Travelodge Excel
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

Customer Reviews For The Travelodge Excel


Address: 1016 Dockside Road, London, E16 2FQ , England
This hotel has averaged a score of 4 out of 5 by 1262 past guests
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 470 of 1129 for Hotels in London and rated 4 out of 5 from 1267 reviews)

04/09/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Exceptionally friendly, helpful and efficient staff at reception and also at breakfast. The room was simple but clean and had everything I needed. Quite small but perfectly good for the price. View of carpark and road rather than river and a little noisy because the window wouldn't close. I'm sure I could have complained and changed rooms if I wanted but as I was there only one night I didn't bother to tell reception. The hotel isvery near the DLR station (Royal Albert) which was handy. The only other problem was the room key/lock which didn't work consistently but the staff helped immediately and tried to solve the problem. I would recommend the hotel and use again.
02/09/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
I was really impressed with this hotel excellent budget price place, clean tidy really excellent customer service yes it's hot but you know about it as they leave a note and supply a fan. It's by the airport but you still manage to sleep the bed was so comfy
01/09/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Excel Hotel.\n\nWe're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. \n\nMay we kindly request you contact us with the link or a copy of your TripAdvisor review, via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. \n\nThank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.
29/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our London Excel Travelodge.\n\nIt is most unfortunate that the summer months can have an impact on the temperature of the rooms within our hotels, and we apologise for any discomfort caused. We have taken measures such as providing fans to help keep our rooms as cool as possible during this time, however we are sorry that this did not suffice in ensuring you a good nights stay.\n\nFeedback is invaluable and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.\n\nThank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
28/08/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our London Excel Travelodge. \n\nWe're really pleased to hear you liked the location of the hotel ad sorry to learn you thought the room was basic. \n\nFeedback is invaluable and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.\n\nThank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
26/08/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Stayed there on Saturday night (26th Aug). The manager there was absolutely fantastic and really looked after us. He really went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Top class service!\n\nThe hotel is also in a great location near Docklands Light Railway and London City Airport.
25/08/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
I booked way in advance so paid a good price. The room was standard Travelodge but it was extremely hot. While there was a fan in the room it didn\u2019t work very well.\n\nThe lady who checked me in was really lovely. But when it came to checking out it took quite a while to find a staff member. In fact I had to let in a staff member who was beginning her shift because there was nobody else to do so.
20/08/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
I booked into the Travlelodge at the last minute after problems with my original booking in another hotel. The reception staff were very kind, helpful, generous and communicated very nicely with my children too. I will definitely use Travelodge next time I travel.
18/08/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. \n\nWe are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and we will notify the hotel of your comments.\n\nThank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us again son.
17/08/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
I was taken unwell during my stay and the team were lovely and helpful. Returned to check I was ok later and genuinely cared, which is rare these days! Check in was very easy and welcoming, rooms exactly what you would expect. Thanks team!
15/08/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Price corresponds the service - it was everything in good order. Everything was reasonable for that price. \nIf I looking for next time - I think be back again. so I think see You again next time.......
15/08/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Excel Hotel.\n\nWe're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. \n\nMay we kindly request you contact us with the link or a copy of your TripAdvisor review, via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. \n\nThank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you son.
13/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Stayed here for the weekend with my wife, daughter and daughters friend as they were seeing something at the excel. Clean comfortable rooms and helpful staff. Within 5 minutes of the excel centre by foot and about the same to access the docklands light railway (Docklands Light Railway). They have a room where you can leave your luggage if you arrive before check-in time and also after you check our for a voluntary donation to Great ormand Street hospital.
13/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Clean, comfortable and friendly staff. Perfect location for Excel centre. Allowed my bicycle in the room which made me feel better. Restaurant was nice and airy. Shower clean and worked well. WiFi and television were excellent as well.
13/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
We stayed here while visiting the Excel for summer in the city. \nIt\u2019s in walking distance of the Excel although the Docklands Light Railway is very close by for those who don\u2019t want a 15 minute walk. \nThe staff were very polite & helpful & the room was clean & comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for its excellent value for money. \n.
10/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
I've been staying here on business for a month now. All the staff are always courteous even when very busy, The food and drink on offer is pretty good and is very good value for money, and the portions are excellent.
10/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Welcomed by email, Assistant manager who from the moment we arrived went above and beyond. Courteous, happy, energetic and very welcoming. We sat and had lunch and he came over for a chat and to help us decide on our weekend plans with advice and general chit chat. The 2 rooms we booked are lovely spacious and clean and easily the best two room in the hotel with amazing views and right opposite London city airport which means we have the pleasure of watching the planes take off and being able to wave to the captain they are that close to the building.. would highly recommend this lodge and if you do call in make sure to spend 2 minutes with email.
07/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Small rooms with no air-conditioning meant uncomfortable nights. Fans were supplied but were not too effective.A broken bathroom fitment was reported on discovery but after a 3 day stay had still not been fixed. The staff were friendly and tried very hard but lots of petty details let the side down. I would use it again but lower my expectations in future.
06/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
No air con. Fans left on in room and windows open. Relatively cool, but still stifling. The shower gel was water, it\u2019s like the shower has leaked into it but the room attendants still think it\u2019s full!\nDecent size shower and bathroom, bedroom comfortable for price. No bedside plugs or mirror near dressing table / desk. Value for money. Parking opposite \u00A312! Able to pay online. Nothing flashy, but excellent value for money.
05/08/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Stayed here just one night during Ride London weekend. Hotel ideally situated for Excel,Royal Docks and Docklands Light Railway transport into London.\nPleasant hotel and room clean,though warm. This was helped by portable fan. It was a little noisy with traffic noise, but I am not used to that,so probably not really a problem for most. I didn\u2019t eat here but food appeared good.\nIdeal hotel for short stay Parking good too and \u00A38 for residents for 24hrs.
31/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
We used this hotel as easy access to Docklands Light Railway and Underground. Very nice staff on the whole (few not as good but everywhere has a couple). Good quality clean and tidy room. Good food, catered for our child\u2019s but allergy.
30/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our London Excel Travelodge. \n\nWe are sorry to hear that the room temperature affected your stay with us. We do advise on the booking pages of our website which hotels do and do not have air conditioning so that guests are aware when booking. \n\nWe have also taken measures such as providing fans during the warmer months in attempt to cool the rooms. However, we apologise if these measures were not enough to guarantee a good night's stay for you. \n\nFeedback is invaluable and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.\n\nThank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
29/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
When we arrived the staff made us feel very welcome they was friendly and helpful, good value for money,excellent location to get to o2 arena and other places in London,just a couple of minutes away from tube,would definitely stay here again.
29/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
I stayed at the Excel Travelodge in London from 20th-26th July and the customer service for guests was exceptional. Every effort was made to make guests comfortable despite the weather conditions.\nMy room was very clean and the large light air conditioned café bar serving cold drinks and ice creams during the day was a real bonus.
29/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
We stayed twice over one weekend for the festival in Hyde Park. Staff were so friendly and helpful with our late check ins and the hotel had a nice atmosphere. so handy for the Docklands Light Railway and a car park too. Have stayed before and will definitely be back.
29/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Hotel was good, room was clean and everything worked. Staff on reception were available and helpful. Location was ideal for the Excel\nNegative points - room was hot (it was the hottest day of the year). Room had a slight aroma.
28/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
We thank you for leaving your review of our London Excel hotel. \n\nWe are glad to hear that you were pleased with the overall cleanliness of your room and also the shower in your room. We are also pleased to hear of your pleasure with the location of the hotel, and that it was ideal for the needs of your stay. \n\nWe are sorry to hear that your experience was hindered by the lack of air conditioning leading to the room temperature being high. We have taken measures to limit the nuisance caused by the heat and we do apologise if these were not sufficient to give you a good night\u2019s sleep.\n\nThank you again for your feedback, and we hope we are able to welcome you back to stay with us again son.
27/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
Hotel was fully booked due to events Excel and Central London, staff could not do enough. Big heat wave, extra help keep room comfortable. Brilliant. Central London very good access events. If only train companies would adopt same attitudes to customers in time extrem heat.
27/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
We had a family room on the second floor. This room faced the city airport and the plane noise was not dimmed at all by the windows. On entering the room, it felt like we were stepping into a sauna. the windows barely open due to health and safety and as two of the room walls are literally glass, it had made the room baking. They need to get air conditioning as ihad to sleep on a wet towel to get to sleep. The hotel Is also right on a busy dual carriage way and the windows do nothing to stop this noise either. The staff are very helpful, breakfast good and rooms clean and comfortable. But noise and very uncomfortable room temperate made this a not satisfactory stay. \n\nIt is literally 2 minutes walk from Docklands light railway so is convenient.
22/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
this is a great place to stay if you are needing to be at the Excel or East London - there is easy transport links and the hotel is quiet even though it is opposite the airport - the staff are welcoming and helpful. \nAir-conditioning in the room would have made the review rating excellent. \n.
18/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
For a 1 nights stay it was Great value for money in London. Very near londoncity airport. That was the reason we picked it. The room was v clean. Basic but that was all we required.\n 3 minutes walk from royal Albert Docklands Light Railway \nThe reception area was lovely and staff were friendly. I\u2019d definitely stay here again for 1 night if travelling to London city airport on an early flight home. An ideal hotel if you want to spend more time out and about than in the hotel room \n\n.
14/07/2019
Rated 3 out of 5 :
This was the first time I had stayed at this hotel and found the location fantastic the room was clean and well equipped and the staff were very friendly and attentive it was good that the bar was open until late.
