Travelodge Central Moorgate
Home Contact Us
SEARCH LONDON BY:
London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
TYPE
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
AIRPORTS
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
TOP RATED
Tripadvisor Top 30 Award Winners
ALSO..
Hotel History London Guide/ Pictures

Customer Reviews For The Travelodge City Road


Address: 1-23 City Road, London, EC1Y 1AE, England, UK
This hotel has averaged a score of 4 out of 5 by 1148 past guests
>>>Tripadvisor (ranked 511 of 1117 for Hotels in London and rated 4 out of 5 from 1281 reviews)
09/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Unfortunately my stay was spoilt by some staff's negative attitude. The barman was sarcastic and unfriendly and the man who was in charge of organising breakfast was just damn right Rude! \nOn a more positive note the rooms were clean and the location was ideal for our visit.
08/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Me and the husband stayed at this lovely clean hotel for 3 days the staff were great rooms very clean and a modern place also beds very comfortable shall return one day we had a wonderful time London is our favourite place.
06/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Top to bottom quality service we really enjoyed our 4 night stay and every aspect of our stay was 10 out of 10 I would highly recommend this Travelodge. Spotless room and bathroom. Clean and comfortable bed. Lovely cooked breakfast and cold breakfast. Good WiFi. Friendly helpful staff, again Highly recommended. Of interest it will take 50mins to walk to the Thames from this hotel if you want closer then you will pay more. There are bus stops very close by to save your feet!
06/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
A very conveniently situated hotel for my purposes, clean, tidy, well-equipped room and so easy to book, check-in and check-out. All of the staff whom I interacted with were very polite, friendly and helpful. They are a real asset for the hotel.
05/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Staying at this hotel was effortless, efficient, comfortable and relaxing. The check-in and out was extremely efficient, breakfast was flawless. Location is perfect for Liverpool street station also. Would highly recommend to anyone.
05/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Stayed here for one night on a business trip, got a room on the first floor adjacent to a very busy and noisy road, a bus stop outside the window and surprised to say I was woken at 04.20 by a bunch of noisy shouting layabouts which obviously the hotel cannot control putting the world to rights in a drunken stuper. (I digress)\nThe hotel was clean bed was comfortable and breakfast was perfectly good the bathroom shower was very powerful but a bit more attention to detail for the staff who make up the rooms as the shower tray had quite a few unmentionable hair strands on it.
05/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for submitting your review. \n\nWe are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us. \n\nWe hope to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable stay, and we are sorry that we did not achieve this on this occasion. \n\nIf you wish to contact us directly so that we can discuss your experience further, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team via our website. \n\nAll customer feedback is valuable to us, so thank you again for your comments.
04/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
The hotel is located between underground (The Tube) stops, and very near a bus stop, so, easy to get around. The informative staff suggested efficient ways to get around, and the amenities were all appreciated.
04/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
This Travelodge was perfect for our weekend in London. If you want a budget stay with no frills but great service- then this is for you. The location is great, walking distance to a tube station and a great distance to loads of brunch spots/bars. We were going to stay in a hostel, but the hotel rates were often better value. It\u2019s not a luxurious hotel; but if you\u2019re in London to see the sights and get a good night\u2019s rest, then this is the spot. The assistant manager was lovely in particular- thanks so much!
03/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Good quiet location but close enough to restaurants pubs bus routes and tube. Clean tidy basic hotel Ideal if you\u2019re planning to be out and about and just need a good clean base to stay. \nHave had breakfast here before and prefer to use local caféé on Whitecross Street.
03/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Central City Road Hotel.\n\nWe're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. \n\nMay we kindly request you contact us with the link or a copy of your TripAdvisor review, via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. \n\nThank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you son.
03/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Great stay here, always use this hotel when visiting London as its central and a good location.\nI stayed with my friends whilst visiting although I am not sure if I would use it with my family as there was a lot of noise on the street outside at night. \nThe staff were friendly and very professional.
02/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Great place, very clean with good connections to the city by public transport, people at reception are very hospitable and kind. Room are very clean and well maintained, with good showers. Breakfast was well taken care off and great value for money.
02/06/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Nice clean hotel. Room spotless. Staff seemed friendly apart from trying to speak to room maid didn't speak English so was difficult asking for supplies. Location ok. Was put on 6th floor but could still hear the street noise at night.
29/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We had a SupeRroom for 3 nights. The size of the room was ok, equipment ok, room temperature ok, mattress and pillows and duvet ok. It was quiet room. View on the construction site. In the bathroom, there was soap and shower gel with shampoo in the tray on the wall. There was only one set of towels for 2 people. No toilet brush. You better take your own slippers. There were enough television programs on television, weak Wi-Fi (you need to pay it separately, otherwise it is free only for 30 minutes a day). I did not like - the stale air in the bathroom, probably from the wet hinge in the shower. Breakfast was the same every day, but tasty. Staff helpful and kind. Good location, close to the underground and bus station, but way from Liverpool Street Station was a little bit complicated. I appreciate the Tesco store right next to the hotel. Overall, I rate the stay well.
29/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
The Hotel is in a really good location, close to a tube station and central for getting around London. The hotel was clean, and the room was comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
28/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Second stay at this hotel. It's an easy location to get to from the underground and hassle free.\nThe staff are friendly and ready to help with any queries. Restaurant is open all night which is ideal after a busy day sightseeing.
28/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
It is worth knowing that this hotel is in a business district and that surrounding bars/restaurants don't open at weekends! It seemed incredible that nothing was open on a Bank Holiday weekend, or that pubs were shutting as we walked in at 18:30! \nIf I had known, I may not have booked this location for a weekend stay!
27/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
the hotel is in perfect location right in between two underground stations, my room was very comfortable and was very clean, possibly one of the best Travelodges I've stayed recently, the staff were all very lovely and I felt very safe as a solo traveller. Only down side was the noise from a room down the corridor as they were up quite late and you could hear everything they were doing. As you can imagine. It was a little awkward. Overall a brilliant stay and a wonderful price compared to most hotels in London, will definitely stay again.
27/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Ticked all the boxes for a weekend stay, clean & friendly staff especially Buba at breakfast. Bar open until 02:30 in the morning! Only problem was shower head leaked and ran down wall which could because damage eventually. (Room 346)
25/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
This Travelodge being central to all the London Sights is permanently busy however the staff have proved efficient / calm / and attentive. The hotel is well maintained rooms are comfortable and kept in good order. The breakfast is excellent.
25/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Given lack of moderately priced options for families in London, this was a good hotel.\nlocation is convenient for ease of entry/exit from the city as well as for exploring London. Plenty of lively areas with pubs and restaurants nearby. \nThe hotel offers basic lodging which can be a bit cramped for a family of 4 but quite acceptable for a short stay. Our room had a double and two single folding beds. Most essential amenities were present - tea/coffee, television, open closet and a bathroom with a tub and soap dispenser.\nWe had paid for breakfast and Wi-Fi, breakfast was ample and the staff helpful but the rule of only two devices on paid Wi-Fi is quite antiquated in this day and age. TheTravelodgewe stayed in Dublin did not have any such conditions, so maybe they should relook such a policy. The facility to leave our luggage after check-out for an evening flight was helpful.\nOverall a good option, don't expect luxury.
25/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I stayed here for 3 nights while running a training course. Good sleep was essential - and I got it! Food in the caféé\u00E9 had lots of choice at a reasonable prices. Breakfast was particularly good. The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times and when I asked for direction to where I wanted to go a young lady on the front desk even printed off a map for me. One thing that caught me is that when I checked in I did not listen to the instruction to hang a notice on the door to get the room tidied and tea/coffee restocked when required or desired. This practice is becoming common so beware!
24/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
The hotel staff was really friendly and offering help getting around the city if needed. The room was tidy and we had a great bathroom. Our room was situated on the first floor on the road side. We had no nuisance of any outside noises. The hotel is close to an underground, so it's a perfect base to visit London.
24/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Perfect location for my business trip which was just around the corner at Finsbury Square.\nOn check in the staff member told me its a little noisy at the front and the back is quieter but they are currently doing construction work around the back. I said I would go at in a room at the front, noise surely it cant be that bad ?\nRoom was a Super Room on the 6th floor, to be honest I probably wouldn't bother with a Super Room and just stick to the standard in future unless the price was not much different to stop in a Super Room. couldn't fault the room apart from no air con in it so I opened the window to let some air in. Its warm here at the moment but dread to think how warm the rooms do get in the height of Summer.\nGreat location for somewhere to eat, loads of choice as you step out the doors, Tesco express just below the hotel.\nThe big but is hardly slept all night due to the noise from the revellers, shouting at the tops of their voices which echoed around the buildings this went on until about 4 this morning, had to shut my window by about 11.00 and could still hear it all with the window closed. \nIf your a light sleeper or planning a pleasure trip of more than a night I would maybe look elsewhere. I cant say for the rear rooms but my son has stopped in one of them before and he said due to the proximity of the pubs you could still hear some noise.\n\nWont stop me from using a Travelodge as I think they are spot on, just not this one I am afraid.
23/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I had a city break in London, staying at the above hotel, my stay was very pleasant, the hotel room was clean and airy, staff were pleasant and helpful, the hotel was well located, with I short walk to the tube station, I would definitely stay here again thank you.
22/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our London Central City Road hotel. \n\nWe are pleased to hear that the hotels location suited your needs and you were happy with the price however we are sorry to learn that you found the single pull out beds to be uncomfortable. \n\nWe are currently in the process of replacing all the pull out beds in our hotels however we are sorry this affected your stay with us.\n\nWe appreciate all the feedback we receive and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.\n\nThank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
21/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Excellent location in the City and within easy reach of tube station, restaurants, amenities. Best part of my stay was that the rooms on the 7th floor are dedicated quiet rooms and so I was able to enjoy a peaceful, undisturbed night. Room immaculately clean, comfortable bed and all facilities working. What's not to like?
21/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Central City Road.\n\nWe are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. \n\nWe strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. \n\nAs your experience was not up to our usual standards, could we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Services Team via our website help form, with a copy of your review, so that we can look into this further for you. \n\nThank you again for your feedback, and we hope to hear from you son.
20/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Wonderful welcome from Michael.\nWe had a great visit at the Travelodge.\nEnjoyed the bar before going up to a clean bright room.\nComfy bed. Travel iron. Kettle. Fan. Hair dryer.\nAll the comforts needed. Friendly staff\nGreat breakfast.\nWill definitely be returning.\nThank you xx.
20/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
We are very regular visitors to London for business and leisure and started staying in this Travelodge last Autumn as it was most importantly a good rate and in good location.\n\nThe hotel staff are very welcoming and helpful - morning, noon & night and always look after us so well. It really makes a difference and always makes our stay enjoyable.\n\nThank you to all the team in City Road !
19/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
As I have come to expect from Travelodge, this hotel is clean, comfortable, good value and has helpful, friendly staff. I walked from Bank station but Moorgate and Old Street are closer. I didn't eat at the hotel as there are plenty of other places to eat in the area.
18/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Great welcome from reception. Glazing very effective as didn\u2019t hear a thing all night! Quiet corridor. Clean, spacious, well equipped room. Dinner deal good but fries/onion rings disappointing. Excellent service from bar/waiting staff. Usual breakfast choices.
18/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Nice clean room with king size bed ! En suite a bit tiny ! Shower excellent! Breakfast all you can eat buffet including full English, for less than \u00A310 paid \u00A369 for the room a bargain ! \nGood tea making facilities, usb charging points \nGreat location easy access to tube and bus stop right outside the hotel with buses to central London Covent Garden, Oxford street etc \n.
18/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Central City Road Hotel.\n\nWe're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. \n\nMay we kindly request you contact us with the link or a copy of your TripAdvisor review, via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. \n\nThank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you son.
17/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Have to say that as far Travelodge goes this particular hotel was very good indeed. Would highly recommend the Super Rooms which are modern and larger than other rooms. Good level of appliances, good sized flat screen television, coffee and tea making facilities. Decent sized bathroom. All round the hotel was well sound insulated and a good sleep was had. \n\nParking close by but remember if you drive a Diesel prior to 2016 you will be hit by the new Ulez charge, \u00A312.50 per day, as this hotel is literally just inside the new Ulez boundary. \n\nGood public transport routes close by and plenty of eateries. Service was good and the hotel very clean.
17/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I stay at this hotel regularly. The staff are always friendly and the rooms are clean. I usually book a super room on the quieter business floor.\n\nOn this visit I noticed a horrid smell coming from the shower curtain and the towels still smell of curry! They need to sort this out. \n\nThis visit was made a little worse by the midnight call of the fire alarm set off by the nightclub next door. My advice if booking here is bring decent pyjamas as this happens far too often at least its was not 4am this time!
17/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at our London Central City Road Travelodge with us.\n\nWe are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the cleaning standards in the room and the parking options at the hotel.\n\nWe provide details of the parking options for all our hotels on our website in order for guests to make an informed decision before making a booking with us. \n\nWe appreciate all the feedback we receive and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.\n\nThank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
16/05/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Central City Road Hotel.\n\nWe are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. \n\nWe strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. \n\nAs your experience was not up to our usual standards, could we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Services Team via our website help form, with a copy of your review, so that we can look into this further for you. \n\nThank you again for your feedback, and we hope to hear from you son.
12/03/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Firstly I am not criticising staff. Hotel service industry is underpaid for what is expected of staff. Issues are purely reflection on management & company policy. I paid \u00A389 for a room on Saturday. If I had stayed Sunday the room would cost \u00A330. I would not complain at \u00A330. I also pre-paid breakfast at \u00A38.95 per person. Hotel positioned between Moorgate and Old Street stations. Check-in was fast, efficient with a smile. Room we as on the 1st floor at the side. Small and basic looking on to a brick wall & windows of adjacent building. It is London. Kept curtains closed for privacy. I initially noticed carpet was full of bits. Called for it to be hoovered. The bathroom cleaned well apart from a big clump of dust in the corner. With both carpet needing vacuuming and the dust in bathroom it made me wonder how well rooms are actually cleaned, & what time constraints are made on the room on housekeeping staff & are there enough staff to effectively clean all rooms.\nThe room had no sound proofing from the corridor. So heard all doors opening, banging shut and conversations in the corridor.\nBreakfast. Went down at 9am. Chaos. No tables to sit. Went for a walk. 15 minutes later had calmed down Chaos may have been down to a group booking. Yoghurt, fruit, muslei, pastries and cooked breakfast served.\nThey had Yeo Yoghurt and fresh fruit which was good. Juice from a machine which said 100% Fruit Juice on the front. Acidic and horrible. Have no idea what it was.cooked breakfast time. Are the eggs powdered? If not they tasted grainy and powdery? Bacon was hard, salty & chewy, rubber mushrooms, cold, soft hash browns. Coffee from machine was milky & tasteless. My wife and I did not eat it. Left the hotel and went down the road for decent breakfast then cafééé Nero for coffee. Money wasted on breakfast at the hotel. Some views rate the breakfast highly. It is ''eat as much as you like' but I would prefer quality not to be sacrificed over quantity. My advice. Don't pre-pay but pay on the day you want breakfast after you have looked at it and the seating area. I normally pay \u00A312-14 for breakfast in a good hotel. For a few pounds more the there is a massive difference.\nAll staff in the restaurant were working hard and doing a good job keeping tables cleared at a busy time. \nFinally. Checkout is 12 mid-day. Why are housekeeping knocking and entering my room at 10.45am? Fed back to reception. \nWould I stay again? Yes. At room rate \u00A330 and not \u00A389.
11/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Stayed here for two nights with my wife while I was running in the Vitality Big London Half Marathon.\nChecking in was quick and so easy, with the reception staff being so helpful. Room was clean with the bed being very comfortable. Eat in the hotel restaurant which we found to be great with a good selection and quality of food. \n\nVery good location with good travel links, with Moorgate and Old street tube stations within a five minute walk from the Hotel.\nlots of bars and restaurants near. \n\nWould highly recommend this hotel for a short break in London. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.
10/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Staff were very friendly, welcoming and professional. Bed was extremely comfortable, shower was hot and powerful, room was clean and tidy. Would definitely stay again if I am in this area. I didn't use the bar/restaurant.
09/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
A typical Travel Lodge Hotel but amazing value considering its great location. Bus stop outside hotel door and Moorgate or Old St stations within 5 minutes walk to get you anywhere to city or West End.\nA very comfortable bed and bar food beverages very reasonably priced. Breakfast included in price so excellent value.
07/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Well situated for the City very close to the tube station. Great breakfast and also late bar. Room very clean and comfortable. Easy check in with the facility to leave your luggage on check out so as to make the most of the day.
07/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
I chose the City Road location to have an easy walk to Blackfriars early the next morning, and after dancing away most of the Sunday it was an easy ride back from the Dome in Tufnell Park. The staff were excellent and printed me off the directions for my early departure and even gave me a bigger map with it marked on. The beds are always comfortable and the rooms very quiet, but some locations can still be noisy, this one, however was incredibly quiet considering it is on the City Road.
07/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
hut the windows and keep the curtains, you will sleep Longer. Enjoy a good selection of food in the restaurant on ground floor. All attractions at walking distance. From beautiful old buildings to shopping centres.
07/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Fair price, good area, near the subway station. When you pay so little you can't have high expectations, but once you spend a night there, it's worth what you paid and even a bit more. Everything was neat & tidy, good attention in the front desk.\n\nPerfect for 1-2-3 nights in which you idea is to visit or work in London and not spend much time in your room.
06/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Clean comfortable stay. Good location, easy to get to from Waterloo.\nlovely rooms with coffee pod machine. Easy to use shower. Usb charging points were great. \nReception staff friendly. Didn't use restaurant or bar but looked clean and modern.\n.
06/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
it's clean, great breakfast, available for small changes and exceptional location. The last day we star at 05 a. M. But they gave us a little breakfast to take with us. Very good hotel ! the Wi-Fi is the only things that is not very easy to use but in total the hotel is ok!
06/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Good sized rooms, clean, reception stuff really polite and helpful. Check in was easy and fast. Breakfast was okay. Only downside was WiFi who did keep log out and early wake up which was not\u2019t intentional by me.
05/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
The hotel is clean, simple, really close to Old Street station, 15 minutes from Liverpool Street station and basically located in Shoreditch. There is a bus station just in front and a Tesco just outside. Breakfast is big.
05/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Friendly staff, excellent and clean super-rooms. Good location near public transport. No complaints other than rooms quite hot. I have Found this is a problem throughout many Travelodges not just this one.
05/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Great room, very comfortable and I would definitely come again. The view was great and the room was tidy. The only problem was that the window had a draft so you had to keep the curtains shut. Other than that I had a great experience.
05/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
I stay here quite often on business. Standard Travelodge rooms - can get very hot in summer, but in winter/spring is fine. Superooms have been a good addition to the hotel, there are 3 lifts that are fine but can take a while to get one if a list goes out of service. No messing about with keycard access for lifts, which is a bonus for me as I find these types of lifts very annoying- I can never find my card in time! \nlots of cafes nearby for breakfast, so never bother with the hotel breakfast. Lots of food and pub options up and around old street.
04/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
The hotel was a convenient distance from the underground, and very central. There was a little noise from the huddle and bustle of the city but not as bad as I had expected. Situated in a beautiful old building. Clean and tidy inside. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I would stay here again.
03/03/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Great location, central for train, supermarket, bars & cash machine. Room had all you needed plus kit kats and hot chocolate in! Staff very friendly. One of the best Travelodges we\u2019ve stayed in. Would go again.
27/02/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
I stayed at the hotel due to a 2 day conference for work. No problems, great stay and lovely staff. Due to locate and easy access this proved the best hotel for me given that my colleagues had to travel quite extensively to other hotels.
26/02/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
I booked a 3 night stay at (Friday to a Monday) City Road hospital after arranging to have surgery at Moorfields Eye Hospital, a short walk away from the hotel. \n\nIn the early hours of Saturday morning we were woken at approximately 3am by another guest pacing the corridor on the phone. After approximately 20 minutes the guest was told by another guest to \u2018shut the f**k up and go into their room\u2019, much to my relief after as I\u2019d been searching the room for a phone to contact reception (but there was no way of contacting them from the room). \n\nBefore leaving the hotel on Saturday morning I attempted to inform reception of what happened in the early hours, it took me 4 attempts before my husband intervened to explain; and had to request that we move rooms in the hope that I\u2019d get a peaceful night sleep after surgery. \n\nWhen we returned to the hotel from the hospital we explained to a male at reception, who I believe was a member of management, what had happened to which he responded that he\u2019d overheard us telling a colleague earlier that morning and asked that we wait until after 3pm to see what rooms were left. \n\nEventually we were given another room but when we took our belongings to the new room it had not been cleaned from the guest/s who had left earlier that day. \nAfter going back and forth to the new room several times my husband notified reception that we\u2019d not been able to move rooms because the new room had not been made up. The lady at reception seemed surprised but was very helpful and assigned us a new room. \n\nUnfortunately the new room was extremely noisy and felt as through the window was open owing to the level of noise. \nOn checkout, the lady at reception asked if everything had been ok during our stay to which I reported the noise level in the room; the response from reception was that I should have asked for a room at the back of the hotel because rooms in the front can be noisy. \n\nI am extremely disappointed with the service we received at City Road and would definitely not recommend anyone stay there, especially not to rest and recuperate after having surgery.
26/02/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
Absolutely amazing stay, went for a double birthday treat everyone was lovely and room was good too! Cant complain about anything. Will definitely come again. Good check out time! Staff were good. Lovely pizza and chips too!
25/02/2019
Rated 2 out of 5 :
We booked this on one their deals for \u00A328.00 for the room only. The room was clean as was the bathroom. There was a hairdryer in our room as well as an iron. The Chinese opposite was very nice, we ate dinner there and the Flight Club pub was very nice and very reasonably priced. The Aviary Bar is also worth a visit. There is a Tesco Express a few doors down that has a cash point. We wandered down to St Paul\u2019s. The location is close enough to a few key things to do, if not Taxi\u2019s come passed all the time. We would stay again and will keep our eyes peeled for another of their deals. Breakfast was good. It\u2019s buffet style, I would imagine it can be quite busy!
12/02/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Great hotel for friends birthday weekend in London. The hotel was in easy reach of the West End and central London for all main sites- Tower of London, Westminster etc \nTube line very near by. Breakfast at hotel good value and excellent range.
12/02/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Great location, amazing value when we went. Great shower. Staff could be a little bit less robotic. GreatTravelodgeas you would expect from them. Awesome stay for one night would recommend and stay again.
11/02/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
My recent stay in Travel Lodge was the worst hotel experience ever. The free alarm went off twice in the middle of the night and required a full evacuation. The reason was a disgruntled guest set off the fire alarm. Measures should be in place to prevent that. However this was not the worst part, my part of the building coined to have a buzzing noise after the alarm reset and I did not sleep until 3am when the buzzing was stopped. I had an important meeting the next day and I was exhausted.
11/02/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Good value, comfortable bed, nice breakfast. Perfect location for our visit. Everything we needed was in the room, tea and coffee etc, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, shampoo and shower gel. The shower was great, instant hot water and powerful.
07/02/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Thank you for reviewing our London Central City Road Travelodge. \n\nWe're pleased to hear the cleanliness was up to standards, bed was comfortable and breakfast was good. \n\nWe do apologise the shower gel was not to your liking and sorry to learn the internal noise affected your stay with us on this occasion. \n\nFeedback is invaluable and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.\n\nThank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
06/02/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I start by admitting I\u2019m not a fan ofTravelodgeas a chain but needs must and I needed to be at an interview early on Tuesday so I wanted to stay somewhere affordable and local. \n\nI stayed in a so - called super room \n\nOn the plus side \n\n- it\u2019s easy to find\n- very centrally located\n- reasonably priced \n- friendly staff \n- very comfortable bed \n- more usb ports than you could possibly use (super room) \n- coffee maker in room (super room) \n-hot breakfast \n\nOn the negative \n\n- the offering is very basic\n- the coffee machine is a cheap imitation of a Nespresso which in turn is not the best coffee machine out there \n- the super room was my idea of a basic room except for the dozens of usb ports \n-breakfast was in a room which felt like it had been dragged from the 1970s workplace cafeteria catalogue \n\nAll that said - I am recommending to friends heading in to the city for early meetings. Don\u2019t set your expectations higher than you pay and you shouldn\u2019t be disappointed.
06/02/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
Great location for food and drinks, the box park was 15 minutes walk away with all kinds of food, lots of choices for vegetarians. Very friendly and helpful staff. The only negative is I don\u2019t think any of the rooms had a good view.
06/02/2019
Rated 5 out of 5 :
I booked a Super room and considering the fact this is a budget hotel they totally exceeded my expectations. Both the room and the bathroom were spotless. Linen and towels were super fresh and spotless as well. Other reviews suggest bad smell from bathroom, but my room was perfectly fresh. The only downside was the noise and the lack of insulation (the room itself was warm but one could feel the breeze coming form the windows) but yet again, this is a budget hotel in the city centre and I would't expect more.
05/02/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
everyone was very pleasant and helpful, l as they are whenever we stay at Travelodge. The receptionist was very pleasant. The room exceptionally clean. The hotel was central for everything we need. I. E. The Russian Embassy.
05/02/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Thank you for your feedback. \n\nWe are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. \n\nCould we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with a copy of your review to look into this more thoroughly. \n\nThank you again for reviewing our hotel.
04/02/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Affordable, clean and convenient short stay. Reasonable price for basic rooms. Would recommend for short stays. Clean bathroom but needs more tissue paper rolls. Comfortable bed. Room had television, iron, hair dryer.
03/02/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. \n\nsome non-United Kingdom account providers will not allow us to take funds for bookings when they are created however they may place these into a holding account temporarily but this will be released back to you.\n\nIf the funds have not yet been released by your bank we would advise speaking to them directly as it will be up to them to release the payment. \n\nIf you wish to contact us directly to give us more feedback, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team via our website.\n\nThank you again for reviewing our hotel.
01/02/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
The room is good, the location is very good (closest to 2 underground's stations and one bus station is in front of the hotel), but. My reserve was written that the room was \
01/02/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
The corner brick building shown on their advert is not Travelodge. It\u2019s not as nice looking as that. Travelodge has a bus stop on their doorstep, where undesirables can linger.\n\nOur room was changed after we complained of strong smelling vomit in the room. We discovered was coming from the carpet. Staff should have reported this. No way should it have been prepared to accommodate guests, with such a pungent smell.
01/02/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
I\u2019ve stayed in this hotel many times and my last review was a bit critical. I\u2019m glad to report that things are almost back to normal. Staff were excellent and food was good. My gripe remains the large sport screens- I really don\u2019t see many people showing interest in them and they are a distraction. However, on balance as can highly recommend this hotel for stays close to the City.
31/01/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
Stayed in a family room (3 adults), and this budget hotel experience completely exceeded all our expectations.\nThe room was enormous, and ready made up for us perfectly on arrival. Check in was a breeze.\nThe Superroom Family room was clean and modern with large windows, spotlessly clean bathroom, and nice touches e. G. Pod coffee machine, biscuits and hot chocolate sachets.\nBoth the main bed and the fold out bed were comfortable and gave a restful night's sleep.\n\nBreakfast was excellent, superb choice of hot and cold items, and the staff very accommodating.\n\nGreat location in between Old Street and Moorgate tube stations. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if visiting the City. Would recommend.
30/01/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
We stayed at Travelodge as we were attending a conference at the Barbican Centre. Perfect location for this as only 10 minutes walk to the venue. The staff were all excellent and very helpful, and our room was clean and functional and quiet. Just one thing that I always get a little frustrated with at many hotels is when you have to pay for WiFi in this day and age. That said - the price of the room was great value so I don't mind so much if they make a bit extra out of you by charging for an add om service. We will definitely be staying there again ;)
30/01/2019
Rated 1 out of 5 :
For something which costs so little on the edge of the City I was expecting a cheap hotel. This did not seem that way. From the room which was a pleasant temperature (with an opening window - always a bonus in my book), the 'capsule' coffee maker, to the buffet breakfast (the sausages deserve a particular mention, in my opinion). Everything exceeded my expectations.
Milesfaster.co.uk customer reviews ↓
Rating out of 10: 5
Date stayed: February 2010
review: We arrived during the night only to find that there were no parking facilities. We were directed to Finsbury NCP by Travelodge staff. I drove to the bottom of the ramp only to discover that the charges were £36 for 24hrs I had difficulty reversing back out as the ramp was steep. We drove around for ages trying to find another place to park. The next day we found another car park they charged us £20 for 24hrs. They said that Travelodge claim that there are parking facilities and usually direct their customers to them. I thought that this was quite deceptive as Travelodge hotels usually have parking facilities with reasonable rates. I won't be staying there again!!!!!!!!!!
Rating out of 10: 8
Date stayed: March 2009
review: The hotel is well located within easy reach of two tube stations Old Street and Moorgate This is one of the better  Travelodge I have stayed in, the room was very clean and well maintained.Its a fairly new hotel located on a busy road as the internet warned us we did experience some slight noise from the club on sat and sun night this was from the back of the hotel and we were located on the seventh floor There is a caféé bar for breakfast and evening meals which we found to be ok and good value. Next door to the hotel is a Tesco Metro/free cash machine and Starbucks. Overall I would recommend this hotel and stay here again,and just incase you didn't know they have some great rates on line if you book a few months in advance.
Rating out of 10: 7
Date stayed: November 2007
review: The hotel provided a very clean, comfortable functional room.  Unfortunately on check in we were given a room that still contained guests, not very good in terms of security. This is quite interesting given it's like Fort Knox getting in and out of the building/room!  This also happened to a couple checking in before us, so it may be a regular issue.

The hotel is easy to find and located a few minutes walk from Old Street tube station.



Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2002 Milesfaster.co.uk All Rights Reserved