London Postcodes List

London Hotels A-Z Postcode Landmark/ Area London Hotels Map Tube/ Train Station Star Rating London Chains Trending
Budget Hotels Central London Hotels Apartments Boutique Hotels Hip Hotels Family Rooms (5+)
Heathrow Hotels Gatwick Hotels Stansted Hotels Luton Hotels London City Airport
London Guide/ Pictures
Contact Us
Postcodes are the UK equivalent of USA zip codes. They are the most important part of any address when sending postal mail. Whereas street names are in no way unique to any one area, full extended postcodes are all unique and together with the house number they will uniquely identify an individual address. For example one of the best known addresses in London is the Prime Ministers residence at 10 Downing Street, London, England SW1 2AA. However that address is totally identified simply by stating "10 SW1 2AA". No two postcode addresses are identical when you include the house number and the full postcode extended postcode. So if you ever need to find an address make sure you have the postcode for it or you could end up totally in the wrong place. In fact postcodes can be different for two sides of the same street (the difference will be in the last 3 digits for the extended postcode). We talk about postcodes and extended postcodes because in general use its normal to simply locate areas by the first 2 to 4 digits. If you look at the list in the table below you will each area requires just 2 to 4 digits, and this is the case for the whole of the UK. Only when it comes to specific address would you need the full extended postcode. Taking the above example Downing Street will be referred to as being in the SW1 area. The SW1 identifies it as being in Victoria/Westminster. The area part of the postcode and the full extended part are easily identified because they are written with a gap. So in our example we write SW1 then 2AA to identify the Street as being SW1 2AA.

Central London areas are divided into what are known as LONDON POSTCODES. Each small section of London is allocated a 1-3 letter prefix that corresponds to its compass location and then a following number and 2 letters to distinguish it from adjoining streets within that area. For instance N3 is Finchley, while the adjacent area is N2 which is East Finchley, and they are both located in North London. The Centre of London is given the letter 'C' for CENTRAL, and is split into WC1 (where WC stands for West Central), WC2, EC1 (East Central), EC2, EC3, EC4. For anyone who doesn't know London that system is a little misleading. The EC1-4 postcodes are actually referred to now as the 'City of London'. The W1 postcode is often thought of as central London because it is the Tourist and clubbing centre, it's also known as the West End, but it is actually slightly West of centre. Officially London centres on Charing Cross Station in WC1.
Each compass point starts with the main district, for example N1 is centred on Islington. From then on all areas sharing that compass point are given a number that corresponds with the alphabetical order, N2 East Finchley N3 Finchley Central N4 Finsbury Park and so on.

Not all compass points are used within London. For example while there is both South East (SE) and South West (SW) within London, NE (North East) is used for Newcastle nearly 300 miles away.

Postcodes cover the whole of the United Kingdom with only the ones in the list below known as London postcodes. While there are many more postcodes that cover what is now considered London, i.e. within the M25 motorway, the ones below are recognised London specific postcodes.

To further confuse matters London is also divided into what are called Boroughs and Constituencies. A London Borough is basically a form of local government, raising local taxes and administering local services. So London postcodes divide London on a geographical basis for postal sorting while London Boroughs divide London by boundaries between local authorities (boroughs). London Boroughs have a larger area than London postcodes. London has 32 Boroughs.
A London Constituency, again different from postcodes and boroughs, is a an area drawn up to elect members to sit on the London Assembly. The purpose of the London Assembly is to oversee the work of the London Mayor. They have specific powers which include being able to amend the Mayors budget plans for London if they have a 2/3rds majority in favour of doing so.

In 1999 E1 was split into two postcodes, E1 plus the new E1W, however generally E1 is still used to cover both districts.
In 2011 E20 was created to cover the area around the Olympic Village.

>>>For a map of  London Boroughs click here.
>>>For a map and explanation of London constituencies click here.
>>>For a map of UK Counties Click Here
>>>Map and table of each postcode and the district it covers

E1 Whitechapel, Stepney, Mile End SE1 Waterloo, Bermondsey, Southwark, Borough
E1W Wapping SE2 Abbey Wood
E2 Bethnal Green, Shoreditch SE3 Blackheath, Westcombe Park
E3 Bow, Bromley-by-Bow SE4 Brockley, Crofton Park, Honor Oak Park
E4 Chingford, Highams Park SE5 Camberwell
E5 Clapton SE6 Catford, Hither Green, Bellingham
E6 East Ham SE7 Charlton
E7 Forest Gate, Upton Park SE8 Deptford
E8 Hackney, Dalston SE9 Eltham, Mottingham
E9 Hackney, Homerton SE10 Greenwich
E10 Leyton SE11 Lambeth
E11 Leytonstone SE12 Lee, Grove Park
E12 Manor Park SE13 Lewisham, Hither Green
E13 Plaistow SE14 New Cross, New Cross Gate
E14 Poplar, Millwall, Isle of Dogs, Docklands SE15 Peckham, Nunhead
E15 Stratford, West Ham SE16 Rotherhithe, South Bermonsey, Surrey Docks
E16 Canning Town, North Woolwich, Docklands SE17 Walworth, Elephant & Castle
E17 Walthamstow SE18 Woolwich, Plumstead
E18 South Woodford SE19 Upper Norwood, Crystal Palace
E20 Olympic Park SE20 Penge, Anerley
  SE21 Dulwich
WC1 Bloomsbury, Grays Inn SE22 East Dulwich
WC2 Covent Garden, Holborn, Strand SE23 Forest Hill
  SE24 Herne Hill
EC1 Clerkenwell, Finsbury, Barbican SE25 South Norwood
EC2 Moorgate, Liverpool Street SE26 Sydenham
EC3 Monument, Tower Hill, Aldgate SE27 West Norwood, Tulse Hill
EC4 Fleet Street, St. Pauls SE28 Thamesmead
N1 Islington, Barnsbury, Canonbury SW1 Westminster, Belgravia, Pimlico
N2 East Finchley SW2 Brixton, Streatham Hill
N3 Finchley Central SW3 Chelsea, Brompton
N4 Finsbury Park, Manor House SW4 Clapham
N5 Highbury SW5 Earls Court
N6 Highgate SW6 Fulham, Parsons Green
N7 Holloway SW7 South Kensington
N8 Hornsey, Crouch End SW8 South Lambeth, Nine Elms
N9 Lower Edmonton SW9 Stockwell, Brixton
N10 Muswell Hill SW10 West Brompton, Worlds End
N11 Friern Barnet, New Southgate SW11 Battersea, Clapham Junction
N12 North Finchley, Woodside Park SW12 Balham
N13 Palmers Green SW13 Barnes, Castelnau
N14 Southgate SW14 Mortlake, East Sheen
N15 Seven Sisters SW15 Putney, Roehampton
N16 Stoke Newington, Stamford Hill SW16 Streatham, Norbury
N17 Tottenham SW17 Tooting
N18 Upper Edmonton SW18 Wandsworth, Earlsfield
N19 Archway, Tufnell Park SW19 Wimbledon, Merton
N20 Whetstone, Totteridge SW20 South Wimbledon, Raynes Park
N21 Winchmore Hill    
N22 Wood Green, Alexandra Palace W1 Mayfair, Marylebone, Soho
  W2 Bayswater, Paddington
NW1 Regents Park, Camden Town W3 Acton
NW2 Cricklewood, Neasden W4 Chiswick
NW3 Hampstead, Swiss Cottage W5 Ealing
NW4 Hendon, Brent Cross W6 Hammersmith
NW5 Kentish Town W7 Hanwell
NW6 West Hampstead, Kilburn, Queens Park W8 Kensington
NW7 Mill Hill W9 Maida Vale, Warwick Avenue
NW8 St Johns Wood W10 Ladbroke Grove, North Kensington
NW9 Kinsbury, Colindale W11 Notting Hill, Holland Park
NW10 Willesden, Harlesden, Kensal Green W12 Shepherds Bush
NW11 Golders Green, Hampstead Gdn Suburb W13 West Ealing
W14 West Kensington
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2021 All Rights Reserved