01/06/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
This is a nice hotel in a calm area of London, albeit adjacent to London City AIrport runway. We were not bothered by the aircraft, probably because we were tired out. The hotel was overwhelmingly warm following a little sunshine. Obviously a known issue, as the duvet was bagged up and a fan placed in the room. Room was OK for temperature as window had been opened. \n\nWe were grateful of an earlier question about leaving luggage at the hotel on our last day visiting London. However, we felt the early check-in option was simply a way of cashing in: there was no additional service given in checking in early, because the room was already made up and therefore we wonder why there was a fee of \u00A310 to be given our room cards an hour or two earlier than normal checking times?\nBreakfast was OK - an ENglish Breakfast, but basic. Scrambled eggs only offered. No knives both days. If a hotel is going to ask customers to collect their own cutlery and nit lay tables, then at least, the staff should ensure there is enough available. \n\nI have to say that the bed was very comfortable. The kid's Z-beds were just right for them too.
30/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Stayed here for many weeks on business. Docklands is much better value and cheaper than central London but with good transport links Docklands Light Railway/Underground, you can be in central London in less than 30 minutes. I do not usually review the big chain budget hotels as you generally know what standard to expect. However, I make an exception for this hotel due the extremely welcoming friendly helpful staff at this hotel who make my staff extra comfortable. A special shout out to email on reception on is very helpful and goes out of his way to provide good customer service...it is appreciated by customers.\nThe hotel is a few minutes walk from Royal Albert Docklands Light Railway station connecting to central London. There is not much facility around the hotel but it is only a few minutes on the Docklands Light Railway to Canary Wharf/Westfield Stratford /Greenwich where plenty of shops/bars & restaurants to choose from. A great choice in London for value, comfort and a welcoming arrival.
29/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Check in easy, friendly reception staff. Excellent sized family room - biggest we've stayed in at Travelodge. Room clean, tidy and all you need.\nValue for money breakfast, plenty on offer. All food staff were very attentive, friendly, even talking to the kids to ask if they were good, enjoying food etc.\nBreakfast staff all deserve a mention who were on duty on Sunday 19th May and evening staff of Saturday 18th.\nThanks - will be back \uD83D\uDC4D.
29/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Great location for a weekend visit to ComicCon at the Excel in London. The staff were great, very helpful and got into the spirit of the ComicCon. Food was good as well so we didn't feel the need to go elsewhere. The only downside if the lack of air-conditioning in the rooms so in the warmer months a rest for a room on the ground floor at the back was recommended by the very helpful manager. Overall I was very happy and it made my ComicCon weekend even better.
28/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Stayed for business. Room was clean and well-kept. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Price was very reasonable considering the location. I stayed here so I could walk to the Excel, which took about ten minutes.
28/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Thank you to all of the staff working throughout the May Bank Holiday weekend for making our trip great. Check in was quick and easy and we were welcomed by the assistant manager I believe was called Lisa (sorry if I am wrong. We had a Long journey so I forgot to take down her name. She was working the evening of Thursday 23rd May). We had two rooms between four of us and they were both set up correctly and we're clean. A downstairs room with the windows open, curtains closed and fan on upon arrive meant it was very cool which was needed as the weekend was very warm. We put our pink sign out once during our stay and the room was throughly cleaned, thank you to the housekeeper who did it for us! Breakfast, lunch and evening meals were lovely and all the while we were offered great service throughout by the various staff members on duty throughout the weekend. Checkout was simple too. We were greeted by the lovely Anna who offered us bottles of water for our journey home. Not only will we continue to use this Travelodge because of its close proximity to the Excel Centre, we will use it for the wonderful staff there! Thank you team! :)
26/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
The hotel is well located near the Excel centre and London City Airport. The hotel is basic but comfortable. The staff are helpful. There is a good buffet style hotel breakfast for an extra charge. Good for a stop over.
23/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
hotel can be cheap if booked in advance. close to Docklands Light Railway and easy to park. Food is good and drinks not London price. room was clean and very quiet. easy to get into central London and back take Docklands Light Railway to Camden and jubilee line into central London.
17/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Very close to the airport, the Docklands Light Railway and the ExCeL, all within walking distance, yet very quiet. Also the staff is very friendly and helpful. Thanks Nici for good advice. We got (for London) nice and big rooms, so there was a good price-performance ratio. What was also very good was the bed.
14/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Good hotel near to Excel exhibition centre, where we went to AWS summit, so it was very good to be 5 minutes by foot. At reception were very nice and helpful ladies. Room was clean and was there everything what to need.
13/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us. \n\nWe are sorry to learn of your experience and would like to look into this further for you. \n\nTherefore, may we kindly request that you contact our Customer Services Team so that we can investigate this more thoroughly with the Hotel. \n\nThank you again for your comments, and we hope to hear from you son.
12/05/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Lovely hotel, clean and quiet. Room was equipped with a fan, kettle and I was offered a hairdryer when checking in. \n\nRoom was lovely, bed was comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was amazing.\n\nThe only thing stopping giving 5 stars was the breakfast on offer. My other half paid \u00A39.25 for all you can eat, food was ok just overpriced for the amount on offer. The receptionist did kindly allow me to just have some toast rather than pay for a full breakfast.\n\nWould stay here again.
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 
Date stayed:
review:
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved