image gallery of places and attractions within London.
London Pictures
London Guide
History/Facts/Places London Hotel History City of London Culture London Mayor Parking London Marathon Notting Hill Carnival New Years Day/Eve London Postcodes London Boroughs
London Transport
London Congestion Charge Black Taxis and Cabs Minicabs Pedicabs Cycle Hire Coaches
Fares and Payment Options
Quick Fares Guide Travelcards Oyster Cards Contactless Cards Travelcard v Oyster Card Travel Zones London Underground/ Tube Docklands Light Railway London Buses River Buses National Express Coaches
UK Wide Trains
National Rail Network
London Airport Travel Guides
Heathrow Airport Gatwick Airport Stansted Airport Luton Airport


Counties have been used in the UK for centuries as method of dividing geographical locations. As an area for organizing local government they have been in use since around the 5th century. Over those centuries the defining boundaries, their use for government and the counties themselves have seen many changes. In modern times there are several layers of local government and while many counties still represent an actual geographical boundary for such purpose some counties have no actual purpose other than as a defined geographical location. Where the counties still exist as local government the actual range of powers has also changes over the years. Unitary councils in many cities have taken over some of the local governing that was once the realm of the local County. Some areas now operate under a two-tier of Counties and Districts or Boroughs.

 In 1994 England was divided into 9 regions which sit above counties as a level of local government. However in reality they have very little power apart the smallest, in terms of actual geographical size, which is London. When talking of counties there are different types that may be referred to.
Historical and ancient Counties
being those used in centuries past for local government but also for defining areas for other purposes.
Administrative councils
were purely for administrating local government and were brought in under the Local Government Act 1888.
These were replaced by Metropolitan and non-metropolitan counties in 1974. Ceremonial counties were brought in during the 1990's. These are defined as areas with an appointed Lord Lieutenant ( a person who represents the monarchy).


old uk counties map


Northern Ireland Counties
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2021 All Rights Reserved