould we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with a copy of your review to look into this more thoroughly. \n\nThank you again for reviewing our hotel.
25/04/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
good location for the tower of London the rooms were fine breakfast was great bit of train noses but over all enjoyed are stay staff were great and very helpful and were always around the bar services were very good.
24/04/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Location was good for tower bridge but poor as directly behind was Docklands Light Railway line. Don't think price accurately reflected that of location. Some staff were welcoming some not. Staff who asked if our room was ok when we checked out seemed completely disinterested esp as I was trying to complain. I felt too embarrassed by her attitude to take it further with a more senior staff member.
23/04/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
great service, \nfront desk were nice and helpful\nI recommend. Not bad prices. The receptionist helped me with what I needed. The room was clean. The accommodation can be. Walk to the metro about 6 minutes\n\n.
22/04/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for submitting your review. \n\nWe are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us. \n\nWe hope to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant stay, and we are sorry that we did not achieve this on this occasion. \n\nIf you wish to contact us directly to leave more feedback please get in touch with our Customer Services team via our website. \n\nThank you again for your comments.
18/04/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
When we asked on arrival if we could merge our booking for two rooms into one family room, the staff were most helpful and understanding. They offered us a room with a slight plumbing problem, which we accepted gratefully. In no time at all a plumber arrived to deal with it. Despite the fact that the room was at the back of the hotel, above the Docklands Light Railway, we all slept very well, hardly noticing the trains at all. For me, as the oldest and probably lightest sleeper, there seemed to be a Long gap in the middle of the night without any trains. The hotel was well placed for our sightseeing and provided all that we needed, including a good English breakfast. Our special thanks to Lily and Patricia who smiled cheerfully and made us feel so very welcome. Ps - this is instead of using the link from the survey email which wouldn't open on my xp laptop.
15/04/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for submitting your review. \n\nWe are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us. \n\nWe hope to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant stay, and we are sorry that we did not achieve this on this occasion. \n\nIf you wish to contact us directly to leave more feedback please get in touch with our Customer Services team via our website. \n\nThank you again for your comments.
12/04/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. \n\nWe're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. \n\nMay we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. \n\nThank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you son.
03/03/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Excellent stay apart from the breakfast on offer, well short of the standard expected from this lovely, well located hotel. Improving the quality and availability of the breakfast offer would help to reach a full house of excellence.
01/03/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. \n\nWe're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. \n\nMay we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. \n\nThank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you son.
27/02/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel.\n\nWe're very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the hotel and your room during this stay with us as well as the soap dispensers and the issues with the facilities in your room.\n\n We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. \n\nMay we kindly request you contact us with the link or a copy of your TripAdvisor review, via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. \n\nThank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you son.
25/02/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
I stay at many Travelodges, so know what to expect. This hotel is very close to Fenchurch St, I was on the road side and I don't mind the sound of a train. However, if you are the train side I can imagine it is very noisy - trains do not run all night. \nThe bar area is small, but there are many pubs etc nearby should you want that. \nI have always found this chain clean, sometimes a little tired and in need of new decor but usually clean. However, my toilet needed a good clean. It was acceptable but I expect a white toilet to be white all over. Under the water line was not. \nThe decor does need some updating too, the carpet looked worn as did the bathroom vinyl.\nThe service was friendly and the stay was ok, just perhaps not the best I have stayed in (which is a lot of them).
23/02/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
This hotel can be found down a side street in Aldgate. Slightly sad-looking reception. The staff were friendly and efficient. I wondered why they had packs of ear plugs at reception when I checked in. All was revealed when I realised the hotel virtually sits on the train line! For \u00A350 in London on a Friday night you can\u2019t really complain but the room was just so sad! Scruffy, in need of a bit of tender loving care and no socket by the bed. The bathroom was particularly scruffy. The bin had a layer of dust/dirt on it and the shower obviously leaks all over the floor.\nI would stay again if looking for somewhere cheap but next time I\u2019d rather pay a bit more for a bit more luxury!
23/02/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Thank you for taking the time to review our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel.\n\nWe are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. \n\nWe strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. \n\nAs your experience was not up to our usual standards, could we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Services Team via our website help form, with a copy of your review, so that we can look into this further for you. \n\nThank you again for your feedback, and we hope to hear from you son.
22/02/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel.\n\nWe're so sorry to hear your room was not up to the usual high standard of cleanliness we would have wished for you. \n\nWe would like to hear more about your stay with us and would kindly invite you to contact us via our website as we have noticed further to your room experience, the bar cafééé staff did not give you the customer care you deserve. \n\nMany thanks once again and we look forward to hearing from you shortly.
22/02/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
UsualTravelodgefair - standard double room - clean but small. Tea and coffee provided but no hairdryer unless you ask reception - wife brought her own. Breakfast room quite large so plenty of seats available when we were there. Breakfast the usual mix of hot and cold food drinks etc. This hotel has a bar too but didn't use it. We were at the rear of the hotel and found the bed comfortable and room quiet. All in all a good budget hotel booked well in advance, , , free Wi-Fi for 30 minutes every 24hrs.
22/02/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Looks a tad dingy from the outside but is bright and well maintained once inside. Room very clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Good central location for Tower Bridge, Tower of London and south Bank. Plenty of places to eat in the locality. Quite a bit of noise from Docklands Light Railway but that stops overnight. Will stay here again.
22/02/2019
Rated 4 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our London Central Aldgate East Hotel.\n\nWe're very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your rooms during this stay with us. Please be aware we are currently in the process of renovating our hotels so this will be completed in the future.\n\nWe are sorry to learn of your experience and would like to look into this further for you. \n\nTherefore, may we kindly request that you contact our Customer Services Team so that we can investigate this more thoroughly with the Hotel. \n\nThank you again for your comments, and we hope to hear from you son.
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 
Date stayed:
review:
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved